We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunch place”

Caladium Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“good lunch place”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Caladium is a busy, central restaurant serving a large menu of local food. Service is professional and efficient. We went back several times and it was consistently good. Not amazing, but reliable. The fried chicken is popular, with good reason, and the stew chicken is pretty good too. You could do far worse in Belmopan (for instance, avoid Bull Frog).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good local Belizean food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I and our friends ate one dinner here while staying in Belize for the first time. We all had rice and beans with various meats and we loved it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank becca100173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food but super slow at lunchtime”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived at noon, placed our order shortly and waited for ... 45 minutes. It's a busy place at lunch time, I guess. The food was tasty (rice with stewed beans with local special chicken stew) but the wait time spoiled the whole experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenaliSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Good food in Central Belmopan”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Caladium has good food at decent prices. I had the conch soup one day, and although the conch itself was not my favourite, the soup itself was really good. We also had the Belizean classic of rice and beans and baked chicken, which is good pretty much anywhere you go. One disappointing meal was my boyfriends order of fried fish, which was really very small. The papaya shakes are awesome.

The restaurant is clean, and the servers are helpful and prompt. My boyfriend and I came here twice on our brief visit to Belmopan. It was the most accessible restaurant for us to go to, as it was in walking distance of our hotel and the bus station (although most things are in walking distance).

It's pretty cheap to eat here, but our favourite places to eat in Belmopan were the street food stalls at the city market. Delicious and really, really inexpensive.

Good papaya shakes, skip the fries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean restaurant with good, cheap food”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Belmopan. The first time we went in between lunch and dinner service. The food was tasty, but not very warm. Service was prompt and friendly and the price could not be beat. A couple days later we ordered delivery to our nearby hotel (see the Inn at Twin Palms!) and it arrived quickly and tasted great. The stew chicken with coconut rice and beans was our favorite dish!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mashaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caladium Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caladium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing