We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and welcoming - the perfect base in Belmopan...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and welcoming - the perfect base in Belmopan...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at the El Rey Inn three separate times during my month-long trip in Belize, and each time it was like home away from home. Nick (British) and Shannon (home-grown Belmopan Belizean) are excellent hosts - intelligent, friendly, hard-working people doing their very best to make their hotel better and better all the time - and succeeding. They have a true understanding of the word hospitality. They took over this hotel in April 2012, and it is fast earning a well-deserved reputation as the best affordable accomodation in Belmopan. It is located on a quiet residential street, but very handy to a large supermarket and internet cafe a couple of short blocks away. The rooms are very clean and well-maintained (all the ones I stayed in seemed to have been freshly painted not long previously), and the staff are well-chosen for their efficiency, attentiveness, genuine friendliness and eagerness to help (Juan in particular was excellent). Both Nick and Shannon have an in-depth knowledge of what to see and do in Belize, and are happy to share their extensive knowledge.

I stayed in a room with TV, a spotless bathroom and a ceiling fan (I don't usually bother with air-con, though they have this option in some rooms too if you want it) and it was only $45 US (90 BZ$) per night. This was March 2013 - prices obviously may differ in the future, or depending on the type of room you choose. If there are a choice of rooms to choose from when you arrive, they're happy to let you take a look first and pick your preference.

If the overly-touristed Belize hotspots like San Ignacio, Caye Caulker and San Pedro have left you exhausted and dazed, I can highly recommend the laid-back town of Belmopan (close to some nice cave tubing and other activities/sights). There's a good pizza/pasta/chicken wings place (beware - enormous portions!) called Pasquales in town, and the Bullfrog Inn down the ring road has good meals too. Of course, if you don't want to leave the El Rey Inn, they also serve excellent meals right there - Shannon often does the cooking herself (beware- addictive cheesecake!). I think the most expensive dinner item on their menu while I was there was a very nice home-made lasagne, garlic bread and salad for a mere $12 US. They do some quality pizzas, burgers, pastas and quesadillas too. The breakfasts are great too.

Awesome value food and accomodation - you won't find a better family-run hotel in Belmopan.

Sincerely, Kevin Casey (the Remote River Man)
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My son and I had had a difficult afternoon after getting stood up by our guide. But our taxi driver, Bert, suggested the El Rey and I'm so glad he did. The room was immaculate, they had tv and wi-fi (important for us to rearrange our plans), and we ate the best homemade pineapple cheesecake ever! The staff were helpful and the overall bed and breakfast vibe helped us de-stress after such a long day. We only stayed one night, but I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We ended up getting a room that originally would have cost more because it was an A/C room, but sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed at El Rey for 2 nights mid January. We were looking for somewhere in Belmopan which seemed a good base to get to other areas of Belize with the main bus station servicing many areas of Belize.

Nick, Shannon and his staff could not have been more welcoming, hospitable and helpful. The food was home cooked and delicious we even got a choice of Yorkshire or Tetley tea at breakfast! Rooms clean and comfortable and the whole stay was very reasonably priced.

Nick and Shannon even helped us plan some trips and gave ideas of where to go in Belize and organised for a cave tubing tour which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Would recommend staying at El Rey without a doubt. Thank you Nick and Shannon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmsylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Nick and Shannon, and Karla and her fry-jacks are amazing. They were all very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable while we stayed with them for a couple of days while passing through Belmopan. Nick was especially helpful in suggesting and organizing day trips for us, and helping us navigate the rest of our way through Belize once we left. He even went out of his way and drove us to the bus station, which was very appreciated! The hotel is nice and clean, the beds were comfortable enough. The real highlight is the staff, of course. It is a little bit of a walk from the bus station, but it's definitely my top recommendation for accommodation in Belmopan!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at El Rey for about 4 weeks in total whilst doing a hospital placement in Belize. We are so glad we chose to stay here and El Rey is what made our time in Belmopan so memorable. Nick , Shannon and Karla were amazing, very welcoming and made us feel at home, and helped us with any day trips/ travelling we wanted to do. One thing I must mention is how INCREDIBLE Shannon's cooking is - not to be missed. We had a meal plan with her most nights and not only did it work out very cheap to do this, her food was amazing and her homemade cakes even better! Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a nice, friendly place to stay in Belmopan to pick El Rey!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Nick and his wife Shannon made our group feel welcome for our 4 night/5 day stay. The rooms are simple, but clean. The food is excellent. We ate breakfast and dinner at hotel most days. The staff is very accomodating based on dietary needs. And Nick or the staff will gladly make recommendations on restaurants or things to do in Belmopan. It's not often you find a hotel owner that take a genuine interest in his guests. I will stay here when I return to Belize for sure and I will recommend this hotel to friends. Keep up the good work Nick and staff!

Room Tip: If you go in the summer spend a little extra and get A/C, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here in July while trying to sort out some visa issues. I got a fan room as I was on a budget and it was really nice. Hot shower and very spacious. The air conditioned rooms looked really nice too. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the market and banks in the centre of town but is also really close to some restaurants, internet cafe and supermarkets.

As others have said the best thing about the hotel is the owner Nick and his family. Nick really goes out of his way to make everybody comfortable and is a golden resource of everything in the area. They serve food and his wife Shannon cooks great dishes and cakes! Nick can make a pretty good cup of tea too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
12.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super Palm Resort
Super Palm Resort
#4 of 4 in Belmopan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
8.3 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Hotel

Property: El Rey Hotel
Address: 23 Moho Street, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small property with a big heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing