We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chinese food at affordable prices”
Review of Maxim's

Maxim's
Ranked #35 of 77 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good chinese food at affordable prices”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have eaten at Maxim's dozens of times over the years. The food is predictably very good and the prices are reasonable. The wait time is very acceptable. My only complaint is that the men's room is not kept as clean as I would prefer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food poisoning. Worst place to eat.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

So, I went here for a late dinner. I ordered the fried chicken. It looked alright. Little did I know that I would be waking up to an extreme case of food poisoning. I found out later after a doctor's visit that this place actually takes leftover food and serves it again to other people. I confirmed this when I walked back in to verify this. Utterly appalling. Word of caution to anyone coming to San Ignacio. Don't eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fox797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent food good prices”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have to say that the food is good but not great, the prices are reasonable. There are consistant. Try the fried fish andask for Burger buns and you can make a meal for 4 out of one large order of fried fish with burger buns

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tobaccocay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Standard Chinese Food.”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Nothing wrong here but just nothing amazing. Nice to hang out with the locals and ex pats as this is not a tourist place. Had the special fried rice which was pretty good and the sizzling beef which was ok but nothing special. Beers were cheap and the service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Fried chicken”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Normal Belizean Asian restaurant. Really great fried chicken and just about everything else.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxim's also viewed

 

Been to Maxim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing