We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Iguana Conservation Project

Green Iguana Conservation Project
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel, the Project is a continuous effort that aims to conserve and look after the endangered Green Iguana species in Belize. The hatchery uses interactive exhibits and programs to help educate and create awareness among international and local visitors. Here, you are given the opportunity mingle with these wonderful reptiles and also, learn the about the incubation, hatching, rearing, and releasing process
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was so fun. I had iguanas all over me. We walk to the hotel where it was and the walk was up a huge hill (just so you know).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    210
    34
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best and cheapest things to do in San Ignacio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I love lizards and iguanas so I had to come here. Based on photos and the fact that it's in a resort, I had low expectations and thought this might be kind of a tourist trap iguana zoo kind of place. It's actually really cool and based on conserving iguanas and raising awareness about their endangerment in Belize. The best part is you get to feed, hold and take all the photos with iguanas that you want. Total dream come true for me. It costs 8 or 9 dollars US per person which is actually one of the cheapest things we did in Belize, which has surprisingly expensive entrance fees and tour fees for everything else you want to do.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Cuddling with Iguanas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful experience for both adults and kids. Feed and hold iguana's (or not) while learning about the program to keep the iguana population strong in the Cayo District. Great photo opportunities! The iguanas are friendly but have sharp nails be careful with young children. The baby iguanas are probably better for young children to hold. Their nails are not yet so sharp.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun activity in San Ignacio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hold baby iguanas!! For about $10 per person you get to feed huge full sized iguanas and hold them too. We also were able to hold little baby ones. Pick your tour time wisely, we went about 15 minutes before the tour left (the project is located on the hotel property) and were the only ones signed up so we got a private tour. The group before us must have had about 15 people in it, which wouldn't have been very fun as the space isn't that big.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iguana Project”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Husband and I enjoyed learning about the Iguana project. The guide was so knowledgeable and encouraged everyone to get involved with handling the iguanas by feeding and holding them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Iguana Conservation Project also viewed

 

Been to Green Iguana Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing