We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
92
41
16
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
41
16
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolyn carrhorseback ridetikafamily styleart galleryhorse whisperingbelize riverother guestsbeautiful poolhorses roamingbird aviarydelicious home styleac roomrescued birdsauthentic belizeancooked mealsmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience with a whole day horse back riding. We loved that when the 95 horses were not working they were free to roam about a thousand acres. The downside was the horses had many ticks and we had lots of bites. The entire staff showed excellent customer service and the ranch location was beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Family4BucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay at the ranch was incredible. We stayed in a cabana with a patio in front looking over a lawn with horses and brand new foals grazing. Right in front of us. Past the lawn was the river in full view. In the afternoon., we would watch the cowboys come back from swimming the horses in the river. Then there were the two viewable aviaries with beautiful parrots of very color and peacocks and Central American birds I had never seen. The sounds were incredible all over the ranch. Tika, who is a young jaguar is in a lovely enclosure and we would stop and enjoy her incredible beauty Then we were surprised to meet Rufus, a spider monkey, who sat in my lap

We went to ride in the jungle and ride we did. Incredible trails for hours at a time.
our guide who would stop and explain to us the natural jungle remedies. We saw and heard the howler monkeys. Just incredulous noise these little monkeys make.

The most special aspect of the trip was the owners and their daughter Lisa. What an incredible family. People that braved the wilderness in this third world country and are about the most special people I have ever met. If you need to remember what life is really about, spend some time talking to them. And they treat everyone like their personal house guests.

Rough? This is a ranch in the mountains in Belize. Overpriced? A bit, but it is expensive to have such a wonderful ranch with over 100 head of horses, a lovely pool and all the staff.

While I travel to see a beautiful place I think the The Carrs will give me incredible memories and life insights for years to come.

These people will do about anything to make you happy. They really do care.

You will never get an experience like this at Sheraton or Marriott. I promise.

This is the real deal!

Room Tip: Check all the available rooms. They let us move.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well it looks like other people enjoyed their stay but our family of four stayed in one of the cabanas and the tub was rusty, knobs were falling off, a window had been torn out of the wall of the dining room and left leaning against the wall with a pile of rubble. Tablecloth was filthy. This was the most expensive and worst place we stayed in Belize. Breakfast was okay and maybe if you have a room in the main building it would be alright as well.

Room Tip: stay in main lodge, or better yet, not at all.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank virginia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I spent a week @ Banana Bank and loved it!.The food was awesome-healthy,fresh and sooo good.I relaxed at the pool,went on a horseback ride that was thrilling and beautiful,heard the howler monkeys and thoroughly enjoyed the many people I met and the staff. Have stayed previously on one of the Cayes in Belize and Banana Bank gave me a new experience in this beautiful country. The owners graciously spent time and meals with their guests,sharing their stories and information about Belize.Staff was extremely accommodating to needs of their guests and it is located close to many other activities,e.g.ziplining,cave exploration,Mayan ruins.Located right by the river,the grounds are lovely,the beautiful birds,the spider monkey,and of course Tika the jaguar made this a place I will definitely recommend to others and return to.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and have several beds for families or large groups
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgw1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Banana Bank is a very unique vacation destination. The location is unusual and simply beautiful. It is one of a kind and I highly recommend it. The food is served family style three times a day. It has a local flavor and is always good and always plentiful. Our room was very pleasant with a kitchenette and daily maid service. A stroll through the grounds is an experience in itself. With all the birds, monkeys, and Tiki huts it truly is a jungle experience. The owners were gracious and accommodating in every way. It is a place you will never forget, and will always want to return to.

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are available. All rooms are unique and different.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews