We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pook's Hill Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Jungle Lodge(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blancaneaux Lodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
248
31
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
31
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatm cavehummingbird feedersadventure lifeother guestsmayan ruinshonor systemthe riverbird watchingbefore dinnerspectacled owlhumming birdspook son stiltshot waterfamily styleceiling fanhead start
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 3 days at Pooks Hill. Staff were very helpful arranging tours, etc. Food and accomodations were excellent. Beautiful setting amid a Mayan site. ATM cave was amazing. Aside from the last few miles with a bumpy ride - our visit was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

In order to get in or out of Pook's Hill one must survive a 30-45 minute ride on a horrible, rutted dirt road. If you have back or spine problems, this ride will kill you - and you can't avoid it.

We enjoyed the birdwalk cabana. It's set further away from all the other cabanas except one, which is right next door. Not sure why they isolated these cabanas then built them so close you can hear your neighbors talking. Cabanas are nice - but thatched roofs allow geckos, huge spiders, cockroaches, and mosquitos in. If you don't like bugs, you won't like any of the cabanas.

Showers are only hot in the afternoon and early evening, and the shower is located in the middle of the bathroom, so your bathroom floor stays wet forever after. Not pleasant if you get up in the middle of the night.

Dinner at the main lodge is buffet style, with only one meat option but plenty of rice & beans, vegetables, and an iceberg lettuce salad. A different dessert was served each night, and they were surprisingly good - a surprise because we didn't expect desserts in Belize, and good considering the limited options for making desserts in the middle of the jungle.

Dinner was supposed to start at 7 pm, but NEVER did. It was always 10-20 minutes late.

The bar was open all day, make yourself, and on the honor system. The beer cooler kept the Belikin beers icy cold. Perfect after returning from a jungle adventure tour.

Breakfast was eggs to order plus a "breakfast meat of the day." They also offered granola and one tiny cup of fruit. I thought Belize was going to have lots of fruit, but you'd never know it from the offerings here. The coffee was plentiful and good.

We only had lunch on site one day, and it consisted of leftovers from the prior night's buffet. And that was great because we liked the prior night's buffet. However, had it been from a night we didn't like (beef for example), I'm not sure what they would have done.

As I read back on what I've written, I realize it sounds a bit negative. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pook's Hill. It truly immersed us in an isolated rainforest jungle where we enjoyed great bird watching, screeching Howler monkeys (all night long), lots of bug bites to remember the place, and great access to the ATM Cave - which was why we chose this place.

The staff and new management (not owner, but managers) were friendly and anxious to please. The cabanas were clean and attractive. The food sufficient. We're really glad we came here, but wouldn't do another "jungle" visit. But we definitely felt like we got a true jungle experience here vs staying closer to Belmopan (such as Sleeping Giant Lodge which was much more luxurious but was like staying in a suburban jungle location).

Room Tip: Two Birdwalk cabanas are more isolated but require stairs to get there and back. The other 9 cabanas are set close together in a more accessible location, and if you're concerned about mobility ask about the two cabanas closest to the office which don't require stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luv2TravelFarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for one night in early December to get a head-start on our trip to the ATM cave the following morning. The lodge is definitely located off-the-beaten path, but well worth the trek. Aside from the fairly bumpy ride, our trip there was fine. However, I would recommend fellow travellers invest in a 4x4 to get there if you're driving, especially during inclement weather. The Lodge is located in a beautiful setting, with the bonus feature of having a small Mayan ruin on-site. The food (dinner and lunch) was good; the staff friendly and knowledgeable. We were the second group to the ATM cave the next morning due to the proximity of the Lodge and, on the basis of access alone, our stay at Pook's Hill was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at Pooks Hill about a week ago. We had a wonderful time and grew to really appreciate our stay there. We booked our trip through Adventure life and ended up in one of the basic huts which was small and quaint. We really enjoyed the warmth of the personnel there and were lucky enough to overlap with the previous property managers who were back for a visit. Their wealth of knowledge about the property and the area was impressive. The newer property managers are getting up to speed and I'm sure they'll come into their own with time.

The interaction with the area wildlife was amazing. Waking up to the sound of the howler monkeys at night was such a trip. The lodge's guides would casually point out so many different types of birds, spiders, etc throughout the day that it was eye-opening.

If you want to do the ATM cave trip, there is absolutely no better place to stay. The lodge is so close to the cave that you get in first and get a truly untainted view of it. The rest of the tour groups that followed were crowded together and it made the whole experience far less unique for them. Note that this tour, as with some others, are weather dependent so expect a certain degree of variability that's completely out of your control.

The lodge is a great place to collect after the day's activities to have a couple drinks and share experiences. The communal meals are also very enjoyable and opened us up to a level of interaction with other travelers that we weren't accustomed to. It turned out to be very nice tho as we became a small family of sorts even though we were just travelers whose paths intersected very briefly.

We also really appreciated the eco-sustainable approach the lodge took to their operations. Overall, we would definitely head back to Pooks if we found ourselves back in the Belizean jungle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank El_Chief72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed over Christmas and it was wonderful. The cabanas are roomy and comfortable, the lodge itself is open air surrounded by hummingbird feeders so there is always nature on hand. Our cabana overlooked the plaza and we were visited by a toucanets, toucans and many other birds almost daily. The staff are most accommodating and go out of their way to ensure you have the opportunity to see what you want in the area.

This was our third trip to Pook's in the last 10 years. Each time I fall in love with it all over again. We stayed 5 days this time and that allowed us to visit other sites as well as enjoy the grounds. The hiking trails are well marked and maintained. Tubing in the river is another pastime and of course, bird watching. We heard the howlers in the distance most nights as well.
Pros. Excellent staff, comfortable beds, Eco lodging, good food, lots of opportunity to mingle with other guests and share stories from your day, 5 pm cocktail hour with home made tortilla chips and salsas, Vicki, Ozzie, Nike, and Noay, hammocks, hummingbirds and fruit bats.
Cons. The bed pillows are a bit hard.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews