We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Stop in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendliest Stop in Belize”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Nick and Shannon, and Karla and her fry-jacks are amazing. They were all very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable while we stayed with them for a couple of days while passing through Belmopan. Nick was especially helpful in suggesting and organizing day trips for us, and helping us navigate the rest of our way through Belize once we left. He even went out of his way and drove us to the bus station, which was very appreciated! The hotel is nice and clean, the beds were comfortable enough. The real highlight is the staff, of course. It is a little bit of a walk from the bus station, but it's definitely my top recommendation for accommodation in Belmopan!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
12
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at El Rey for about 4 weeks in total whilst doing a hospital placement in Belize. We are so glad we chose to stay here and El Rey is what made our time in Belmopan so memorable. Nick , Shannon and Karla were amazing, very welcoming and made us feel at home, and helped us with any day trips/ travelling we wanted to do. One thing I must mention is how INCREDIBLE Shannon's cooking is - not to be missed. We had a meal plan with her most nights and not only did it work out very cheap to do this, her food was amazing and her homemade cakes even better! Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a nice, friendly place to stay in Belmopan to pick El Rey!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Nick and his wife Shannon made our group feel welcome for our 4 night/5 day stay. The rooms are simple, but clean. The food is excellent. We ate breakfast and dinner at hotel most days. The staff is very accomodating based on dietary needs. And Nick or the staff will gladly make recommendations on restaurants or things to do in Belmopan. It's not often you find a hotel owner that take a genuine interest in his guests. I will stay here when I return to Belize for sure and I will recommend this hotel to friends. Keep up the good work Nick and staff!

Room Tip: If you go in the summer spend a little extra and get A/C, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here in July while trying to sort out some visa issues. I got a fan room as I was on a budget and it was really nice. Hot shower and very spacious. The air conditioned rooms looked really nice too. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the market and banks in the centre of town but is also really close to some restaurants, internet cafe and supermarkets.

As others have said the best thing about the hotel is the owner Nick and his family. Nick really goes out of his way to make everybody comfortable and is a golden resource of everything in the area. They serve food and his wife Shannon cooks great dishes and cakes! Nick can make a pretty good cup of tea too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

At first sight, I wasn't sure about staying here but as we entered, I realized it had all the charm of a bed and breakfast but the comfort of a hotel! We stayed with a group for 4 nights and when we left we felt like we were leaving family. Nick, Shannon, and Carla are amazing. They really make you feel like you are home. Our rooms were clean and the food was completely amazing. If you are in Belmopan, you NEED to stop here and say hi to Nick and tell him that Grace Covenant loves his family :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

As you've probably seen from other reviews, the El Rey Inn is under new management--it's called the El Rey Hotel now. My boyfriend and I ended up staying here after making the last-minute decision to stop near Belmopan and do some cave tubing. It ended up being one of the most memorable stops of the trip! Nick and his wife are really pouring themselves into the renovation. It's so evident how much they care about building a good reputation and getting off on the right foot with the business. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated, the kitchen served up great food (definitely try the fry jacks!), and as busy as he was, Nick took the time to come out and chat with us during dinner. Belmopan tends to be looked over by a lot of travelers to Belize (truthfully, we almost didn't stop there), but I think El Rey might be one of the places that will help change that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nick and his wife shannon are mid way through converting this cozy inn into a great hotel. The budget rooms are clean but basic, a little artwork and air conditioning wouldn't go amiss, as it was hot at night, however for the value, we have no complaints at all! The more expensive rooms do offer air con, and they still offered fantastic value for money!
Nick has a good knowledge of Belize and was more than willing to offer his advice and help when looking to book tours and excursions.
The breakfast was excellent, the fried jacks were by far the best we had across the whole of Belize!
Nick had discussed his future plans to begin serving high class international cuisine at affordable prices, which by the sounds of it should be in full swing by July, it's a shame we missed out on that, as we would have loved to try the British and Belezian and further afield combinations!

All in all, thanks again for a great stay, and if you bring some english tea, you will no doubt find an extra few fried jacks on your plate at breakfast!

Good luck and best wishes!

Room Tip: Just ask nick to show you a variety of rooms as there are three price brackets, and go from there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
12.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
2.4 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
2.4 mi away
Rock Farm Guest House
Rock Farm Guest House
#3 of 16 in Belmopan
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Hotel

Property: El Rey Hotel
Address: 23 Moho Street, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small property with a big heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing