We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Lodge in the jungle”
Review of Pook's Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pook's Hill Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed three nights here as part of a tour arranged by Audley Travel. We were transferred by their local agents, Via Ventures and the driver knew the road well so we were not bumped around too much on the approach road.
We were warmly welcomed by Hugo and Mayra, and Ray and were soon shown to our cabana overlooking the Mayan site in the centre of the site. At first we were the only guests then a group arrived to fill all the rooms. Hugo, Mayra and all the staff coped so efficiently and produced really good and varied food, and still found time for a friendly chat. The bar area above the dining area was a focal point to sit in the shade during the day watching the birds in the trees alongside, or to chat in the evenings over a drink.
Izzy found us many more birds as we walked the good forest trails to the river. We also enjoyed the small orchid garden. A torch was essential at night, as with many of the other lodges in remote locations, but the darkness meant that we had fantastic views of the stars, unlike the light-polluted skies at home!
The rooms were simply but attactively furnished and very comfortable. We kept the room door shut and had no problems from unwelcome little visitors. There was always plenty of hot water even when all the cabanas were occupied.
One day we were collected for a trip to the Mayan site at Caracol, another dirt road but an amazing place to visit.
We would recommend Pooks Hill Lodgefor anyone liking a quiet break enjoying wildlife, good food and pleasant, comfortable accommodation in this part of Belize.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousebirdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pook's Hill is a hidden gem in the heart of the jungle. Off the grid and way off the last paved road, Ray, Myra and Hugo will make sure your stay is comfortable, you see as many birds and other wildlife as you want, you see the region's natural and historic attractions, and you eat and sleep well. I long for another night under the thatched roof of our cabana, woken by the sounds of the jungle. A rare treat and a true adventure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 4shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in Mar 2014. Don't let the reviews regarding the road deter you ... its really not that bad. The huts are really cute and the instructions are perfect- no hair dryers, charge electronics only between 5 and 9 when the generator is running etc.

Hugo and Mayra do an excellent job managing/ hosting/ arranging tours etc. We really enjoyed our time with Isadora as well, what a wonderfully kind, gentle man.

The food at Pooks is AMAZING. Very simple, but the local on site cooks do an excellent job. We looked forward to dinner every night, and the cost was reasonable given how far into the jubgle you are and the fact that my 3 teenagers cleaned them out every night.

Make sure that you do the free stuff at the lodge- the two trail systems are great, and my teens spent alot of time tubing in the river. The local ATM cave is a must do in this area as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luk4mud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I just got back from Belize, and we stayed at Pook's Hill for 4 nights. We loved it! Though the ride in was bumpy, and the beds were hard, we loved everything else about our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone. It was so neat to be able to stay right in the jungle in a little thatched roof cabana and hear the jungle noises all around you. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The guides (Izzy especially) were great and knowledgeable. We loved how you eat dinner with the other guests so you get a chance to talk to everyone, and it was very cozy. The food was delicious and had lots of vegetarian options for me.

We've never stayed anywhere quite like this, and I'm so glad we got to experience it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Pook's Hill and enjoyed every minute of it. Every aspect of our visit was superb. The naturalist ( a Mayan man named Izzy) was incredible and assisted us in identifying nearly 50 species of birds as well as sharing Mayan stories and culture with us. Accommodations were first rate. We had one of the bird cabanas across the bridge and were glad we choose that spot. Each evening we would spend an hour or more bird watching before dinner. Food was excellent with 5-6 dishes served family style each dinner. We particularly enjoyed the new friends we made during the mealtime. We hiked most of the trails around the site and even found jaguar tracks in the mud. The butterflies along the river were spectacular. If you take the ATM cave tour (which you definitely should do) make reservations for first thing in the morning to avoid the bigger groups. Being natives of the cold north, we just reveled in the diversity of life in this ecosystem. We were moved by the passion of the hosts and tour guides
for conservation of this area. It was infectious. We highly recommend Pook's Hill Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We just got back from Belize (March 4, 2014) and had a wonderful vacation. Pooks Hill Lodge is a great property! It is a very beautiful, peaceful, well managed, and eco-friendly lodge. The staff are all friendly, knowledgeable, and go out of their way to create an enjoyable visit. There are Mayan ruins right outside the door to our Palapa. Amazing! The quality of the tours that are available are top notch. If you are looking for an adventure, be sure to go on the ATM cave tour...a once in a lifetime experience. The meals are very good, served family style, and you won't go hungry. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was on a tour and was placed in Cabana 9, which was at the top of the hill, furthest away from the lodge. There was not a completed path up the hill to the cabana, so I had to walk very carefully at night in order to find my way up the hill. When we stayed there the food was great and the cabanas cool off very nicely in the evenings, but the lack of typical U.S. door security (i.e., a deadbolt and chain or bolt-down locks) made me feel uneasy. Perhaps we were supposed to assume that there never any forced entries there, but I would have preferred more security.
And I have to echo the comments of another reviewer - I have longstanding lumbar back issues, and the trip over an EXTREMELY rutted dirt road for six miles in order to get to Pook's Hill was very anxiety-producing - I'm happy to report that remaining discs seemed to have survived it!

Room Tip: Try for one closer to the bottom of the hill, that is, closer to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
12.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
651 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
14.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
405 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
287 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pook's Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pook's Hill Lodge

Address: PO Box 14, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range: £144 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pook’s Hill is a small eco-lodge situated within the primary rainforest of Western Belize. It borders a 7000 acre reserve and the Roaring River, and is only 4 miles from the ATM cave. Eleven thatch cabanas surround an ancient Maya site and look out over the jungle canopy. Each has a private bathroom with hot water and 24 hour electricity. Pook’s Tours offers a full range of day tours to attractions in Western Belize as well as transportation services to or from any destination in Belize and Tikal in Guatemala (it is a two hour drive from Belize City). Pook’s Hill provides visitors with truly unique jungle experiences in a breathtaking natural setting and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the treasures of Western Belize. All management and operations at Pook’s Hill are carried out according to sustainable business practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pook's Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pook`s Hill Hotel Belmopan
Pooks Hill Hotel
Pooks Hill Cayo
Pook's Hill Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing