We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.
Ranked #10 of 58 Cayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lodi, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We traveled Belize quite a bit on this trip and were used to going to shops and markets for food and other supplies. This farm is too far off the main road to make that practical. Our stay was only 3 days, so there was no problem getting what we needed. Miriam provided excellent meals and Joe took us on a horseback ride and recited poetry while we looked down upon the river.

It was relaxing and comfortable, but the cost of each meal started to add up and we felt a bit sequestered out in the jungle. We would not have wanted to stay any longer. Next trip we may just have to stop in for a visit and a day of horseback riding but will stay closer to town.

Room Tip: Treehouse would be loud to try to sleep in with a stream running directly beneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Short and sweet: I have been here five times over the course of several years and know of only good times, memories that will last a lifetime, anda bond with Joe and Miriam that I will never forget!

No matter what your situation, you can't go wrong booking here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

8 miles south of Benque, Cayo is a gem of a jungle resort, be prepared for waking up to the howling of howler monkeys,the call of toucans and the sounds of waterfalls. Mirium and Joe Martinez your hosts will have will have bottomless cups of frenchpress coffee,native juices and an assortment of tea, followed by a breakfast consisting of fruit salad and yogurt,homemade corn/flour tortillas,eggs and beans and/or pancakes and frenchtoast. After that go on a horse back tour and/or visit a spectacular cave without a horde of tourist with you, or take 3/4 hour hike to the river and spend the day on a paddle boat in search of wildlife,waterfalls and swimming holes, you will always be welcomed to just hang out for the day on the "farm'' bathing in one of a dozen different water holes on search for the over one hundred orchids growing there. This a bird watches paradise all day long, finish the day with Miriums incredible cooking consisting of more food than you can eat. this is a don't miss place in Western Belize.

Room Tip: single garden room is the most quiet, waterfall is most romantic, meet most travelers in large share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauli41929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Imagine……..
Natural beauty, peace and tranquillity.
Solar powered lights and hot water; and food cooked on a fire hearth like the ancient Mayas used to.
The soothing sound of running water, and sleeping in a room with a view – from the treetops.
Spending the day on the pristine waters of the upper Macal River; exploring waterfalls and amazing rock formations, and seeing rare birds and other wildlife
I don’t have to imagine………….I was there ………… at Martz Farm. Where it all happens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic stay! Secluded, great food, awesome hosts. Miriam and Joe take care of everything and the treehouse itself is amazing. Bring a flashlight and bug spray, they take care of everything else. We stayed here as a jumping point to visit Tikal and San Ignacio. Will never forget fetching water from the stream under the treehouse and waking to the howler monkeys. Do not expect a resort or standard amenities. Definitely more for travelers who like to get off the beaten path.

Room Tip: The treehouse is great, but bring bugspray, a flashlight and shower shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a lovely stay with the Martinez family! Miriam and co. made us feel so welcome - meals are taken by candlelight in the family kitchen and you can't help but mingle with the fellow travelers over the delicious food.

This gem is a little off the beaten path (the 8 mile trip from Benque to Martz Farms is on a rough road and takes a little more than 30 minutes depending on conditions) but the isolation is totally worth it if you don't need to be centrally located. The stars at night are INCREDIBLE, and you're immersed in the sounds of the jungle without the hum of electricity. The grounds come alive with toucans, hummingbirds, monkeys and of course, the pack of adorable dogs herding you around.

Martz Farm is remote so if you're doing excursions to other parts of Cayo everyday, you could end up spending a significant amount of time in transit. And the tours are a little more pricey to account for the transport. They do have plenty of "on-site" activities though like horseback riding and a river tour however.

Would recommend for travelers looking for an intimate, off-the-grid experience with a friendly family and jungle surroundings. Wouldn't recommend for people who don't like dogs and for people trying to use it as a base for exploring all of Belize, not just Cayo.

Room Tip: we didn't stay in the treehouse (it was booked) but it looked lovely and other travelers comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at Martz Farm. We stayed there for 4 nights. This is defiantly a great place for adventurous travelers who want to get insight into the real Belize. If you can do without air conditioning and electricity this is a great place to stay (there is electric in the main guest house, and there is Wi-Fi most of the time). All meals are home cooked in a small thatched kitchen, and were excellent. Most meals we ate with other guests and could talk about what we did and what we could plan to do. This community aspect of the stay was fun and allowed us to make our plans with confidence. Everyone was very friendly and fun to talk to.

Their coordination of a visit to Takal was excellent, and avoided many of the complications associated with driving into Guatemala. The pontoon boat tour of the Macaw reservoir was informative and relaxing. The highlight of our stay was horse back riding and exploring caves with Joe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo hotels
7.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
7.2 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.

Property: Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.
Address: 8.5 Mls. Hydro Road, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Martz Farm Treehouses And Cabanas Ltd. Belize/Cayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing