We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our family has traveled throughout the world and Cave's Branch has been our favorite resort yet! We enjoy nature and the treehouses were like camping on steroids! Our accommodations were plush and the customer service was better than Disney! The adventures were beautiful and the guides took care of our every need. From the moment that Carmen greeted us and check in and escorted us to our treehouse (where some poor soul had already delivered all of our bags) to the wonderful meals announced by Anthony and served by Pedro and Daniel until the moment Ignacio shuttles us to our beach destination, it was perfect. Only thing we would have changed is staying longer. We can't wait to return again!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mrs_SBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We went with our two girls (11 & 8) in March for four nights in one of the jungle treehouses. In short, everything was excellent.
Food - Overall very good. The breakfasts were top notch incl. fresh squeezed OJ. The dinners were very good for buffet style- a whole ton of food, incl. a kids entree every night and a pasta dish. Did not have lunch there - always on expeditions.
Room - Wow. Our treehouse overlooked the river. The outdoor shower was awesome, no problems with bugs. Plenty of hot water, housekeeping was excellent as well. My only complaint was that as they are now 5ish years old there were some missing/cracked tiles that need replacing in the outdoor shower. As an FYI, there is one outlet in the room (in addition to the fans/lights) - also no a/c of course as it is entirely screened in!
Expeditions - Always felt safe and appreciated the air conditioned vans! We did the local Mayan ruins (my favorite), horseback riding and zoo/zip lining. The guides were uniformly excellent.

Generally, you get up in the morning, go on your expedition du jour which returns you in the late afternoon. Then you can hang out in the excellent pool or tour the fantastic botanical gardens. Then dinner and bedtime. Two of our highlights were having breakfast with the owners one morning and seeing an anteater in the trees in front of our treehouse. Overall, cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawolf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently spent a week at Cave's Branch Jungle Lodge and it was absolutely incredible. The location is breathtakingly beautiful. The grounds are so well cared for and there are orchids hanging everywhere. We went on the botanical tour, bird watching with Abel, and we visited the cheese house and tried the amazing cheeses that are made at the lodge. The food was well prepared and plentiful. Chef Jay did an outstanding job making sure that we were all pleased with what he had prepared and asking if any of us had any special requests. Anthony always made the nightly meal an experience to remember with his detailed delivery as to what would be served. We went horse back riding, cave tubing, zip lining, into Tikal to see the ruins, there were so many things to do you never had to be worried about being bored. For those that like to relax we also spent a day at the lodge having a massage and swimming in the pool while the monkeys jumped from the trees overhead. Cave's Branch is the total package and one of the absolute best places you could ever go if you wanted to experience superior customer service. I can honestly say we have never been treated better anywhere in the world. Thank you so much to everyone at the Lodge for making our stay a trip to remember.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tree houses and I highly recommend that you be in good physical condition if you ar...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our family of 5 (with 3 girls aged 18 - 22) started our Belize vacation with a few days at Caves Branch. We were able to get there on our own in a rental car at night so that was a good start. Everything about it was outstanding. We could easily have a spent a few more days there. The selection of activities was good and each of our days was wonderful. Evenings were also fun with good food and the opportunity to meet other guests. Everyone was in a great mood. And surprisingly, everyone really loved having no Wi-Fi! A great time to start talking again. We enjoyed talking with the owner, Ian about what he is trying to accomplish in how the business is run. The staff are excellent, reflecting the values of lodge.

Definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotuslandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Caves Branch followed by 4 nights at Almond Beach (almond beach was meh... Better resorts nearby in Hopkins). But Caves Branch was the most incredible place! Exceeded all my expectations. The food was plentiful and delicious. Everything was impeccably clean. No insects to be seen in our treehouse. Our treehouse.... Wow, just wow. Beautifully furnished and decorated. Not to mention quite large. The outdoor jungle shower! HOT water and plenty of it! I literally steamed up the jungle! My only minor complaint was the bed was pretty darn firm, but that's also a personal preference. Everything literally looks just like the pictures. I am still so impressed with the whole place. I miss it there, which seems odd but it's true! Homemade tortillas with every meal, homemade cheese! The handmade soaps were divine! We purchased several bars to take home. The staff were so personable and friendly! Always ready to make me another rum punch and my husband another rum and lime juice, with no more than a glance and a nod. They thought it all through. It's a jungle wonderland here, simply amazing! Now that I'm done gushing, the adventures (which your whole stay revolves around) were perfect. We did the local Mayan ruins and the waterfall cave tour (for the agile and adventurous). They made sure we stayed hydrated, well fed, and safe. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently visited Caves Branch Jungle Lodge....the experience was awesome!!!!
It was only a day trip but the glimpse of what I saw....I will definitely go for a weekend over night stay.
The grounds is literally a nature lovers dream...the Botanical Gardens boast over 80 different types of orchids, hibiscus, cactus, lilies, herbs and all different type of shrubs......the pool is inviting and quite beautiful with a little waterfall,.... and the river in the back of the property idles by and goes into underground caves (cave tubing and zip-lining also available)......I was told that they make their own soap and cheese on the property, as well -- awesome.
The tree house rooms of the Lodge are breath-taking -- the tree top panoramic view of the Belizean jungle, river and a part of the highway is visible.....could only imagine waking up to the sounds of nature.
And lastly, the restaurant offers authentic, delicious Belizean food as well as other dishes.....the drinks are good too.
....and if you want more adventure -- just across the highway is the Blue Hole National Park (a natural sink hole)....or just a little ways up the highway you could see the Sleeping Giant (Hills) or visit St. Herman's Cave.
Perfect ---location, location, location.

Room Tip: ...I suggest the tree top rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were in love with Caves Branch. The location needs to be seen to be believed. You are always aware that you're in the heart of the rainforest, whether you are swimming in the pools or relaxing in your treehouse or showering in the outdoor shower. The rainforest and its beauty are part of your day.

We went as an extended family with four kids and six adults, with ages ranging from 9 to almost 70. The River Cave Expedition was perfect for all of us - fun, challenging, and informative. We tubed into the cave, climbed in parts of the cave, saw bats and scorpion spiders, ooohed and aaahed over stalagmites and stalactites, and learned about how the Mayans used the caves for rituals. It really offered something for everyone. Our guide, Abel, was fabulous. We also went the Mayan ruins at Xunantunich and Cahal Pech, again we had the pleasure of a phenomenal guide, Carlos.

We stayed in the treehouses, all of which, were amazing with screened walls so that you go to sleep listening to the sounds of the forest and wake up to them, including Howler monkeys some mornings.

The staff are amazingly energetic, informative, and funny - they make the experience stand out. On the feedback sheet, they asked if a staff member stood out as offering exceptional service, we listed every single person we'd encountered. They were all amazing and felt like extended family members.

I could go on and on - they make their own soaps and artisanal cheese, dinner is communal and lots of fun, the food is yummy, ask for a tour of the botanical gardens. There is lots to do and we plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
20.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
275 reviews
21.9 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
245 reviews
17.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range: £111 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing