We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trek off the beaten path!”
Review of Cenaida's

Cenaida's
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trek off the beaten path!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stopped here for dinner one night to have something different. We shared the Coconut Fish special with coconut rice and a small salad. It was really, really good! The rice was fantastic as well. The service was great, they even split the meal up for us when we said we were sharing. Definitely would be willing to try more things here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    53
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Definitely a favourite. I had some of my best meals here, It's easy to give the place 5 stars. The food is fresh and really tasty and not heavy or just for tourist palettes. The little table on the front veranda area is really nice, it's not in the hub of the restaurant, but it allows you to soak in the atmosphere of what's going on outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sm1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good local cuisine”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our guide from a day excursion recommended this restaurant for good local food at a good price and that is exactly what we had there. The restaurant is small and no frills. Excellent, friendly service and really good Belizean food. If you want some good local flavor and nothing fancy check this place out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herbie_avl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were in San Ignacio for only one night, and went to Cenaidas on the recommendation from the gal working at Tropicool where we were staying. It was terrific! The stew chicken with coconut rice was tasty, plentiful, and inexpensive...and the place was small, had a couple of good fans to move the air, it was very clean, and the family running it were very friendly and accommodating. I'll definitely eat there again on my next trip through.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_V_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Belize food”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stumbled upon Cenaida's after getting into town at end of day. Liked that it was off the main drag, friendly staff, pork chops and rice we had were quite good, and beer was COLD. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xeriquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenaida's also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Cenaida's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing