We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a Giant step to perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

a magnificent secret at the hills of the mountains lies one of the most excited resort we have visited and really made us feel at home..food to perfection by chef Tom and Giovani who would personally come out to greet us and make our group happy and satisfied ..wow the rooms are a blow out men its all set up for honeymooners I must go back this time to renew vows cause its the lovers paradise...the casitas so tuck into jungle ambiance with the natural creeks and falls passing near by made it so electrifying and unique.Mr. Giovani the residence manager made sure we were well taken care of even though we were a group of Belizeans having a week of training at their conference facility which was convenience for our week at the lodge...thanks guys for a great week of good hospitality u all this a wonderful job.....Omar (GoJOven Program)

Room Tip: you must choose Casita # 7 wow its so peaceful and a birders paradise!!!!ohh men how could I forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We went to Sleeping Giant lodge for our honeymoon after getting married at Almond Beach resort. We stayed in one of the newly renovated Spanish casitas. It was beautifully decorated and had an outdoor soaker tub and semi outdoor shower. There was a hammock on the porch that was very relaxing! The food at the restaurant was delicious, especially the conch civeche. We were hoping that the pool would be open but it was scheduled to open the day after we left. Overall, the resort was a great place to relax at after long days of excursions

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank islandreamer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staying at this jungle lodge may be the most memorable part of our honeymoon! This beautiful lodge is remote yet offers unexpected quality. The location in the Belizian jungle makes traveling to and staying here a wonderful experience unto itself however they offer tours to turn this stay into a true adventure.

The service and food were outstanding and impressive. The lodge has a limited number of rooms and the staff truly goes out of their way to be friendly and make your stay the best it can be. Out of many favorite moments one simple example was seeing toucans while we were eating breakfast.

If you are considering a trip here and are afraid it's too remote or rustic you will be very surprised at the quality of the rooms and service in an unforgettable location. It took some convincing to talk my wife into going to the jungle for part of our trip but upon leaving she wished we had more time at Sleeping Giant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I took my mom for her birthday & I cannot express what an amazing time it was! We felt like we were with friends because everyone who works there truly cares about every guest & how they feel while they are there. Giovani is a fabulous chef. Berta is a beautiful woman who put together a very special table with "happy birthday" spelled out in flowers for my mom one night. I even made friends with Orlin, a groundskeeper, who showed me how to open a coconut & told me all about anything I asked. I could go on & on but in the end I have only extremely positive things to say about Sleeping a Giant. Giovani, the manager, does a wonderful job creating a perfect vacation for anyone whether seeking adventure or peace. I hope to return someday. Alison :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed there in October of 2013 and it was a wonderful experience. The food was awesome. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. They pay attention to every little detail to make sure you really enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and I spent three nights in the River Casita and fell in love with Sleeping Giant! The room was gorgeous and carefully thought out. We even had an outdoor tub for a hot soak after a day in the caves! The staff made us feel like family and took care of every little thing. We had thought we would be 'roughing it' in the jungle or that we might get bored without a beach, but the experience was completely luxurious and the team helped pack our agenda with incredible excursions from 8am til evening. We did the River of Caves and Night Hike on the first day (spotted a boa, basilisk, and tarantula), and ATM on the second (which is now at the top of my list of coolest travel experiences ever). There is a pool at their sister property as well as a river to cool off in, and they are adding a pool to the property at the moment. Didn't need a fitness center as we got a great outdoor workout by hiking, climbing, and swimming around on cave excursions. And the food was delicious as well, wonderful to come back to after a day of adventure. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The River Casita rooms are brand new and have a sweet outdoor tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikelAlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I seriously cannot express enough just how wonderful our stay here was. The accommodations were great, the food was amazing, and the staff was the friendliest and most accommodating I've ever experienced. They were very helpful in organizing our excursions and went out of their way to make sure we were always enjoying ourselves. I would very highly recommend this place to anyone going to Belize! Thank you Giovanni and Giovanni!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
19.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
453 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
277 reviews
16 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
255 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
294 reviews
19.5 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Giant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Giant Lodge

Address: Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range: £128 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleeping Giant Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge is a full service, Jungle lodge located in the foothills of the Sibun National Forest Reserve and surrounding by over a hundred thousand acres of untouched wilderness. The lodge offers a range of accommodations, amenities, adventures and all inclusive packages. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge - A Grand Jungle Expedition! About Sleeping Giant Lodge: -Official Base Camp for NatGeo Expeditions in Belize -Six "6" Time Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2015 for Belize & Central America -Spa Services -Complimentary Kayaks & Bicycles -Heated pool w/ Hot Tub -Gazebo Lookout Area -Sibun River- cleanest river in Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sleeping Giant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Giant Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing