We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret of the Cayo area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanny's Grill

Sanny's Grill
Ranked #17 of 77 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A secret of the Cayo area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Follow the signs to this hidden dinner spot that serves beautifully prepared dinners on a covered porch below the owners house. all the dinners are delicious and well presented.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anabel-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayo, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is GREAT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The food here is great. Presentation is really nice. The service is a little slow but overall experience is nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffyswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of the way charmer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Loved this sweet little restaurant! My son and I ate here one evening based on a review in a guidebook that said the ambience was a draw. And they were right! The open-air restaurant is built on a patio deck with vines and plants and flowers everywhere, soft lighting, and candles. The family cooks and serves together, the food is tasty and generously portioned. On top of all that, when my son left his iPod there, they found and kept it for us. Although you do have to take a cab to get there, it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sanny is a very good Chef!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Sanny and his family are very good people! The whole family pitch in and the establishment is welcoming and has a very Belizean charm. The food is always good but sometimes the sides have cooled by the time the main item is placed on the plate and served. The bar is limited but the personal friendly service makes up for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Americanized average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We decided to get way off the beaten path in hopes of finding some traditional Belizean food. Sanny's has a nice homey atmosphere and sits on a hill so it has a nice view.
The menu is large but has things like fish and chips, bbq pork chops, and fettuccine alfredo. Our meal came with an iceberg salad with something that tasted like french dressing.
The food was just okay and I'm glad the price was very reasonable, because I got what I paid for. i would have gladly paid more for better food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeakHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanny's Grill also viewed

San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Sanny's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing