We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Chinese Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxim's

Maxim's
Ranked #37 of 77 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Basic Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hey don't expect anything exotic, this is Central America but I have been eating here for over 20 years and the food is good and filling.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank briadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was the best place to eat food in San Ignacio!!! Of all of the places we ate in Belize, we enjoyed the food at Maxim's the most. We ate here 3 times and we completely satisfied every time. Very affordable as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My taxi driver loves Maxim's!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Got some food to go from Maxim's. Asked my taxi driver to make sure I got just chicken breast...was getting chicken, rice and beans. Was disappointed, very little chicken white meat, just a leg and some thigh. The rice and beans were good, but don't think I would order from Maxim's again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scorpio_gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good chinese food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have eaten at Maxim's dozens of times over the years. The food is predictably very good and the prices are reasonable. The wait time is very acceptable. My only complaint is that the men's room is not kept as clean as I would prefer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food poisoning. Worst place to eat.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

So, I went here for a late dinner. I ordered the fried chicken. It looked alright. Little did I know that I would be waking up to an extreme case of food poisoning. I found out later after a doctor's visit that this place actually takes leftover food and serves it again to other people. I confirmed this when I walked back in to verify this. Utterly appalling. Word of caution to anyone coming to San Ignacio. Don't eat here.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fox797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxim's also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Maxim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing