We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Belize Jungle Dome

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belize Jungle Dome
Ranked #2 of 17 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Two friends and I stayed here for a night. We ended up the only guests for the night. David and the staff were really amazing, friendly, and attentive. It was really remote and beautiful. You can hear the howler monkeys in the evening - your reminder that you really are out in the jungle! The rooms are large and clean, and the pool is really refreshing. The food is great - the fry jacks at breakfast are really incredible!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Allen, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I can't express how absolutely AMAZING my stay at the Jungle Dome was! The hospitality and atmosphere is so wonderful. Andy and Simone do everything they can to ensure that each and every guest has an amazing time.
I spent 3 days visiting Maya Ruins and came back to a wonderful group of people to hang out with at the Jungle Dome each evening. And the food was so fresh and yummy! :)
It was definitely a trip that I won't forget! :)
Thanks so much for everything!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsygrl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived in the evening and greeted by the owners, Andy and Simone, that were clearly ready to treat us right. They had their staff make us dinner, traditional stewed chicken with rice and beans, veg, dessert and we were hooked!!! Wonderful outdoor seating for all meals poolside. beautiful surroundings, clean outdoor pool, the food was fabulous to say the least.

The owners left on their own vacation the next day and left us in the care of the property manager David who was available for any and all of our needs. He was so interesting and friendly we asked him to join us for all our meals. Breakfast was so good we asked to repeat the same thing the next morning (best fry jacks in belize, good coffee, refried beans, eggs, several varieties of fresh fruit, fresh squeezed OJ, jellies and jams etc..everything home made fresh.). The cooks are awesome. Clean rooms and cool artifacts in rooms, lots of tile work, big fluffy shower towels, comfortable beds, nice and quiet until the howler monkeys started chattering!!

David would deliver our drinks to us wherever we were on the property. Can't say enough about the overall experience my family had there. Wish we would have stayed longer!! Would definitely return if in the area.

Room Tip: I think there are about 6 rooms total, any of them would be fine and all facing the pool and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

When planning our trip to Belize we did a lot of research on different accommodation options and read many reviews of the different lodges. The website for the jungle dome does not do it justice so do not overlook this as a place to experience. The reviews for the jungle dome were not an exaggeration and it was a perfect location to explore some inland activities. We were a group of three couples and rented three of the different suites which worked very well for a group. The accommodations are very comfortable and the view from the back veranda overlooking the river was lush with beautiful trees and vegetation that makes you truly feel like you have arrived in the jungle (especially with the resident howler monkeys). We had rented our own vehicle to get around and it was easy to find the lodge. The roads are typical for the area so you can expect to be dodging some potholes. Having said this the lodge does offer to arrange pick ups and also offers many excursions. As we had our own vehicle this was not necessary but we met the guide David who was very knowledgeable about the area. The real key to the success of this lodge is the amazing hospitality by the lodge owners Andy and Simone who welcome you to lodge as if you are welcomed into their home. The staff at the lodge are great as well and made us feel at home. As this is a smaller lodge there is no restaurant on site, instead there are prefixed menus (breakfast, lunch and dinner available) and they accommodate any food allergies. The food was delicious, some of the best we had on the trip, and servings were very generous. We only stayed for three nights as part of our trip but it would have been nice to stay longer. Would highly recommend a stay here as part of the travel experience in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon to Belize. What an incredible experience! First of all, the Belize Jungle Dome is run by the most incredible family and Belizean staff. So personable and willing to take care of anything we needed. We opted for the Surf and Turf package so Andy set up our excursions for the mainland, flight to San Pedro and stay at the Belizean Shores Resort. As we were planning a wedding, it was so nice to know our honeymoon was taken care of! When we arrived, it was the tail end of rainy season and unfortunately rained...a lot. When some of our plans needed to be changed, Andy and Simone made some suggestions and to be honest, they were so of our favorite excursions! We went to the zoo, horsebacking riding, Tikal, Cahal Pech and the Black Hole Drop. The accommodations were clean and comfortable and the food was incredible! I can't wait for the cookbook to be released so I can try and recreate some of the empanadas and chicken rice and beans. You can tell that all of the food was prepared from scratch, especially at breakfast when we know the eggs came from the back yard! I can't say enough how exciting, relaxing and eye opening our stay at the jungle dome was. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I brought 9 students and one other teacher out to Belize for an educational experience of a lifetime. Having been to Belize 3 times previously I knew this country would be the perfect destination for our students studying wildlife, animal management, conservation and environmental studies. Students were aged between 17 and 27 and a mixture of boys and girls. Our college runs an annual trip out to South Africa for our students but I was keen to offer a contrasting experience with completely different ecosystems to explore.

Andy and Simone took complete care of us and removed all stress usually associated with shipping students around abroad. Accommodation was fantastic and we very comfortably fit 3 students to a room. Food was great and our vegetarian was left very satisfied every day!

The Jungle Dome itself is a very special place- truly beautiful surroundings with all the amenities you could need. Everyone will miss waking up to the sounds of the jungle.

We spent the first 7 days in the Jungle Dome and had activities planned for each day. Unfortunately due to extremely heavy rain and flooding some of our activities were cancelled. This did not dampen our spirits as Andy and Simone went out of their way to rearrange relevant alternative activities for us. Brilliant!
Our guide, David was amazing and with us every day. He has so much knowledge and the students all felt very comfortable around him and were constantly asking questions. He also very kindly took us out on night walks despite the very deep mud- a real adventure for all!
We had booked a package which had 4 days on Ambergris Caye following on from our time at the Jungle Dome. Every last detail was taken care of and the whole experience was very well organised as well as being quite flexible. The accommodation Andy had sorted for us was amazing and very spacious.
Things we recommend include the Zoo, Baboon Community Project, Horse Back safari, Iguana sanctuary, hiking up to the blue hole, night walks, "a day at the Fosters", snorkelling on the island, Cahal Pech.....everything was fab!

Everybody absolutely loved their trip to Belize and we have Andy and Simone to thank for that. We WILL be back!

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The students all learned so much and had the time of their lives.

Room Tip: Love the upstairs rooms for views from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkadelphia, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place has such a special place in my heart. The place itself is enough of a vacation but there is so many activities you have the ability to join in on, you have to make a trip back to do them all. We explored a cave, rode horses through the jungle, went on a guided night walk in the jungle, and met so many sweet people that work there. The experience is a one of a kind experience.

Room Tip: We had a large group, each room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
601 reviews
22.5 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
270 reviews
12.1 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
10.5 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Jungle Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Jungle Dome

Property: Belize Jungle Dome
Address: Mile 47, Western Highway | Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Jungle Lodge in the heart of Belize with Tree-Top Cafe and Swimming Pool. Set in Jungle surroundings offering Day Trips including Horseback Riding, Mayan Temples Tours, Caving, Cave Tubing, River Trips, Kayaking, Swimming with Sharks, Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Manatee Watching. Family Adventure Vacations and highly recommended All Inclusive Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belize Jungle Dome Hotel Belmopan
Belize Jungle Dome Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing