We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No bugs here!”
Review of Hotel Mallorca

Hotel Mallorca
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mallorca
Ranked #23 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No bugs here!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had read the reviews on this place and was a little concerned when we read a prior review about the place crawling with bugs!
We stayed a week and have to say we saw no evidence of bugs......... in fact this place has to be the cleanest we have seen in Belize so far. Bed and pillows were comfy and room was big and clean. We had room # 6 two double beds, ceiling fan, private bath with hot and cold.
This is not a fancy place and that is reflected in the price, they are centrally located which does make for a lot of noise. Let me state here that San Ignacio is not a sleepy little village it is a busy town with big trucks, buses, motorbikes, dogs and discos! Which of course makes for noise!
If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep you will be better off staying outside of town!!!

Yolanda (owner) and Marelly are really what makes this place, they are super friendly and very helpful, they can even arrange a very reasonably priced Taxi for you. You also have access to the kitchen, which means you can use the fridge, coffee maker and microwave, plates cups etc.
certainly helps if living on a budget!

For location, cleanliness and friendliness this place can not be beaten! We were originally going to stay 2 days and ended up staying a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourEscapeBluePrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is centrally located, the owner is nice, she gave us a deal for 50$ Belizean during slow season for 2 big beds and a private bath. I slept so horribly on the first night we were there because there were itty bitty things crawling on me all night. We gave it a second chance because we went on an early morning tour and didn't have time to find a different place, but the second night was just as bad... And the fluorescent lighting in the room was the opposite of charming..We ended up moving on our 3rd night to J&R Guesthouse for smaller beds and a shared bathroom, but a lot more charm, a cheaper price, and it had no bugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a base for doing the ATM caving trip. The hotel is perfectlyy located on the main street of San Ignacio. The rooms are big and clean. We got a room with no a/c, two double beds, overhead fan and private bathroom for bz$60. The owner is extremely friendly and makes you feel very wellcome.

If you can stretch your budget, I would advise getting a room with a/c as it gets very warm in San Ignacio and stays warm throughout the night.

Finally, the caving was absolutely fantastic, although not for the faint hearted. If you are fit, able to swim, not claustrophobic, not afraid of heights or the dark, you will love this caving trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themightypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here a week ago and loved every minute. Marelly (sp?) at the desk and Yolanda the owner were amazing. They were so warm and friendly and helpful. The evening we arrived Marelly personally called and made a car reservation for me and on the day that we left she offered to make a reservation for our next accommodation.

The rooms come a/c optional and have hot water showers with good pressure. There is a balcony out front were you can sit and watch the goings on on Burns Ave over a cold beer or glass of rum.

It felt like home for a couple of days. Thanks Ladies!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Mallorca for a couple nights while visiting San Ignacio. We were looking for something really affordable. Rooms are plain and functional. The room is clean enough, and gave us a comfortable stay. We have read a lot of reviews about hotels in San Ignacio being really loud because they're right in the middle of town - and they are right - but the fan in our room provided a loud constant motor noise that literally drowned out the street noise! We didn't have trouble sleeping but can understand if people who are lighter sleepers might.

The front desk lady, Yolanda, was very lovely. She was super helpful and sweet and we enjoyed our stay. Great value overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Mallorca Hotel offers basic accommodations at a reasonable price. I have stayed there a number of times, usually either before or after trips to Maya sites, and they have always met my needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Rooms back from Burns Ave. will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a small hotel of the second floor, overlooking downtown San Ignacio. It's a great value for budget travelers and although spartan (bed, towel, tv, air con) it gets the job done. The owners crank it up a notch with their kindness and advice about what to do in town. It's right across the street from Han Nah, one of the town's popular eateries. An easy walk from the bus. People watching from the balcony with a beer in hand is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#13 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
J & R Guest House
J & R Guest House
#14 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tia Maria Guesthouse
Tia Maria Guesthouse
#13 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi-et
Hi-et
#18 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#10 of 33 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mallorca

Property: Hotel Mallorca
Address: 12 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallorca Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing