We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Slice of Paradise"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calico Jack's Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calico Jack's Village
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Cayo
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"A Slice of Paradise"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

My 5-night stay at Calico Jack's provided a perfect retreat getaway from my stressful & hectic lifestyle. Calico Jack's is off the beaten path and is tucked away in the Mountain Pine Ridge area of the Cayo District. I stayed in the Moon Temple villa (one of two villas), which is a very spacious and comfortable 3-bedroom unit, complete with a kitchenette. The villa is constructed in the style of a Mayan temple, is tastefully furnished and decorated, and the property is beautifully landscaped with lush tropical plants and flowers. Looking out of the large master bedroom window provides breathtaking views of the rain forest. I would awaken to the sounds of birds singing in the morning, and one brightly colored bird would tap its beak on one of the windows every morning. Beauty abounds at Calico Jack's, and the beauty of the environment is matched by the professional and attentive service of the owners, Chester & Ydahlia, and their customer friendly staff, all of whom aim to please. The tasty meals were cooked to order and were served in the on-site restaurant, a spacious and beautiful facility that includes a lounge area with a flat screen tv. I was captivated by the beauty of the environment and took lots of pictures (will post photos at a later date) and went hiking on the medicine trail and Bega One cave, both of which are located on the property. This was my first hiking experience since I underwent reconstructive leg surgery a few years ago, and Elias, my guide, was extremely knowledgeable and patient. My first visit to Belize and my stay at Calico Jack's far exceeded my expectations, and I will definitely return to re-experience the beauty and peacefulness of this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjhwiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

My second trip to Calico Jack's for ziplining and visiting with Ydahlia and Chester did not disappoint! The ziplining there is out of this world--Carlos and William were again expert guides, taking great care that my colleague and I were safe, felt secure, and were enjoying ourselves throughout. William even kindly obliged to show us how to make a thached roof out of fronds from a tree along the jungle path! Ydahlia's secret recipe brownies, burgers, and fries made a great end to a perfect day--Calico Jack's is absolutely a must-do for anyone planning a trip to Belize. Candy Beitman, Noblesville, IN

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perhaps it is an oxymoron to call Calico Jack's a peaceful retreat in the rain forest, however the atmosphere and the staff create a divine sanctuary. There are two villas that were available during my stay, however my daughter and I had the entire grounds to ourselves as nobody else was booked. Abner was available for any request that I had and even had a vegan menu prepared for us. The property has a medicine trail and a couple of caves available for exploration. Also, there is a great butterfly garden close by where you can see butterflies hatching if you go early in the morning before 11am. There is also a zip line, but my 4 year old was a bit too nervous to explore this adventure.
I was also able to talk to Ydalihia for two hours about my own dissertation plans. All the staff and owners were helpful and approachable.
The only challenge I see is that the price is not all inclusive so you have to pay for your meals separately from your lodging. You are too far from the nearest town, so it becomes essential to eat on the property. They do however have DELICIOUS food and a kitchenette with a microwave and fridge if you would like to prepare your own meals.
The most amazing part of my trip was sleeping alongside the rain forest. You can hear many birds, see fireflies, hear monkeys, and see bullfrogs while here. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaseenaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Belize today, and we were extremely pleased with Calico Jack's. We only visited for the ziplining, staying somewhere else. But it was awesome!!!! In a group of two 16 year olds and two 80 year olds, Andreas and Elijah (the Troublemakers, as they call themselves) were very helpful. My grandmother had some trouble with a small hike between ziplines, and Elijah was very patient and helped her along to finish the course, even going to the extreme of tethering her to him on the last line, while always encouraging her and laughing and joking. Andreas went out to get her after she got stuck on a zipline (after going too slow), and entertained the rest of us with his stories and tricks on the ziplines. Both guides always had smiles on their faces, and I recommend this place to EVERYONE!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorta_Famyly_Tryps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Calico Jacks for two nights recently with our two boys, 13 and 9. Onsite, they have both the best ziplining in the country as well as great caves to explore. Therefore, for activities, you are not being transported for several hours and the fee's are lower. There are only two units on the property so don't expect alot of company. The staff make you feel very welcome and are hard workers, especially Amber in the food area and all of the zipline/caving staff were well educated and aimed to please.The pace in general of the country is slow so expect it to be "belizian style"...Two nights was the perfect amount to stay there. The only minus of the hotel is that they don't have a pool yet it is in their plans. The roads to the hotel are rugged (understatement but everywhere in the jungle is a hike) but worth the experience. We also were pleasantly surprised by seeing a tarantula, scorpion and jumping tree frog which my boys loved and added to our experience. Great spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

If your looking for adventure this is a great place to start! this was my first time on a zipline and i cant think of a better place to experience it. i felt very safe with the double cables and the guides making all of the connections. i would definitely do it again!! it is a good place to base your Jungle adventures from especially if you have a rental car.
The staff was great! friendly and helpful, the food was great! we had the kebabs which were delicious and also the best looking meal of our trip, nice presentation :) thanks Abner!
the room and bed were very clean and comfortable, the woodwork was all custom made by the owner from beautiful mahogany. the lounge/restaurant/bar area was very nice with a flat screen tv (assuming you need one in while on vacation in the jungle) and leather couches. and of course Belikin beer nice and cold!
hopefully i'll make it back again some day!!
thanks again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our 2-night stay at Calico Jack's was phenomenal. We experienced the jungle and all its natural beauty, as well as the amazing hospitality of the owners and staff. The food was delicious, the rooms fantastic. Being in the jungle in the rain, surrounded by the most beautiful tropical plants and wildlife was awesome. We were blown away by the art, architecture, and engineering of this self-contained community. We loved the zipline. We will be back. Candy and Jim Beitman, Noblesville, Indiana.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo hotels
0.0 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Paradise Resort
Crystal Paradise Resort
#2 of 2 in Cristo Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calico Jack's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calico Jack's Village

Property: Calico Jack's Village
Address: El Progresso (7 Mile), Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calico Jack's is a jungle lodge located in the village of El Progresso, in the Mt. Pine Ridge area of Cayo District in Belize, Central America. We offer lovely accommodations for families and couples with 2 -3 bedroom units with 2-3 bathrooms including kitchenettes, A/C, internet and cable TV and a full service bar and restaurant. Calico Jack's specializes in adventure tours. We offer zip lining (more than 3,000 feet), rappelling, cable walk and feature Belize's only jungle swing "El Columpio". Calico Jack's invites you to visit us to experience a refreshingly authentic tropical adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calico Jack's Village Belize/Cayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing