We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Crystal Cave

Crystal Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Crystal Cave and Blue Hole National Park Day Trip from San Ignacio
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Day Trip To Crystal Cave and Blue Hole National Park
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Belmopan
Attraction details
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Awesome day ziplining and cave tubing. Recommend for anyone willing to take a trip off the beach and explore Belize's interior land. Must be willing to climb stairs--a lot--to enter cave, so if you're limited on mobility, this isn't the trip for you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank waterskifamilymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    6
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must for the Active Traveller”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After our excellent trip to Caracol Ruins, our guide, Diego recommend we change our ATM cave visit to Crystal cave. 1) ATM was pretty flooded out 2) Crystal cave was a "10" difficulty while ATM is an "8" 3) Great jungle hike to get there 4) Intense. We were in!
Diego is a guide with Rumors Resort and some others I think, and I couldn't recommend him more highly. He was incredibly knowledgeable and really knows how to drive a 4wd! It's fun!
So Crystal Cave starts with a muddy and adventurers hike. Once you get to the cave it is daunting. You will get really muddy, climb, scale and see things that are mind blowing. There are Mayan remains and items there... it's fascinating to think people went into this place with no lights and just fire! Also make sure to turn all lights off and experience true darkness! We picnicked at the mouth of the cave before our trek back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Crystal Cave is a must for every visit to Belize”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visiting San Ignacio after a long period of tropical rains, we found out that many of the sites we wanted to see were closed because either the bridges were washed away, or roads were impassable, or water levels were too high to do ATM caves or cave tubing. We stumbled upon “Mayanwalks tours” on Burns Ave. and were quickly talked into taking their “Crystal Cave” tour. The cave had opened for tours just 5 years ago. Tour books of 2012 don’t even list it as a major attraction. However, it turned out an experience of a lifetime! The cave itself is amazing! We have seen many of them all over the world. This one beats them all! Ask for Diego as your guide. Most likely, you’ll have him, because not many people are licensed to take groups inside. You can’t visit it alone. When you get inside, you’ll realize why it is. The spelunking is very strenuous. Keep it in mind. We visited the cave after and during a heavy rain. This made a 45 min jungle hike to the cave a very slippery adventure on its own. This combination of overcoming obstacles while exploring the cave and the beauty of it made this tour so unforgettable. A swim in Blue Hole afterwards could be a separate tour, but it’s included as a clear bonus. Diego is very intelligent, athletic, mindful of his clients’ different needs, knowledgeable, and with nice sense of humor. You can feel his love for the job he does

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank akaplan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to ATM”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The tour we booked with Pacz for ATM was cancelled due to all of the rain, so we had to find a quick alternative, and chose Crystal Cave. We were very happy we did! This was adventurous, interesting, and a lot of fun! A 45 minute hike to the cave entrance, followed by climbing down into the cave using a rope, and then a long crawl, walk, squeeze, slide through the cave. There were lots of interesting Mayan artifacts to see, including a skull, and the cave was beautiful! We also got to visit the inland blue hole, right next door, on our visit and that was neat. We went the tour company MAX's, and had Diego for our guide. Diego was fantastic and we would highly recommend him for this tour or any of the other tours in the area!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MLM7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic adventure cave!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a must if you like hiking, getting dirty and dark spaces. We had a blast, we crawled, climbed, hiked, and scrambled for hours. We were also lucky enough to have a guide certified to take people down to "wonderland" were we walked barefoot through the formations. We went with BZM tours (they came very highly recommended and with reason) and our guide Rudy was one of the most informative guides we had the entire trip, which is saying quiet a bit because none of our guides were uneducated or uncommunicative and they were all fantastic. Wear long pants that dry quickly and good shoes. Avoid this tour if you are claustrophobic or have issues with the dark, heart problems or other general health problems that might prevent you from steady up and down hikes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Cave also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing