We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hilton of San Ignacio!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Guest House
Ranked #10 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Hilton of San Ignacio!”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

After previous experiences with budget guesthouses in Belize, coming to the Western Guest House was just what I needed! This place is a little more pricey than other options in town, we paid about $35 USD without aircon (which you don't really need during the autumn/winter months) and it was worth every penny.

The guest house is run by a Belizean family who were so accommodating and lovely. Basically the guesthouse is their humongous home with numerous private rooms running off the hallway. There's a giant living room space followed by a dining area and the biggest, most well-stocked home kitchen I've ever seen. It was a treat to be able to cook dinner after being on the road for so many weeks without a kitchen.

The house and rooms are immaculate. You could seriously eat off the floor the place is so clean and a maid comes daily to make your bed, give you fresh towels and spruce up your room.

The location is perfect, it's maybe 100-metres walk to the "tourist" area in San Ignacio and the location felt safe though we never strayed too far after dark. The guest house itself is like fort knox with a giant security gate so we never worried about our possessions.

Lastly, I cannot reiterate how kind this family is! Rodolfo, the owner, is a great bloke who let me share his hot sauce and his wife, is such a fantastic woman. I loved hearing her stories and learning about her family and she was kind enough to cook us fry jacks on our last morning in San Ignacio so that we had a snack for our bus trip/border crossing (they were greatly appreciated halfway through our never-ending collectivo ride to Flores!

If you're looking for a little luxury without having to spend the big bucks this place is it! It's amazing how much more value you get for money when you're willing to pay an extra 5-10 bucks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Headwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is a great place to stay when visiting San Ignacio. The house is very conveniently located to the farmer's market, the main strip, and the Cahal Pech ruins. And despite being so close to the main strip, the house is very quiet and peaceful. Julia and Rodolfo are wonderful hosts and took very good care of us while we stayed with them. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And if you get a room with air conditioning, you're golden. The guest house has a water dispenser to which guests have access. This was a nice surprise. I liked being able to fill up my water bottle before I left for the day. Lastly, there is internet access for the technophiles that can't be away from email. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate WGH a 10. Will definitely stay here again if and when I go back to Belize.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We loved this place. The air conditioning was great. The location was great. Lots of hot water in the shower. Very neat and clean. Changed the sheets and towels each day and cleaned the room each day. The hosts are very nice and friendly. The full use of a fully stocked kitchen was awesome. It's nice to hang out in the living room. They have wifi. And all for about 35 dollars a night. Best bargain around. The only thing I didn't like was the quality of the sheets - very thin and old. Pillows weren't great either.

Room Tip: If you get room 1, which happens to be a family room with three beds so it is a little more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at this guesthouse for a few days during the slow season (September). It was very nice, locks on the the outside of the two story home, and then also on your room door for which you are provided a key for both. Air conditioned units available at a good price. Nice family owned guesthouse, beautiful large kitchen to use, and westernized amenities. Perfect location, 5 minute walk from downtown. The owner offered to provide fresh towels and clean room everyday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The room had a double bed and a twin-great for a couple and a bit small for two people wanting their own beds. It is safe as you are given a key to enter the patio and also your room. Use of the kitchen and purified drinking water was conveniant. It is only 1.5 blocks or so from restaurants but quiet and the host family is quite helpful but not intrusive. I found the air conditioning necessary as the town is quite hot. The town itself is not particularly interesting but a spot for visiting nearby attractions. I was traveling solo so staying in one of the outside hotels/resorts didn't make much sense.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Realmonte, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great place. The price is right, the owners very hospitable, and the rooms are clean and kept that way (we stayed five days and they cleaned the room and changed our towels 3 times). Good location with easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The room was nice and clean and near a food market. Julia was very nice and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#3 of 34 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Guest House

Property: Western Guest House
Address: # 54 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Guest House is a nice little hotel located at the far end of Burns Ave. The Owners live on site, so security is never an issue. They offer free WiFi, a kitchen for guest use, and fully furnished room with private bath and A/C. If you are looking for somewhere to stay and feel like you are home - this is the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Western Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing