We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hated to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I also absolutely loved Sleeping Giant Lodge. It is small, beautiful and so peaceful. I can't say enough about the staff - Berta, Brian, Robert. Everyone introduces themselves and will learn your name as well. The grounds are beautiful with birds and flowers everywhere. We also enjoyed the hike to the gazebo - Erlin was our guide and couldn't have been more helpful - explaining plants and trees. We also enjoyed a stroll across the beautiful Sibun River. The hotel has kayaks available at no charge for use as well. The the new pool and hot tub are gorgeous.The food was also very good.the chef comes out to be sure you are pleased and as a vegetarian he would come out & ask what I would like. As others, have mentioned, bring your own nightcap as the bar closes at 9pm which really isn't a problem. We did the day trip to Tikal which was very well organized and though a long day (5am to 5pm) well worth it. The roads are rough but the chance to see the scenery and local life makes the time pass quickly. And yes, don't forget the bug spray. We used Off but this wasn't very effective.

We flew to Belize City where we had arranged for the hotel to pick us up and stop at the Belize Zoo along the way. The driver was right there outside the door waiting with a sign. It couldn't have been easier. The same with the 11am transfer to Almond Beach when sadly it was time to leave,

It was so beautiful and relaxing. The casitas are excellent. We had #3 up on the hill by itself with a big porch. You could hear the babbling brook at night and had beautiful mountain views. The housekeeping was beyond first rate. Fresh flowers and fruit and great towel arrangements every day. And the stars at night....

Room Tip: Go for one of the casitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheretoNextNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    48
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
125
350
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Most of what I have to say has already been said: The resort was incredible lovely (the new pool/hot tub are amazing!), the surroundings were awe-inspiring, the food was excellent, and the adventures that are available are life-changing.

We did the cave waterfall tour, which includes a short hike through the jungle, and it was amazing and unforgettable. We saw and heard creatures and plants that I'd only seen in books (I have beheld the leaf cutter ant on the march! Seen jungle cat prints fresh in the mud! Heard the roar of Howler Monkeys in the wild! Seen a Toucan! Met a freshwater crab a mile deep in a cave!) It was breathtaking.

There was a photographer from the National Geographic at the lodge during our visit. I doubt even he will be able to capture the beauty of this place; the pictures on here definitely fall short. Don't let the threat of rain scare you away (It IS a rain forest, after all); it is beautiful and relaxing when it rains there, as it did for one of the days of our stay. I wish we could have stayed longer and done more.

We did a "Jungle and Beach" package with a sister resort in Hopkins, and that worked out wonderfully. If we were to do it again, we might shift another day or two to Sleeping Giant, though.

What has also been said, but can't be overstated, is that the staff are beyond friendly and welcoming. I don't claim to be a sophisticated world traveller, but I've been around a bit. I have NEVER been treated with the genuine kindness that the staff showed us here. This isn't the kind of phony, ingratiating, tip-milking "kindness" that you get at a swank destination resort; instead you get genuine, caring friendliness. Due to a bug that I must have picked up in the states (symptoms showed as I was on the way), both my wife and I were struggling to recover at different points during our stay. It would have been the ruin of our vacation if it hadn't been for the understanding and help that was provided.

I hope that we can return here someday. In the meantime, we will miss the people we met there and hope that they continue with the success that they are enjoying there. Every person there, from the managers to the cleaning staff, have the right to be proud of what they have created.

Room Tip: Casita 6 was fantastic; had a natural creek off the back deck where you could relax in a hammock. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved sleeping giant lodge. It felt very private, quiet and romantic, and we also had a couple of wonderful adventures.
The grounds are lovely, with lots of flowers that attract butterflies and hummingbirds. The food was fantastic, and the accommodations luxurious. The drinks by Big Baby were great and he was so friendly. Berta is very sweet and welcoming as well, and she is a local gem.
There were two things that could have been improved. First, there are some small black flies that bite and leave bumps that are incredibly itchy. We learned pretty quickly not to leave the room without bug spray. Secondly, it seemed from the website that there are a lot of tours available all the time. In reality, there are really only a couple tours offered per day, since each tour isnt offered every day, and a lot of the tours are weather dependent. It just isn't clear what tours will be offered on any given day, especially for two people. The concierge also wasn't very friendly or that helpful. He also charged us for drinks that should have been included (the bartender had noted them as included), which was annoying and the only personnel we didn't love.
During our stay we hiked up to the gazebo, which is a must. The view and the hike are both lovely. We also enjoyed the black hole drop, which was unforgettable. All in all, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A beautiful lodge situated among well-scrupted garden and cabana. We had a love evening enjoying drinks and appetizers. The environment was tranquil and calm, with excellent service. The decoration is artful but not pretentious. There are a few people having drinks and working on computer, while others talking in low volume. A very nice place to hang out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaZeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I knew it was going to be good based on the positive TA reviews. But when we were shown to our Casita, I saw the look on my DH's face and knew I "did good." The room was a spacious palapa with a terracotta tile floor, a king-sized, bed, a large bathroom, AC, a dresser and closet, a safe, a table and chairs. The deck was huge, with a table, chairs, a bench, a lovely view, and was surrounded by fruit trees and flowers. The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job the whole time we were there.

We did the all-inclusive adventure package, which was nice because it dispensed with the stress of paying for beer, rum punch, meals, and trips while we were relaxing. The birdwatching was good (go on one of the organized tours - we saw parrots, toucans, trogons, falcons, tanagers, hummingbirds, and all kinds of colorful birds), the new pool is a work of art, and the food is good. The main lodge is very attractive and inviting. The Sibun Valley and River are absolutely lovely. If you ever wanted to take a dip in a clear tropical river, this is a great chance to do it.

Sleeping Giant is not really near anything. Some folks staying there wanted to watch an NFL playoff game, and had to hire a driver to take them 30 minutes into Belmopan to find a place to watch it. If you need anything, bring it with you or stop at the grocery store just outside the airport, because it will be a huge pain to get it once you get out there. But it's so nice, you don't feel isolated, and unless your team has earned a rare playoff berth, you won't miss the TV. Maybe not even then.

I would definitely return to Sleeping Giant. Like, right now.

Room Tip: The casitas are really nice; the rooms are in the main building so mostly closer to food, bar, and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked our stay through Living Social with 3 nights at Sleeping Giant and 3 at Almond Beach. Sleeping Giant is about 1 1/2 hrs from airport but a beautiful drive. The resort is beautiful! Pool is incredible with beautiful mountain views. The room was gorgeous with fabulous bathroom. The resort only has 9 rooms to very quaint and intimate. The gem of the resort is the fabulous staff. They were so willing to do anything they could to make your trip unforgettable. No need to prebook excursions. They will take care of all of it for you. You just need to decide what you want to do by 6 pm the night before. They come and pick you up for all excursions from Caves Branch a resort nearby. We did the 7 mile cave tubing and it was unbelieavable! I would go to Belize just to do that float! Awesome!!! We also did the Tikal Mayan Ruins in Guatemala. It was good, but just too far away 3 hrs. both ways and too much walking for me, but I have some physical limitations, so if you are in good shape probably not a problem for you. Even though a long trip they made it fun by stopping for breakfast in a village and then lunch on the way home. There are lots of adventurous activities to do while at the resort. The food was good. Tips: There is no place to eat anywhere nearby so you kind of need to do the food plan. Bring bug spray. Not any big problems, but you are in the jungle. Ask lots of questions if you have any limitations and are going on some of the excursions. They don't just come out and say the drive is 3 hours, or you are going to hike through slippery muddy trails unless you ask details, or you're going to ride on a flat bed trailer standing up with innertubes through mud, cross rivers etc. There is also a cave exploration and float or just a float, so just make sure you know which one you are doing. If you float make sure you have a really good water proof bag that you can operate your camera through the bad, or an underwater camera. You will certainly want to take pictures in the cave. They will rent you hiking boots for $5 and it's a great idea, so you don't have wet muddy shoes to take home. There is not tv and limited wifi, so bring a book. This place is a great low key authentic place, so if you a touristy, city, activity, shopping kind of person, this is not the place for you. If you love quiet, beautiful nature and love getting to know the natives you will love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMall0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was our honeymoon and Sleeping Giant COMPLETELY made it for us -- we felt so spoiled and well taken-care of, from the towels made into animals when our room was cleaned, to the dinner they brought to our room as room service. Just in awe of the level of customer service. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a personalized experience in Belize. The room was great, the bed was SO comfortable and the food was super delicious. What more could you ask for? They didn't have a pool yet when we were there but construction was underway so hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Definitely get a casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eileendombro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
21.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
19.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
16.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Giant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Giant Lodge

Property: Sleeping Giant Lodge
Address: Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleeping Giant Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge is a full service, Jungle lodge located in the foothills of the Sibun National Forest Reserve and surrounding by over a hundred thousand acres of untouched wilderness. The lodge offers a range of accommodations, amenities, adventures and all inclusive packages. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge - A Grand Jungle Expedition! About Sleeping Giant Lodge: -Official Base Camp for NatGeo Expeditions in Belize -Six "6" Time Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2015 for Belize & Central America -Spa Services -Complimentary Kayaks & Bicycles -Heated pool w/ Hot Tub -Gazebo Lookout Area -Sibun River- cleanest river in Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleeping Giant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Giant Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing