We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun If You Live Through It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Banana Bank is out there, way out there. To get there, you ride in a leaky rowboat that your "driver" pulls along across the River via a rope strung overhead. We're adventurous, so this was fine with us. We rented a cabana and got back from dinner, flipped on the lights, and had millions of what looked like cockroaches scurry away. But, folks, this is the jungle, bugs are there, so we left the lights on to scare away the roaches and we used the netting around the bed to keep out mosquitos, and we slept well. We stayed in a five star hotel in Nairobi once which was sprayed daily with horrible pesticides that made us sick, so we'd rather have banana bank's approach to live and let live (I guess). A cowboy, at dinner, served us delicious fried chicken and mashed potatoes. He said he was the owner and from our home State of Montana. He sang us the State song, and said we were the first visitors ever from his old home State. It was lots of fun. The place is funky bohemian and we loved it, bugs and all.

Room Tip: If you don't like bugs, don't sleep in the cabanas but in the main lodge. Our traveling com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Really needs a revamp. Everything is very dated. Could do with some money spent on it. Ok it's cheap but next time I am in the area I would pay a bit more and stay elsewhere. Really no excuse for broken fly screens and dirty table cloths.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank jonesfamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I had a terrific experience at this lodge while vacationing in Belize. The staff (Sonia, Chris, Ceasar, Vincencia and especially Lisa) were very attentive to all of our needs. They provided a "home away from home" atmosphere that was unbelievable! They greeted us each morning and made sure that we had our adventures well planned for the day. If you are looking for a true jungle experience then you "Must" stay at the Banana Bank Lodge! We will definitley visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Let me start by saying I'm shocked by some of the negative reviews. You need to understand you are going to a jungle. There will be noisy wildlife, there will be bugs, there will be humidity. The lodge rating shouldn't be docked for those things! yes, there were some things that needed repair (ie:paint) but the climate in Belize isn't fantastic for upkeep of those type things. And the only places I saw repair needs were all exterior, not in the rooms.

We stayed very comfortably in a cabana with four beds. The decor isn't that of an expensive North American resort but it reflects the culture of Belize. It was homey and comfortable. There was a lack of lighting, but it was easily solved with a lantern. The cabana did not have glass windows, just screens so we fell asleep to te cool breeze and sound of rain every night.

They have free wifi on almost the entire premises, a beautiful pool, and amazing home cooked food served by very friendly and accommodating staff.

There are beautiful animals in site and you are in walking distance of a river.

I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msamyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had.
No one there to greet you. No signs to tell you where to go. The people treated you like they didn't care if you were there or not and were causing them trouble by showing up. No one offered us any information on horse back riding which we had planned to do. The room was a pink nightmare the bedspread was from 1980. One large king bed and a kiddie bed when I had asked for two queens.

No help with the luggage which we had to hall up two flights of stairs. The stairs were tile and very slick in the rain. I had trouble everytime we left or returned to the room. The banister was covered with growth and I wasn't sure what might jump out at me.

There is lots to choose from in Belize. DON'T GO TO BANANA BANK.

Room Tip: DON'T GO, you will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gailcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the delightful opportunity of staying at Banana Bank Lodge for one week. The unique and artistically-decorated accommodations were clean and comfortable and ranged from jungle cabanas to air-conditioned motel-style rooms. Our family of six used both and everyone was pleased. If we had any issues, the staff addressed them promptly and efficiently when brought to their attention.
The meals were tasty, nutritious and plentiful. Vegetarian meals were available on request. Meals were served in a family setting and provided a great time to visit with the Carr family and fellow travelers.
We enjoyed several amazing horseback rides through tropical vegetation, crystal-clear creeks and cattle country. The informative and helpful guides were excellent horsemen and matched the healthy, well-trained horses with each rider's ability.
The beautiful grounds offered a flowered oasis with a pristine pool and tranquil setting. There was also a variety of tropical animals on the grounds. Some had been rescued after being injured or orphaned in the wild and were now being cared for at the ranch. John, Carolyn, and Leisa Carr were gracious hosts with years of experience living in Belize. They offered a variety of tours and travel advice and made our stay memorable and enjoyable. We have been traveling in Belize for many years and Banana Bank Ranch is the highlight of every trip. Our family can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: My older sons liked the air-conditioned rooms. I preferred the cabana because it felt more like sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My daughter and I spent a week at Banana Bank Lodge in April 2013 with the primary interest being riding together. We are both experienced riders and the choice of horses for us was very well matched. The staff was attentive, very friendly and the "family" atmosphere was truly welcoming. It is a delightful combination of an 'away from it all in the jungle' experience with comfortable rooms, good food, great pool and lovely grounds. No TV, but WiFi in some areas is enough to give a teenager a technology fix when needed. Even for those who don't ride there are many other local tours and activities that they will help you enjoy. The people in Belize are all very friendly, though certainly a much less developed area (delightfully so I thought) than many travelers might be looking for.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC--ask if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
633 reviews
24.3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
824 reviews
21.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
10.9 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 13 in Belmopan
75 reviews
21.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Address: Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rain-forest setting along-side the peaceful Belize River sits a jungle paradise. A place where horses roam, parrots, toucans, and macaws greet you with a tropical "Hello". You willbe in awe at the beauty and grace of our jaguar Tikatoo and other animals will delight your stay. Here you'll find adventure, great food, congenial hosts, exotic artwork and memories to last a lifetime. American and local cuisine dining, designer 65,000 gallon pool, 16" computerized telescope, Cafe Carolina, John Carr's Historical Collection, Carolyn Carr Art Gallery, birding experts, tour guides, cowboys and our helpful, friendly staff all ensure your stay at Banana Bank will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bank Lodge And Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank Lodge & Horseback Adventure Hotel Belmopan
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing