We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just stayed and had a business dinner there and then breakfast, the absolute best part of my 3 country trip was with Paul and his family. Food and service was great. I will return for vacation if possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is a hidden gem in Belmopan, Belize. The owners and staff made me feel like I was part of their extended family. The food was excellent, the service was incredible, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. The river running behind the cottages and restaurant is very peaceful and relaxing. The ruins are close by and the golf course very nice.

If I get the opportunity to visit this area again I will definitely stay with Paul and Jenny. I feel like I have made friends for life.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious. They come with a TV, DVD player, WiFi, microwave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stopped in for several days of rest after a red-eye flight from Seattle. It was nice and quiet, good food, and friendly staff. We took in a few holes of golf. I didn't do too bad for my first time out.

If you get a chance, check out their cool cave.

Truely enjoyed our stay and will try to stop by again on our way back Seattle.

A&M Gilda
N. Idaho

Room Tip: Rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

If you are coming to Belmopan for business there is not better place to stay than at the Roaring River Golf Course Resort. Belmopan has no comparable options and the Resort is beautifully located in a scenic area that is just a ten minute drive from the city centre. I stayed here for two months in February and March 2011 and Paul and Jenny who own and manage the resort are absolutely fantastic hosts. They made sure I had everything I needed for my work and personal needs in the accommodation. Good internet connection, excellent cable TV package including international sports channels. And Paul and Jenny are very personable, inviting me into their home several times during my stay for dinner. If you are looking for good quality accommodation, excellent service and the peace of mind of knowing that everything works, this is the place for you to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Roaring River Golf Course for one night and we had such a great time! The accommodation is spacious and very clean. The rooms overlook the river and its a nice refreshing treat to take a dip in the clean cool waters after a long day on the golf course. If you are a golfer you really cant beat the value and the golf course is really unpretentious and fun for players of all levels. Jenny and Paul are so kind and accommodating. Jenny was in the middle of training a new cook and had a limited menu but she went above and beyond to make sure we were well fed and happy. You have to try her Philly cheese stake sandwich! I would highly recommend anyone (golfer or not) to stay at the course if you are in the Belmopan area, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckieGial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

The Roaring River Golf Course offers a very good alternative to the usual hotels in downtown Belmopan. Located just outside of town in Roaring Creek, these accomodations offer a clean room, a very good restaurant, and a very very helpful staff. I would STRONGLY recommend this location if it isn't necessary for you to HAVE to stay downtown. I'm not even a golfer and have stayed at this location twice when I've visited Belmopan. The only detractor is that the rooms do not have cable tv, which the owner has insisted that he is trying to rectify this inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

First, a word about hotels in Belize. With one modest exception, there are no marquee names in this land - no Marriott, no Comfort Inn, not even Motel 6. Almost all the accommodations available to you are individually owned and operated, and this is not a bad thing. And that's why discriminating travelers who plan to stay in central Belize (Cayo District, Belmopan) want to head for the Roaring River Golf Course. The establishment has four cabanas and a restaurant/bar located directly above the river. They are among the very best in Belize.

We stayed at Roaring River for several weeks in August 2010. We are not golfers, but we loved the environment, the trees, the ponds, the birds, the wild and not-so-wildlife, the fish, and the crocodiles (see below). If you are a golfer you will be in paradise, as play on the country's only currently operating golf course (including lessons) is included with your room rent!

The cabanas are the size of a junior suite and are comfortable and well appointed with mini-fridges and facilities to make tea and coffee. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are very functional. (Belize is famous for things other than its plumbing, but Roaring River has made this basic service work well.)

Your gracious and helpful hosts are southerners - Paul from South Africa and Jennie from South Carolina. Guests can have no need that Paul and Jennie will not go out of their way to meet. Although the restaurant is primarily known for its meat dishes (it's called the Meating Place), chef Jennie went out of her way to accommodate my vegetarian wife, serving up delicious meatless entrees, never preparing the same thing twice! Other guests' requests for off-menu entrees were always accommodated and as a result, we enjoyed delicious BBQ and lobster among other special orders. Breakfast is also excellent with fruit in season and a number of menu choices. Lunch is not served, but Jennie was happy to give my wife (who generally stayed at the club during the day) full run of the kitchen to prepare sandwiches, etc.

The grounds and the golf course are beautiful with tropical foliage and ponds dotting the links. A real treat for guests is to follow Paul as he feeds the fish in the evening - the pond Crocs take advantage of the fish feeding frenzy to for a bit of fish frenzy of their own! These crocs are timid and will disappear into the water as soon as someone approaches. However, if your ball lands in one of their ponds, consider it lost! There are a number of Toucans (Belize's national bird) who make their home at Roaring River and who can be seen while walking on the course. Paul and Jennie also have their own menagerie of dogs, cats and ducks who hang out on the property.

For those who are looking for a place to stay in central Belize, we couldn't recommend the Roaring River Golf Course Accommodations more highly!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchBroadCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
0.0 mi away
Super Palm Resort
Super Palm Resort
#4 of 4 in Belmopan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Rey Hotel
El Rey Hotel
#6 of 16 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 11 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation

Property: Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation
Address: Mile 49, Western Highway, Belmopan 00000, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the only public golf course on the mainland, just a few minutes outside Belmopan. Our suites are very clean, large, AC, internet, private veranda over the river. The restaurant is reputed to have the best steak in Belize as well as other fine dishes. Golf course is a Par 64, Eco friendly course, lots of trees, 120+ species of birds, resident crocodiles, iguanas and a clear river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation Hotel Belmopan
Roaring River Golf Course Accomodation Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing