We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“" Be a Castaway for a Day"”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This little stretch of Paradise sits right on top of a barrier reef. The Rendezvous Caye has beautiful sandy beaches. Throughout the island are lounge chairs and volleyball. The views are stunning. The water is crystal clear. The main attraction is the snorkeling tours conducted from the Caye. People are given the option of choosing which level of snorkeling to swim in. Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced. Advanced just covers more area. I am an average swimmer and had no issue keeping pace. The tour encompasses the Reef for about 2/3rds of the island. There are multitudes of beautiful Coral formations that are developed along the slope into the deeper water. The snorkeling portion of excursion lasts approximately 1 hour. Lots of colorful fish. The prime viewing is right in the 8 to 10 ft water depth. There are some small Jellyfish here and there but they were easy to spot and avoid with the excellent water clarity. Bring some cash for snacks, drinks, or small wooden carved souvenirs. Relax and make some enjoyable memories.

Helpful?
Thank LV-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    13
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Snorkeling Adventure!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This excursion was planned through Carnival. The boat ride was enjoyable and the water beautiful! Upon arriving at this gorgeous island we were divided into groups according to snorkeling ability. The guides were helpful and safety minded! I truely enjoyed my adventure on the world's second largest barrier reef! After snorkeling, we were given the opportunity to rest and enjoy the island! Food and drinks were available for purchase. My only regret was not having more time to enjoy this beautiful location!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not that enjoyable”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ended up on this Carnival excursion because the shark alley one was cancelled the night before and it was the only snorkeling trip open to us so late. A boat ride took us directly from the ship to an isolated, tiny sand island used just for such trips. You could buy food and soda and umbrellas were provided for shade. A reef circles the island. I think the overall issue for us is that we do a lot of snorkeling mostly on our own. In this case, there was a large group being kept together as we made a circular trip go around the caye (island). It meant always having to keep moving quickly, no chance to linger on the sights, always watching out for so you don't get kicked, etc. We were in the advanced group and the guides were shouting to keep people from straying. I'm not sure what they could have done to improve the experience. On the day we went, the visibility was not that good, the coral didn’t seem that healthy or the fish that numerous. But maybe it was the poor visibility. It’s rare that we don’t have a good time snorkeling but this excursion was definitely disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nrretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Carnival Cruise Belize Snorkeling Wonders of the Barrier Reef”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful reef, and relaxing place to be. This is a tender port, so the excursion starts right from the ship where they pick you up. There is a 30 minute ride on the boat to the barrier reef. There is an island that you land on, maybe 100 feet by 100 yardsThe water is pristine, and plenty to see. They break up the groups into beginner, intermediate and advanced. We chose intermediate as we had snorkeled before. This group headed out fairly quickly and we saw lots of reef, fish, and interesting corals. Plenty of different types. We had about 30 in our group, and had 3 guides swimming with us with one as lead. He stopped on numerous occasions and pointed out coral or fish with naming them. It was very easy to hear him, and understand him. Belize's language is English as it was an English territory until the 1980's. After spending about 35 minutes in the water, we had circled back to the island. At this point, you can lie on the sand on a mat they provide, or have a snack you purchase, or play volleyball, or you can swim around in the little bay by the dock. The advanced group was out for about 15 minutes more. The equipment they provide is well kept, and clean. There are two flushing toilets for your use, fairly clean for the environment they are in.

I would do this excursion again. Knowledgeable staff, and nice people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Fantastic Excursion”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our third cruise to Belize and never snorkeled on the reef. Our original excursion booked through Carnival Legend was cancelled and this was the only snorkeling adventure available. WOW!! We really lucked out getting on this excursion. We are sisters, age 63 and 69. We loved it. The boat picked us up right at the ship and we were on our way to a beautiful white sand island right on the barrier reef. Our group of about 60 were the only ones on the island after the prior group departed. We snorkeled with a guide right off the shore and the water was crystal clear and filled with various fish and coral. Just beautiful. Even if you didn't snorkel, you can sit in the shade of one of the huts, swim on the sandy beach or sunbathe. They sold hamburgers, hot dogs, soda, Belizean beer and snacks on the island for reasonable prices. The people on the boat and the island were very professional, helpful and friendly. They offered water and juice on the way back to the ship and sold beer for $3.00 a bottle.
I'm definitely going on this excursion again. It was a priceless experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PLan977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snorkeling Wonders of the Barrier Reef by Belize City Excursions- Day Adventures also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Snorkeling Wonders of the Barrier Reef by Belize City Excursions- Day Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing