We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and good value”
Review of Hotel Mallorca

Hotel Mallorca
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mallorca
Ranked #23 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple and good value”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Mallorca for a couple nights while visiting San Ignacio. We were looking for something really affordable. Rooms are plain and functional. The room is clean enough, and gave us a comfortable stay. We have read a lot of reviews about hotels in San Ignacio being really loud because they're right in the middle of town - and they are right - but the fan in our room provided a loud constant motor noise that literally drowned out the street noise! We didn't have trouble sleeping but can understand if people who are lighter sleepers might.

The front desk lady, Yolanda, was very lovely. She was super helpful and sweet and we enjoyed our stay. Great value overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Mallorca Hotel offers basic accommodations at a reasonable price. I have stayed there a number of times, usually either before or after trips to Maya sites, and they have always met my needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Rooms back from Burns Ave. will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a small hotel of the second floor, overlooking downtown San Ignacio. It's a great value for budget travelers and although spartan (bed, towel, tv, air con) it gets the job done. The owners crank it up a notch with their kindness and advice about what to do in town. It's right across the street from Han Nah, one of the town's popular eateries. An easy walk from the bus. People watching from the balcony with a beer in hand is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Hotel Mallorca will be my first choice again next time I will be in San Ignacio. My room had all it needs, a clean bath, beds with a real blanket, a TV and a fan (it is a shady location, so AC will rather not be necessary). Nice sitting on the balcony watching street life in the morning, and the staff is just too nice to be true. I have stayed worth than that for a lot more money!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exiloecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, UT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Mareli was such a nice innkeeper, we chose this hotel upon inquiring about the room. She helped us with booking our tour (ATM), catching a bus, and let us use her kitchen.
It had wifi, it was clean, and safe location. Unbekwownst to us, there was a shady part of town. Also, the coffee downstairs in the hotel deli was the best in Belize. The restaurant across the street was our favorite in Belize.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsMoab_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Hotel Mallorca is an average, well priced hotel. It's clean, and in a great location. The staff s very kind, approachable and made us feel like guests at the homes. It is not the Hilton, it's a humble establishment that is clean, even for a germ-a-phobe nurse like myself! but if you don't plan to spend too much time in your room, its great.
Cayo is a busy town with lots to do. The hotel is in the middle of the action, within walking distance to local restaurants, bars, clubs & taxis. The hotel has WI-FI as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Location is right downtown on Burns Ave. This is not a fancy resort, but a basic accommodation and the price is very good, I am retired and my wife and I enjoyed the hotel and the people there, they were very helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hot water took a while at our room and one morning it was off as they were working on the system. The rooms are small, but the price is good about $25 US, per night for 5 nights. Did wake up a few times due to noise, once it was rain and once dogs barking. The balcony was close to our room and I really liked it, could picture Bogey or maybe Lee Marvin walking down the street in one of those 50's movies. If you want to be pampered go someplace else, but if you don't mind rubbing shoulders with the locals this is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deckgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#13 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
J & R Guest House
J & R Guest House
#14 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tia Maria Guesthouse
Tia Maria Guesthouse
#13 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi-et
Hi-et
#18 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#10 of 33 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mallorca

Property: Hotel Mallorca
Address: 12 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallorca Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing