We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King David is an AWESOME tour guide, and now a friend :)”

Altournative Belize Service
Ranked #2 of 78 Tours in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private / Fun / Educational / Adrenaline Belize Tours with King David Castillo and EnTourage. We offers Our Valued Customer a wide Range of local tours in Belize. AlTourNative (or All-Tour-Native') is a variation of the word "alternative", and that is what we are ~ a wonderful alternative to the overcrowded, impersonal tours you may find with others. As an Alternative Tour Company in Belize With over 11 years guiding experience, King David and EnTourage at AlTourNative Belize Services offers You alternative tours with your OWN private Guide(s) in Belize. From Mayan Sites, To Cave tubing, to Zip lining, to Belize Zoo or combination tours, AlTourNative Belize Services highlights and supports everything that is Belizean own. Open to Day tours for Cruise ship Passengers and Overnight Passengers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“King David is an AWESOME tour guide, and now a friend :)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our cruise was in July 2013 on Carnival. You always feel a little sketchy going with tour guides in a foreign country and just pray that you are safe. King David was a true gem. We went on a cave tubing and zip lining excursion. He was so knowlegable about everything in the area and everything we saw. He was also helpful, courteous, and really made us feel comfortable in everything we were doing. We would recommend him to anyone and everyone going to Belize!!! We still stay in contact with him via facebook. I'm certain we will see him again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guide and Cave Tour!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

King David was an extremely friendly guy, and entertained us while driving by telling us about the history of Belize and pointing out interesting sites along the way. As we hiked to our put in point he directed our attention to local wildlife and plants. He did everything he could to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. The cave itself was very relaxing and quite beautiful. I highly recommend seeing it, and would only recommend you see it with King David!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect private tour with a wealth of knowledge!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a week on Caye Caulker. We each had our own wish list, she wanted to go on a snorkel tour and I wanted to check out a few Mayan Ruins. When we arrived at our place on Caye Caulker, our neighbor was leaving to head back home. We asked him if they recommended activities to do, places to see. They highly recommended King David at Altournative Belize Services. With a few taps on the iPad, we sent King David a request and check his availability and pricing. Within a day, he responded and we booked our tour. The thing I liked the most about King David was that he tailored a tour to what you wanted to do. We had all day and decided to visit two Mayan Ruin sites and head to the Belize Zoo. We took a water taxi from Caye Caulker to Belize City and standing there waiting in a King's hat with our names on a poster was King David. Within seconds, our adventure began. It took a few hours to get to our first destination, Xunantunich. On the way, King David was full of great information on the history of Belize and even shared some of his experiences with us. Once we arrived, the history lessons continued. Our next stop took us to Cahal Pech. This was actually my favorite spot because there were not many people there and the ruins had more rooms, archways and tunnels. After Cahal Pech, we stopped at one of King David's favorite lunch spots. It was not disappointing, at all. Great food and great company. Our last stop was the Belize Zoo. Talk about amazing. The animals there are majestic and beautiful in their natural habitat. King David introduced us to Lucky Boy, the long standing black jaguar and howler monkeys. Once the tour was over, King David dropped us back off at the water taxi and we headed back to the Caye.

Needless to say, I highly recommend Altournative Belize Services by King David. If you are looking for a private tour and want to walk away with a wealth of Belizean knowledge, this is the perfect tour for you.

Cheers,
Benjamin and Theresa

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“King David, a fantastic tour guide and friend!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

In 2012, I was lucky enough to go on a Carnival cruise with my girlfriend and her family. For our stop in Belize, we had a cave tubing excursion planned. Unfortunately, excessive rain in the area leading up to our trip prohibited us from the excursion...but King David saved the day! Rather than getting back on the cruise ship, Kind David took us on a tour through Belize, showing us as much of the area as we could take in during our brief visit before finally taking us to some unbelievable Mayan ruins. He provided us with an amazing and unforgettable tour of the ruins, filled with tons of information about the Mayans and their affect on the culture in Belize, as well as plenty of information about the land itself. I have the highest regards for Kind David as both a tour guide and friend (two years later we still keep in touch). We will be making the trip back to Belize as soon as the finances and work permit, and we will be sure to book another excursion with King David. I recommend him to anyone with an interest in learning about the beautiful culture that makes Belize so special. You won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The exception to the rule”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Thru the years of my travel it has been my pleasure to experience a well versed individual who is extremely knowledgeable about the multiple cultures I experienced on his private tour as well as the patience and genuine concern about insuring our satisfaction of enjoyment in his country. I would only recommend King David as the personal tour guide to insure the satisfaction and overwhelming enjoyment i received from King David. Sincere Thanks, Marcel Gosselin and Party.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjgison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altournative Belize Service also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Altournative Belize Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing