We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable day!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our cruise aboard the Carnival Legend where we did this excursion. It was really great! The water is gorgeous and the reef is amazing. The group was rather large (we opted to go in the intermediate group - probably would do the advanced next time) but we didn't stay huddle with everyone. It is true that there is a guided snorkel, but as soon as that was finished, we went out on our own again. Beach area was very nice with clean restrooms and a little grill area with burgers etc for sale at a reasonable price. Would have loved to have stayed longer! The guide on the ship was obviously very proud of his country and encouraged us all to come back and stay for longer than just an excursion. Would definitely recommend this excursion to all!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    24
    13
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
HUNTSVILLE
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Adventure”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We did this excursion a year and a half ago and were determined to repeat the fun. We were not disappointed. The water wasn't quite as clear as it was the last time, but it was clear enough. The crew on the catamaran were the same as the last time we were there. They were most helpful in whatever was needed both in and out of the water. Most likely we will do this again! Our jaunt to Bannister Island was another pleasant experience. They brought us right back to the ship!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANETM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“had a wonderful time that ended too soon”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved just about everything about this excursion. The people running it, the island was idyllic and the snorkeling fantastic. It was great taking the boat right from the ship saving time with tendering into Belize City first. On the down side it was too short. We did have a good amount of time in the water. The 4 of us went in the beginner group as it was suggested for anyone that has snorkeled under a dozen times. After a while they asked if anyone wanted to remain out and the rest went back to shore to rest. However there were 2 groups leaving from the ship (I wasn't aware of that until the day of the tour) one at 9am and another at 12noon. So we had to leave to make space I assume for the next group.
We stopped in Belize 2yr ago and took an independent tour in which we went into the Belize City to catch. So travel time was longer but we had longer on the excursion in general so It's a toss up on which I preferred. Have to say my family did really enjoy both.
PS. We forgot our cash and did eat a big breakfast so we shared a burger which was inexpensive and if you've got to have something in your stomach it will suffice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a great experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Overall, we were thrilled with the excursion. The other reviews pretty well set forth the details. We found the little island/caye to be absolutely gorgeous and very charming. The snorkeling and equipment was very good. If you have had any experience snorkeling or swimming with a mask/goggles, I would suggest the "advanced" group when the guides divide everyone up. The main difference is that you then snorkel around the outermost parts of the reef on a 45-minute guided session. The intermediate and beginner groups go for a shorter length of time and in areas that are a little closer-in to the island. My son hadn't snorkeled before, but ended up in the advanced group and was very glad he did! After the guided tour, the guides let us use the equipment and go out for another 40 minutes or so during the "free/beach" time, although they asked that we stay fairly close to the island. Some of the comments about snorkeling with the group are accurate. If you stay too tight with the group, bumping into other folks is going to happen. I found that if I stayed near the edge or back of the group, I completely avoided any of the crowding - and I also got to see more marine life. The guides do require you to wear one of the floatation vests, but they were fine with some of the more advanced snorkelers deflating the vest so that they could dive down below the surface for an extended time and get closer to the coral and other features.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank togoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnabow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guides”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We were picked up directly from the cruise ship and taken to a very small island. The island itself had hardly any amenities, except for changing rooms, small huts to sit under, and some refreshments. When we arrived we were given all of our snorkeling gear and a mat to lay on after we were finished snorkeling. The tour guides were all very friendly and helpful. They helped everyone get all of their gear on and when we started to snorkel, they took their time and kept everyone together. If someone spotted something to see or photograph, they stopped and gave everyone time to take a photo. I personally think the reefs in Honduras are better, but this overall experience was just as good as the one in Roatan, Honduras. I would recommend this snorkeling tour for any snorkeler in Belize.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CP2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snorkeling Wonders of the Barrier Reef by Belize City Excursions- Day Adventures also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Snorkeling Wonders of the Barrier Reef by Belize City Excursions- Day Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing