We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here!”
Review of Hi-et

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hi-et
Ranked #19 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved staying here!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My boyfriend and I backpacked through Belize and this was our favorite place to stay. We had a private room. It's inexpensive, the owners and friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious and clean compared to others we stayed at. If you have the option, stay further back from the street because the noise can get loud (but we stayed in the room closest to the street twice and were happy with it). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hi-et is the cheapest place in town and you get what you pay for. Location is good right next to the main streets. We had a double room without bathroom. The rooms are very small. There is only the place for a bed and a very small drawer.h But the room is clean. The bathroom are clean but it could be better. This is a guesthouse and if you're not comfortable with the proximity of locals don't go there. You have to pass between their kitchen and their livingroom to take the stairs so you can see what they are looking at TV ;) We also had problem with the intimacy of the rooms. The walls are not complete at the top, it is only a kind of grid. So it's a bit annoying for the noise, you always have to be respectful toward your neighboor. But despite all these details I would definetely recommand this place.

GOODS: Private balcony!!!!! good location. free wifi in the room.
BADS: very small room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in after a very long drive from Belize city, only to be greeted by a very unfriendly and inhospitable couple. We had a reservation and an email from them to confirm it. They just looked at us like we had three heads, then some sidekick (a guest I assume) decided to chime and and tell us how to travel. Good grief. We have stayed in some dumps in our day (military folk here, ya a tent, dirt and a shower once a week is how we know to roll, so it's not like we had unrealistic expectations.) Friendliness and an effort to fix a mistake can speak volumes. They didn't even try to refer us somewhere else!! So we hit the streets and found Casablanca! They had room and were very welcoming and apologetic about the San Ignacio welcome that we got. Review for them coming soon, but so far so good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IdahoWeimGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here because Bella's was temporarily closed and our previous experience with Acropolis Maya was our worst hostel experience in the dozens of hostels we've stayed at in Central America (filthy rooms, poor security, terrible and absent service). I shared a room with 3 other girls (2 full-ish sized beds). The room had a private bathroom, a fan, wi-fi and decent pressure in the shower. Clean and simple, the rooms were just what we needed, though you definitely can hear everybody with the lattice separators near the ceilings (sorry for forgetting and being loud neighbors!). As most folks in town wake up and start their days pretty early, you should probably get in the habit of using earplugs or getting up with them.

The owner, Junior, was a little cranky at first because I kept asking to see all the available rooms (of which there were two) so I could compare. We spent one night here, and being friendly was enough to win Junior over - he was sweet and full of advice and helpful info for four girls crossing the border by chicken bus into Guatemala. The rooms are located past his family's house, so you need to walk into their living room and out their back patio/garden space to get to your room. Very secure, the Hi-et also offers a fridge, and little communal area to hang out, read and prep some hot water.

The room was BZ$70 split among four people, coming out to BZ$17.50 a person (or about US$8.75 each). Among the more budget friendly in town, if you just need a place to take a break but will be out and about most of the day, this is your place.

We'd come back and stay here with friends again - with two people, the two rooms available at the time were out of our price range.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are further from the street and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ro
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have had a difficult time in finding a reasonable place to stay in our trip in San Ignacio. When looking for a place to sleep we have found many hotels with, in our opinion, unjustified prices. Eventually we have settled for Hi-et Guesthouse and we have been with our choice.

The Hotel is very close, within 2 minutes walking, to the main street, our private double room was ok, and, the most important, the price is unbeatable.

We definitely recommend this place compared to other options in San Ignacio.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great location and everything you need for cheep. A friend and I went and got a room for $24 a night, so we each paid $12. They have wifi, hot water, and are located right next to places to eat. I highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlywurly365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you don't need anything fancy, Hi-Et is super cheap and the rooms are clean. Nothing special, but if you want a clean bed and a hot shower then this will get the job done. We paid $20 a night and that allowed us to financially recover a little bit from staying in more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Park Inn
River Park Inn
#3 of 22 in San Ignacio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
J & R Guest House
J & R Guest House
#14 of 34 in San Ignacio
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
971 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acropolis Maya
Acropolis Maya
#27 of 34 in San Ignacio
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi-et? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-et

Property: Hi-et
Address: 12 West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hi-et reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Et Hotel San Ignacio
Hi-Et Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing