We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you make it a stop”

Green Iguana Conservation Project
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel, the Project is a continuous effort that aims to conserve and look after the endangered Green Iguana species in Belize. The hatchery uses interactive exhibits and programs to help educate and create awareness among international and local visitors. Here, you are given the opportunity mingle with these wonderful reptiles and also, learn the about the incubation, hatching, rearing, and releasing process
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make sure you make it a stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A nice side trip when you are looking to fill a morning or afternoon. Was not sure what to expect but was really blown away by the Iguana Conservation Project and the enthusiasm, knowledge, and passion of the staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    221
    37
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dix, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I had not originally planned to come here, we did on a whim because we had some extra time in our schedule and we are both glad we did. Had a semi-private tour as we did the last slot available on a Sunday. Eddie brought us down to the cages and gave great information all while providing excellent photo opportunities with one to several iguanas at a time. Also had the same opportunities with the babies in a separate cage. This is a can't miss attraction for kids or the young at heart.

On a side note, the hotel (upon purchase of the tour) provided a coupon for 10% off at the restaurant which was a very good meal.

The hotel is up the hill from the police station which still has the San Ignacio Resort Hotel sign on the front side, so don't get confused or frustrated like we did.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful project only steps from the San Ignacio Hotel and a great experience. Very educational and fun. You can hold the iguanas and perhaps have a few placed upon you (optional.) Great way to see these reptiles ...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Griddedsfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fun you'll have with lizards all day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you're staying at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel this is a must. It's right on the property, only takes about an hour to do, and its a pretty unique experience. Where else can you play with some lizards and let them crawl all over you? If you're not staying at the resort it's still worth checking out but I wouldn't make a special trip just for this unless you have some other things planned in the area. Combine it with a visit to San Ignacio and Cahal Pech for example and you have a nice way to spend an afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank triptripfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and educational for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great time during our hour at the iguana project, although my son got nibbled a bit on his neck by one that really liked him. Definitely worth a visit if you like reptiles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Iguana Conservation Project also viewed

 

Been to Green Iguana Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing