We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Trip to Belize and Guatemala with King David's AlTourNative Belize Services”

King David Castillo's AlTourNative Belize Tour Services
Ranked #2 of 78 Tours in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Private / Fun / Educational / Adrenaline Belize Tours with King David Castillo and EnTourage. We offers Our Valued Customer a wide Range of local tours in Belize. AlTourNative (or All-Tour-Native') is a variation of the word "alternative", and that is what we are ~ a wonderful alternative to the overcrowded, impersonal tours you may find with others. As an Alternative Tour Company in Belize With over 11 years guiding experience, King David and EnTourage at AlTourNative Belize Services offers You alternative tours with your OWN private Guide(s) in Belize. From Mayan Sites, To Cave tubing, to Zip lining, to Belize Zoo or combination tours, AlTourNative Belize Services highlights and supports everything that is Belizean own. Open to Day tours for Cruise ship Passengers and Overnight Passengers.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Trip to Belize and Guatemala with King David's AlTourNative Belize Services”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

King David is a fantastic tour guide and a truly wonderful person. We had a fabulous 4 days with him and recommend him very very strongly. He knows everything and is an absolute pleasure to be with. As another reviewer stated, he started out as our guide and ended as our friend. We had an absolute blast on our trip and are grateful to have had such a great guide and amazing experience.

After a week of diving and snorkeling, we then met up with King David for an amazing inland trip to Tikal in Guatemala and then back to Belize for caves, zip lining, jungle fun, and great friendship. From the very first email exchange in planning our trip to the moment he dropped us off at the airport, King David was spectacularly well organized and prepared to ensure that we had a great trip with no hassles at a very reasonable price.

Knowing that my wife, two kids, and I had four extra days in Belize after a family trip to a Belize Island, I sent David an email and asked if he could coordinate a trip for us to Tikal in Guatemala, where we would spend the night at the park to enable an evening tour and an early morning tour of the amazing Mayan Ruins (way, way better than a single day trip to Tikal – in our opinion), and then get us back to Belize to do many of the fun things in and around the Cayo District. He quickly did his research and got back to me within a day with a full itinerary, broken down by cost. He was extremely diligent in logistics, communicating, and responding to my many questions leading up to the trip. Once we met up, everything went perfectly. This included organizing transport in Guatemala to and from Tikal, since it is far more complex to bring a Belize vehicle over the border. All connections were perfectly on time. David is fluent in English and Spanish, which helped a LOT in Guatemala!

He is very well connected, which paid off when we made a course correction to our trip. After hearing how amazing ATM cave is and deciding that our 10 year old could do it, we asked if we could change our itinerary to enable us to see this amazing place. David hopped on his phone and worked out a new itinerary immediately. We were extremely grateful to have had the opportunity to see ATM! And, he made sure that we still got to zip line the next day on our way to the airport.

David is a wealth of knowledge and information about all aspects of Belize and he is so friendly he seemed to be one of our traveling companions, but with all the connections and experience to ensure that our limited time was perfectly filled. In addition to discussions on Belize history and economy, he even belted out a respectable rendition of their national anthem.

We can’t state strongly enough how fortunate we feel to have met up with King David for an absolutely amazing trip to Belize.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingDavidBelize, Owner at King David Castillo's AlTourNative Belize Tour Services, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Every Reviews are of equal Importance However, This review in particular is highly appreciate just for the mere fact that this tour involves a trip to Tikal, Guatemala.
AlTourNative Belize Services offers overnight guest other alternatives and options of tours in Belize and in this case to Tikal to have their very OWN, PRIVATE guide for your their family or group. Most overnight visitors coming to Belize don't realize that Tikal is also possible from out of Belize City. Therefore, i am hoping this review can be of example and of great help to future overnight visitors to Belize. Thank you and Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All Tours with a Native Belizean for a week's visit”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

King David is just amazing. I cannot offer enough superlatives about him and the service he offers. Like many reviewers, I thought of him first as just a tour guide, but now I consider him a friend.

Let me put my remarks in perspective. Over the past ten years, I have visited thirty-five countries across five continents. I travel internationally at least four times a year, usually as part of my job as a professor leading students on courses or conducting research and occasionally with my family. I interact with tour guides regularly. David is one of the best, if not the very best, tour guide I've ever had.

What makes him so wonderful? He is warm and friendly. His knowledge of Belize is encyclopedic. He possesses a true desire to serve, and to leave each guest with the best possible impression of Belize and its people. What differentiates truly exceptional service from merely good service is the quiet anticipation of needs, and David has this quality in spades. He often provided us assistance or advice before we even vocalized the desire for it, and we found his suggestions to be unerringly helpful.

We are a family of five, with children between the ages of 9 and 13. We wanted a little bit of everything in our vacation: adventure, wildlife, exposure to Mayan culture and civilization, and island time. David made it all happen. We had some trepidation about Belize, because we didn't know anything about it. David was the difference between a mediocre (or worse) trip and a stupendous one, and he did so at a bargain price given the quality of his services.

Allow me to give a concrete example. We went cave tubing on our second day. David's prices are a few dollars more per person than what cruise ship tourists pay, so I was skeptical at first. We received the following:
1) We were floating on the river nearly twice as long as the cruise ship folks, around 50 minutes v. 25 for them.
2) Whereas the cruise ship people marched through the forest at a rapid pace to reach the water and had to rush, David gave us a personal experience on our walk, explaining the various flora and fauna. We moved at a leisurely pace, even starting with a swim in the river before the hike which the children loved! All told we spent nearly three hours savoring this experience, including lunch. The cruise ship tourists had to move through like cattle.
3) Our inner tubes were more comfortable than what the cruise ships provide, with raised headrests. We didn't even have to tote them, since David hired someone to do that so we could enjoy our hike more thoroughly.


I think it's important that people understand the value proposition that David offers. I usually go with the lowest price myself, but you can't beat this level of service. It's well worth an extra few dollars. Better yet, if you combine activities as we did David's prices are as low as or lower than other guides.

And he kept offering this service the whole time. We went to Altun Ha and Lamanai. We visited the Belize Zoo and a howler monkey preserve. We did ziplining along with cave tublng. David can customize for you. We would have visited the southern and western parts of Belize, but we wanted some time on Caye Caulker. David set it all up for us so that we arrived all we had to do was relax.

King David deserves this recommendation and future business because he earned it. He earned it because he cares.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingDavidBelize, Owner at King David Castillo's AlTourNative Belize Tour Services, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Reviews are just one way to Say Thank You. When We, local Guides Read online of how appreciative our guest were with our services that we Provided Them, It Encourages us MORE to keep on doing a great Job. Thank You This Review is well appreciated. plus its food for thought for our future guest to know that we can formulate an itinerary for them for one week tour in Belize.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Altournative Belize- Cavetubing and Altun Ha”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First of all, King David was amazing! He was already there waiting for my group when we tendered to Belize. We quickly hopped in to his van and was already on our way to cavetubing. He was very knowledgeable of Belize, funny, entertaining, etc. everything you want in a tour guide! We got to the cavetubing site well before any of the bigger tours got there so it was such a peaceful and private experience. We also got to take a longer route than those that booked excursions with the cruise ship. We got to stop by a local school to give out supplies to children before we went to the breathtaking Althun Ha site. He gave us enough time to enjoy the sights. As well, he always offered to take pictures for us. All in all, he is AMAZING and I highly recommend him for anyone traveling to Belize. You will NOT regret it. His love for his job really shows and is always enthusiastic. He is well organized and very experienced as a tour guide. Had a BLAST in Belize because of him.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alva1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“King David is an AWESOME tour guide, and now a friend :)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our cruise was in July 2013 on Carnival. You always feel a little sketchy going with tour guides in a foreign country and just pray that you are safe. King David was a true gem. We went on a cave tubing and zip lining excursion. He was so knowlegable about everything in the area and everything we saw. He was also helpful, courteous, and really made us feel comfortable in everything we were doing. We would recommend him to anyone and everyone going to Belize!!! We still stay in contact with him via facebook. I'm certain we will see him again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guide and Cave Tour!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

King David was an extremely friendly guy, and entertained us while driving by telling us about the history of Belize and pointing out interesting sites along the way. As we hiked to our put in point he directed our attention to local wildlife and plants. He did everything he could to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. The cave itself was very relaxing and quite beautiful. I highly recommend seeing it, and would only recommend you see it with King David!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King David Castillo's AlTourNative Belize Tour Services also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to King David Castillo's AlTourNative Belize Tour Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing