We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the treehouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.
Ranked #14 of 65 Cayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Miriam, Joe and their family are some of the kindest, most generous and welcoming hosts we have ever had the pleasure of staying with. They happily opened their home to us and treated us as though we were part of the family, making our stay with them a truly memorable experience. The farm's treehouse is the quintessential treehouse experience, truly straight out of fiction in the best way possible. Falling asleep (and waking up to) the sounds of the jungle and the waterfall underneath is the perfect way to bookend your day. Don't let the need for flashlights and bug spray scare you off; staying at Martz Farm really is an experience you'll never forget.

Room Tip: The treehouse is totally worth the adventure! The other facilities are so great as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

During my stay next door at 'Better in Belize Eco Community', where I bought a lot for my new home, I spent a beautiful and relaxing afternoon with Joe Martinez on a 3 hour scenic ride through his property. Being a former horse woman it was nice to see how well taken care of and behaved his horses were. Joe was a wonderful guide and so knowledgeable about everything around him. We took a tour all the way on top of the hills where you can see across miles and miles of rainforest. We stopped at his favorite spot overlooking the unspoiled Macal river. When we returned just before dark, I was invited by his family to a delicious meal by candle light.
And yes, Joe does fly over that horrible road, which, by the way will be fixed in the near future, so don't let that deter you.
I'll be back this September, when I'll get a chance to go for a boat ride with Laz on the river, where my lot will be.
Can't wait to see y'all again soon!!!

Till then, Susanne

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Blewize42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Julian the driver, our eyes and our guide.
Deep in the Cayo District, his car, our ride
Through the flats to the jungle we go
Down a dirt road, left at Benque Viejo.

Further from civilization with each turn,
at the Martz Farm there is no need for concern.
Tortillas a la mano, wood fire cooking
Miriam la maestra she handles the booking.

The main lodge sturdy, private and clean.
Beds are all comforty, you will have nice dreams.
If its your pleasure they have a treehouse
back where the Holler monkeys likes to hangout.

Australian cattle dogs run the grounds
to keep the chickens from leaps and bounds.
Horses will take you to the Martz family trees,
over ancient Maya terraces, to the beautiful vistas of Belize.

Spoken word on a mountain crest
Joe relates the truth, the river does the rest.
Their sons are there to lend extra hands.
Young Joshua, Lukas, but Evans the man.

Dinner without Wifi or internet
Candle light is what to expect
Plates of delicious food to end the day
Ever once in a while Uncle Joe has his say.

Day trips to destinations, lands to explore
the hum of cicada, a chorus of nature--nothing more.
Xunantunich and Maya ruins surround
The Martz Family Farm is fertile ground.

Feligson and Barrelli

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thank you to the Martinez family for taking great care of us. After our first night we had planned to drive to Tikal but had a flat a mile from the farm. Joe and Miriam helped arrange to get a new tire from the rental company. Joe went into town early the next morning to get the tire and put it on the car for me. The day was not lost, however--Laz took us on his boat to a beautiful waterfall. It is the kind of spot that elsewhere would have crowds of tourists, but we had it all to ourselves. If you want a peaceful and remote setting, and feel like you are part of the family, Martz Farm is for you. Where else do you get a hug goodbye when it is time to check out? We are already planning a return trip with our kids. A couple of notes: the farm is located 8 miles down the worst dirt road I have ever driven on (and I have driven quite a bit in Central America)--allow at least 45-60 minutes (Joe does it in 20). Also, if you want to have a beer after your day in the jungle, bring it in with you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Dear Curious Traveler,

Often in life we see these opportunities and think we should go for them. If you are contemplating a trip to Belize, this is an opportunity not to be missed. Whatever it takes Make this a To-Do item. The reviews have it right. Miriam and Joe and their family are the best people to get to know. Warm and welcoming, patient and funny with a love for life and the experiences within. Miriam is an OUTSTANDING chef. I reluctantly left her table after each meal. Just let her cook for you and relish the culinary delights she offers. Book the treehouse if you can. Take your favorite cocktail with you. The warm sunset shining through the flowers and trees over the waterfall is magnificent. Just sit and hang your legs off the edge and be at peace. Do not miss the horseback ride!!! Trust Joe to know best what to show you and ask the questions you want!!! They are both a wealth of info!!! Take the boat tour!! Caesar and Justin have no equal when it comes to entertaining you, keeping you safe, and showing you a wonder that less than 250 ppl in the modern era have seen.

Others covered the basics...take a headlamp...make sure it has a red light, that will illuminate and not attract any bugs!!! Be sure to stop at the Long Lucky Market and grab anything you need before going up. And honestly, the road isn't that bad really. Just part of the adventure!!!

Now put down this review and go earn one of your own at Martz Farm!!!

Love, Casey

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In the end I always ask myself, would I recommend this experience to my friends and family...most certainly! We were guests but felt like part of the family. We stayed in the treehouse which was everything we hoped it would be. Bugs - no, no matter where we went, not in the treehouse or our jungle walks or horseback rides. Thank you Joe for the cave tour, it was a highlight, as was climbing up the waterfall like little kids we once were. Another highlight was the smile on those two little kids faces when Joe gave them a treat on our way back from the cave. Those huge smiles reminded me of life's simple joys. They set us up with great guides for two ruins trips, another highlight, arranged transportation, all experiences were terrific. Miriam I don't know where you get the energy. I think I read in another review about your "magic" kitchen, I totally understand now, meals were great, better than great!
We very much hope to come back and do what we didn't have time for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What can possibly be said about this magical, hidden gem deep in the Belizian jungle? Certainly nothing that can compare with owner Joe Martinez's rhythmic, poetic tales. Certainly nothing that can explain how the physics works differently and is best captured when brother Lazaro tells you "forget what your mind tells you… do what I tell you." The welcoming crew of Miriam, Lucas, Joshua and the dogs heralding your arrival is quite a site after a 5 hour trip through the country.

I can go on for days about this perfect sliver of paradise, but no words can capture the love that is poured out upon the guests of Martz farm. The stories that you'll bring back from this experience will have your friends staring at you with disbelief.

If you want a plush, air conditioned hotel room with an infinity pool to sip drinks at, well… your desire for exploration and life are on a different coarse. If you are the kind of person that likes to explore, cliff jump, get dirty in an abandoned Mayan cave with howler monkeys in the canopy above you, and even waltz up a water fall, then stop debating, this is your paradise and these are your hosts.

Love on them. Tell them the "skydivers" are always talking about them and spreading the word of Martz farm.

We hope to return soon!!!

Room Tip: Get the treehouse if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo hotels
15.6 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
870 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
459 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,274 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd.

Address: 8.5 Mls. Hydro Road, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Cayo
Price Range: £67 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Martz Farm Treehouses and Cabanas Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martz Farm Treehouses And Cabanas Ltd. Belize/Cayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing