We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lodge on Hummingbird Highway”
Review of Yamwits Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yamwits Lodge
Ranked #10 of 17 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely budget accommodation. The rooms are basic but pleasant and clean. The people here are super friendly and helpful. We had a mini tour of the orange fields and surrounding area! If you are looking for a room at a great rate and nice location, I would highly recommend it. There is a small family restaurant on site where you can eat and the food is fresh and tasty!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica1970_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

During our stay the citrus orchards surrounding the lodge were in flower and the fragrance in the air was heavenly. The hospitality here was the best we experienced on our whole 2 week trip to Belize-- they really went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. The food in the restaurant was VERY good. The fresh grapefruit juice was exceptional. A couple highlights included: bird watching from the second story veranda (they even provided binoculars and a Belize Bird Field-guide) and walking up the driveway at night surrounded by fireflies.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferRose112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jag48, Owner at Yamwits Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again sometime. It was a pleasure hosting you. Once again - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I spent five days at Yamwits. The rooms were nice, single bed and a desk, nothing fancy, but that's what we wanted. We did find a few crawlies on the bed one night, but in the jungle that's hard to avoid. It might have even been our fault for leaving the door open. We just picked them out, no hassle. It happens even at some of higher end places. The best shower we've had at a hotel in Belize. Even some of the higher end ones have lousy water pressure or not enough hot water, Yamwits had both. The scenery was beautiful, the orange trees were in bloom and the smell was heavenly. The staff was friendly and accommodating, we spent some good hours conversing with our hosts, and they even lent us a machete for some bushwhacking we had to do one day.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Yamwits was my favorite place to stay in all of Belize. The orchards smelled so yummy and it was by far the cleanest place I stayed in my two weeks there. The food is excellent and the hospitality blows any other place out of the water! Joy is lovely and true to her name. An absolute joy to be around. Marvin and Eroll, were super friendly and accommodating. Even brought us books to do a little birding during our stay. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jag48, Owner at Yamwits Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to do so again. Thanks for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

How can I put this: Yamwitz (two rooms) cost a third of the private beach house we rented on Caye Caulker, and we like it better. Imagine having a sixty-acre orange groove to yourself, the driveway lined with coconut trees, the house surrounded by fruit trees: Ackee, avocado, Mammee apples, oranges... When we trekked through the orchard to a pristine stream on the property, We found a ancient wild fig tree (two people holding hands couldn't hug it); I'm still shivering from the shrill of discovery. My children played with minnows and tadpoles in the stream, ate fruits off the trees (no, the wild figs weren't edible). The owner and one of her children dropped by to see us everyday (her son taught us so much about wild life in Belize, the trial of tribulation of owning these orchards...thank you!); the young groundkeepers, young and friendly. And birds. You can see ten to twenty different kinds just sitting on the porch. We are no birders, but we know toucans and hummingbirds.
Some logistics: Yamwits is halfway between Belmopan and Dagringa (Map in this website is incorrect). Perfect location to visit the Blue Hole National Park and the Cave Branch cave tubing. No air-condition. No need. In April, the weather was cool. We fell asleep with all the windows opened to welcome the noises: birds to crickets to frogs to cicadas.
One big favor: Every evening, a huge grasshopper(?, I think) with red chest would visit us on the second floor. The kids chased it off the first night, then they left it alone. It just sat near my husband when he read every evening. Please say hi to it when you're there...for us. Thanks.

Room Tip: second floor has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianap127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Yamwits.....may it always keep its simplicity with the Belizean beauty and charm of the lodging and the Smith family. Yamwits is truly a hidden jewel and one of those special places that are becoming harder to find.

Will & Gail
Corozal, Consesejo
Belize

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailL572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Miss Joy and family were fabulous! There were a few small problems that were quickly addressed to make our stay a trip to remember. They really went out of their way to cook fabulous meals for us and to make sure they had breakfast ready for us on our early morning excursions. They really went above and beyond to make us all happy. Especially the fabulous coffee for us coffee junkies!!!! The family grandma stories were a bonus!!! Thanks for such a fabulous time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Rey Hotel
El Rey Hotel
#6 of 17 in Belmopan
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yaxche Jungle Camp
Yaxche Jungle Camp
#4 of 13 in Belmopan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
0.0 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 13 in Belmopan
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamwits Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamwits Lodge

Address: Mls. 351/2 Hummingbird Highway | Approximately 17 Miles South of Belmopan, Belmopan 501, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range: £56 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamwits is a modest family run business which allows you to escape into the serenity of the locale with many activities nearby - the Blue Hole National Park is just a couple miles away and the southern beaches and western Mayan temples are easily accessed. Many different tours and activities can be arranged for your enjoyment. We have comfortable rooms, great food and people that care about your experience in Belize. The grounds maintain a welcoming presence from birds singing in the morning to beautiful sunsets at the end of day. Come and visit us at Yamwits Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yamwits Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamwits Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing