We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel! IT IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION! A Super DUMP!”
Review of Super Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel! IT IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION! A Super DUMP!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I want to preface my review by saying, I did not actually stay here (my original review was removed because that was not clear). I did show up at this establishment however and was completely dismayed. My girlfriend and I decided to leave within 10 minutes of arrival and find another place to stay, despite having prepaid for the room. The premises were under construction. The property looked abandoned and unsafe so we left. Please see below for my original review:

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere on a dirt road and is under-construction. We pulled up to what looked like an abandoned building in a totally random location along the western highway. There were two dogs barking outside of an unfinished structure with only one car in the parking lot. Until a women beckoned us inside, we thought it was closed. You had to walk through the construction to get inside to the check-in area. When we tried to question about the state of the property, she informed us Belize was a 3rd world country and this is what we should expect. There appeared to be no other people staying there and it felt like a scene from a bad movie. Please avoid this hotel. It is not SUPER, there are no PALMS and its definitely not a RESORT. I was motivated to write my first review for trip advisor, simply to tell you NOT to stay here. We left immediately, despite having prepaid for the room. Belize is a beautiful place with many reasonably priced and nice places to stay. This "resort" is not one of them. Do yourself a favor and avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuperPalmResort, Manager at Super Palm Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
We apologize for not have met your criteria. How ever, thank you very much for mentioning the words “under construction” and for the picture. Since you did not know, Super Palm Resort has an on-going Construction which is very clear looking at the previous pictures and your picture.
Our gravel road is indeed an unpaved, but contains a variety of unlimited coconut trees, different kind of palms and flowers on both sides marking the beginning of 15 acres of flourishing land of all kind of birds, bearing fruits trees, vegetable garden, and a myriad of both small and big different kinds of palm trees. We take pride of our service by providing luxury rooms which have for amenities the following: Spacious rooms, New modern Split Unit Air conditioning, high breeze Ceiling Fan, TV, radio/clock/alarm, iron/iron board, private bath with tub/shower, hot/cold water, FREE access to Internet, and of course very comfortable bed (s) with lots of soft pillow to make sure your night is absolute. Okay!!! FREE Continental Breakfast in a partial jungle but only 5 minutes from the Capital City of Belmopan. In fact by standing up on the second floor of our new building you can actually see the amazing view of our country’s capital; which will be mainly used for two of our upcoming restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    4
    5
    19
See reviews for
15
30
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I had my purse stolen in Belize and had to go to Belmopan to the embassy for a new passport. I found Super Palm online and booked my room. Upon arrival I thought possibly it couldn't be right as the room pics online looked different than the under construction property. However once I got over my spoiled American self I begin to see the venue for what it really was. A safe, clean, affordable lodging where the entire family is eager to host you. Kathy cooked my dinner to order and it was amazing, Bob Personally drove me to the embassy the next morning. They are an exact prescription for the weary or adventurous traveler. THANK YOU!!!! Excited to see the development of your expansion plans.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyKatyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshall nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I booked on Expedia a one nights stay at the "Super Palm Resort" in Belmopan Belize. It was raining hard turning the road to the Super Palm into a creek.The dirt/rock road was a 4x4 drive. The house was dark, the owner said the electric power was off and it had been off for some time but it would be on later!!! The owner showed me a roon by flashlight, you could not tell much about the room except there was NO door for the bathroom. There was no air conditioning, no TV, no food, I don't know if there was water and the road could wash out. The owner should have known that guest pay for creature comforts and should have refunded my money. Expedia would not listen to the fact there was no electric power and refused a refund. I will dispute this with my credit card company..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank santacruaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprreviews, Manager at Super Palm Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We apologize for the rain that day, unfortunately we don't have power over the nature. Our Electric came back on minutes after you gone which we did mentioned it was not something that occur often. But a true statement would be nice, since it was not about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmopan hotels

Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We were treated like royalty. Miss Kathy and Mr Bob were generous and caring to our every need. Miss Kathy is an awesome cook....words cannot describe just how good she is. Mr Bob drove us everywhere we wanted to go and they were always suggesting the best places to see. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. The pool was not available because of the lack of rain but that didn't matter. We were so busy that we wouldn't have had time for it anyway. If you want a personal experience with no frills....this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beadmewhipme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The Super Palm Resort staff does whatever they can to make your stay comfortable. This is a small family run establishment with only 10 rooms.
The rooms are pretty and it is quite and restful. The screened in dining area is lovely.
Kathy and Bob are very knowledgeable about the area and extremely helpful. The food is fresh and delicious and the resort is well situated for many activities that are interesting. There are no televisions or radios in your room, which is a nice escape if you are looking to unplug to some extent. Bring your own music player if you like music. There are plenty of electrical outlets. If you do want to plug back into the larger world, a big plus is free WIFI internet access so bring your laptop if you want to connect.
Be sure to check out the Art Box cafe and store nearby. (Careful crossing the street.) It has wonderful gift items from all over Belize as well as a cute cafe and excellent art for sale.
If you have any special needs or concerns be sure to email the resort in advance. They are very responsive. They will also arrange airport transportation for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2009

For the budget conscious traveler, this is an awesome place to stay. This is a family run hotel with great rooms, quite surroundings, and good food. This was my second stay and it was better than the first.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We spent there two nights and it was really a kind of racket.

First of all... it's not super... there are nearly no palms and it is by no means a resort!!!
If you arrive there, the house looks like a barn with a huge fence. We got a room with now window (no daylight - only when we opende the door to the bathroom). There was of course an opening in the wall, but where a window should be... the AC was fixed.

Dinner was ok but it was totally overpriced - also the beverages.
For example - a beer was 10 Belize Dollar (at Five Sisters Lodge - a real Lodge) we paid 5 Belize.

The webmaster of the homepage of this "accomodation" is a real genius.

You better don't go there.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank LaVie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
13.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
11.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
9.9 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Palm Resort

Property: Super Palm Resort
Address: Mile 46.5 Western Highway | Mile 46.5 Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Super Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Palm Resort offers a full all inclusive package service. Full body massage, tour, transportation, laundry/ironing, babysitting, free WIFI, Free Continental breakfast, free packing and only 5 minutes drive from the Capital of Belmopan.Super Palm Resort is now featuring a unique creation of hand-crafting art work in our freshly renovated rooms; their bathroom design is spectacular, unique, gorgeous and new to the hotel industry, a master work of art. A must see! Super Palm Resort is dedicated to presenting this new outstanding work of art as an active response to all the reviews by our past guests. Therefore because of all the incitement’s the administrators have been stimulated to devise a major and unique alteration to our premium rooms; a new set of hand-made styles that can only be originally found at Super Palm Resort Belmopan Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Palm Hotel
Super Palm Resort Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing