We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Stop for University Groups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must Stop for University Groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My colleague and I accompanied 14 college students to Belize for two-weeks. MBS seemed conveniently located to a few things we were interested in doing (Community Baboon Sanctuary, Belmopan, and the Belize Zoo), so we arranged to stay at MBS a few days. Once you added up costs, including meals and programs, we were pushing the limits of our budget. But MBS was very accommodating to our needs, and they put together a three-day, two-night program for us. I highly recommend the night tour of the Belize Zoo (our first night there). It was an incredible - and very unique - experience to tour the zoo in the darkness. The zookeepers who were our tour guides were very nice, and we were able to get up rather close and personal to the animals (including the black jaguar). The following day we took a canoe trip on the Sibun River. It was another fantastic experience - the MBS tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and fun. Our students had a blast! We followed this up with an informative tour of the neighboring citrus plantation. Our last day we finished with a jungle trail hike. Prior to our trip we were skeptical about the costs and accommodations. But afterwards, we were completely sold on MBS - not to mention, they have an incredible story, which Matt, the managing director, shared with us. The meals were also well worth the cost - the food was absolutely delicious! The accommodations are comfortable, despite the fact that the students shared bunk beds and used outside latrines. A well-worn path leads to a local bar, Amigos, from MBS. It was probably a good thing that our students did not know about the bar on the first night (we kept them busy with academic work), but the following night we accompanied them to Amigos where traditional drummers happened to be performing. Everyone had a great time. Our students unanimously recommended keeping MBS as part of our itinerary for future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
12
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is an amazing place to stay while doing research, community service, or exploration of Belize. They can arrange for any experience that you can dream up; the food is great; the personnel are accommodating and amazing. Accommodations range from basic to comfortable, but all are very clean, comfortable, and bug-free. The focus is on sustainable living featuring recycling, composting, biogas toilets, etc. It's an education while you are helping to protect the environment in Belize.

Room Tip: The mountain view cabin has an in-suite toilet and shower, which are important in the rainy season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2395Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside Monkey bay just appears to be a campsite, but on the inside its a very special place. The staff are fantastic-very kind, welcoming, and curious to learn from you. They want you to enjoy your experience and do their best to ensure an amazing time.
When reading reviews about the food, I had to try it out myself. Being there for 2 weeks, every single meal was delicious. All cooks and executive management put 100 percent efforts into making excellent food and satisfying the guest. It's always a new surprise when you eat there- you will find out for yourself:)
With the rooms, they are very quiet and comfortable. With Monkey bays location, there are many different kinds of insects so best to bring extra repellant and protection.
There are many great activities to do such as hiking, canoeing, cave tubing, and ziplining. I did the canoeing and it was such a fun experience- the guide was so funny and knowledgable. We saw monkeys,iguanas, and different types of birds.
If you get a chance meet Matt, he is the founder of Monkey Bay and a very nice, kind, sincere person passionate about his organization and making a difference in the community.
Hope you enjoy your stay at Monkey Bay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Monkey bay was an amazing place to stay during our research trip to Belize. The hospitality was unforgettable. I was staying in the far back cabin facing the entrance to the trail. The trail system here is completely incredible and is planned to be expanded upon. A friend and I actually hiked the full trail down to the Sibun river at 1 a.m. and had some very neat encounters along the way. My favorite part is being away from all the Cities. Make sure to go pay Marvin a visit at his bar right across from Monkey Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I just led a group of 14 students to Belize and we stayed with Monkey Bay. As someone who has led over 20 groups to Belize before, this was by far one of my best experiences there and it was because of what a wonderful job Monkey Bay did while we were there. The food was beyond excellent, in a group of 14 people - everyone from our group always found something that they loved (which is rare!) and the cooks were so accommodating if we ever needed something extra. The staff at Monkey Bay were excellent and helped to ensure that we had an amazing and safe trip. They went above and beyond for our group and left our students with a deep love for Belize and it's culture. The accommodations were great and very clean and comfortable and all of the staff were very helpful if we ever needed anything. I would highly recommend Monkey Bay to any traveler or group of students - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at Monkey Bay for roughly 2 weeks whilst on fieldwork with university. The chicken bus goes straight through from Belize City via Belmopan (approx 2 hours, but 30$BZ cheaper than a taxi), and we could hop off right outside Monkey Bay - perfect! Luckily, I managed to shotgun the room by the wash facilities which was a lot cooler and comfier than the wooden bunkhouses where my fellow students stayed!

We had 3 meals a day prepared for us; breakfast and dinner were always superb, with a wide variety of food on offer. If you needed wifi, you could only access it around the central office area. The showers were something else though - be prepared for the shock of your lifetime early each morning! Showers and toilets were very clean though and well kept. They also offered a laundry service for 10$BZ, which was perfect at the time as we travelled in rainy season, with no opportunity to dry your clothes!

However, the location is approximately 10 miles outside of Belmopan and is in the middle of nowhere, so apart from Amigo's bar across the way, make sure you have something to entertain yourself. Also, I strongly recommend long sleeves and trousers after 5pm to avoid sandfly bites (they itch like hell) - I learnt the hard way on my first night there, sitting outside for 15 minutes in shorts and a t-shirt, but looking like I had chickenpox for the next 2 weeks.

Overall, brilliant place to stay and good value for money. The food was always superb!

Room Tip: Get a room with concrete walls if you can - its slightly less humid at night, and better protection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

No monkeys at Monkey Bay, but an excellent place for the weary traveller to take a break. Clean rooms and very friendly staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time here. All the wonderful fruit trees are labelled. This is close to living nearer the earth. Dining is available on-site, with two restaurants and bars within walking distance. Take an hour hike to the river and enjoy a fantastic dip to freshen up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mhoneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
11.9 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.8 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
9.5 mi away
Yaxche Jungle Camp
Yaxche Jungle Camp
#4 of 11 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yoli's Bed & Breakfast
Yoli's Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 16 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Belmopan
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary is an environmental education center offering Belize Study Abroad experiential learning programs and training opportunities while serving as a model of conservation land Stewardship. Our goal is to guide our guests and students in experiencing the natural wonders of the tropics and life in a developing country, recognizing the diversity of human potential through other cultures. We do this from a peaceful natural setting within a 1070-acre private protected area at our Monkey Bay campus where we experiment with sustainable living technologies and conservation land management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing