We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Guest House
Ranked #9 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Highly recommend staying at the Western Guest House! It was absolutely lovely! It's very close to town, just a short walk from the bus stop. The house was very clean and comfortable. My friend and I loved our room and having our own private bathroom. Julia was so sweet and kind - offering information and answering all our questions. She offered us coffee in the morning, and watermelon and fried jacks. It was like we were old friends. Loved our time there! If you are going to San Ignacio definitely stay at the Western Guest House! It's the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth27ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a group of twelve "students studying abroad", so we had the whole place to ourselves for a week. There are 6 or 7 guest rooms, all with their own private bathrooms. There was also a great room/common area that included a sitting area & an eat-in kitchen. The kitchen had all the things you needed (other than the food, of course) if you chose to "eat in". There was a large balcony across the front & one side for sitting outside & enjoying the local ambiance from above. The Guest House was secure as it only had one large gated entrance to the street & it was kept locked at all times. During the day, the business downstairs, a hardware store belonging to the owners of the Guest House, was open & you could actually walk through there instead of messing with unlocking the gate. We had no problems with anyone coming up through the store. Besides, each room had locks where you could secure your own room when you were out. Although the common areas were not air-conditioned, each room had its own AC & TV. TV's had cable, which included about 30 - 40 channels. You also had a closet in your room with a shelf for your suitcase & places to hang clothing. There was also a small wooden desk & chair in our room. The rooms were tidied up daily & the linens changed however often you liked. The bathroom/shower in our room was clean & served the purpose just fine. There was also laundry services offered on a daily basis.

The Guest House was on the "main drag" with the downtown "tourist" area about two blocks to the right. There was a grocery store (I used that term loosely!) angled across the street. When you first walk in the grocery, you'll wonder if it is a grocery store or a junk store, but you'll probably find what you need as long as it is a basic item. The students said there is a better grocery store in the area, but I didn't find it. The best place we found to eat was Hodys & it was about three blocks to the left, one street over from the front. It was an "eat outside", casual dining type of place & was nothing fancy, but it was a decent value for the money. Guava Limb - pricey & you may leave hungry. The food was okay, but for us, not worth the money. Fuevoes was to the right & down the first paved street to the left. It was a bar atmosphere, touristy, pricey & not for us. We also went to one of the places there on Burns Ave just a few blocks down from the Guest House. All those little places had decent food.

Now for things to do. Ask someone downstairs to recommend a tour guide or taxi driver for you or you can walk down the street to the right & there are tour companies. If you are really ambitious, you can walk to the San Ignacio Hotel (about 7 block & three of it UPHILL... killer) to the Green Iguana Project. As a photographer, I enjoyed it, but it would be more fun if you take children. They give 45 minute tours every hour & it cost about $18 USD if I remember correctly. You can also swim in the San Ignacio Hotels fancy pool for $10 USD. It was worth every penny being as I had the pool to myself for three hours!! I also visited the Belize Botanical Garden. They picked me up & dropped me back off. I did a self-guided tour alone & it was great. Also went to the Belize Zoo. It was about a 30 minute drive both ways, but again, I really enjoyed it. It was very natural, with paved pathways winding through the "natural" animal habitats. The Zoo was one of my favorite things I did on my own. With the group we went to two ruins & stopped at the Rio On Pools river along the way. If you get the chance DO GO THERE. There were beautiful waterfalls & we had it all to ourselves. As a photographer, our Rio On Pools stop was one of my favorites!

One final note. All the Belizian people I met were kind & friendly. And I was a woman on my own for a lot of the time. I walked around town with no worries of being bothered. So don't be afraid to get out there & see the REAL San Ignacio!!


If you can find a reliable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirlee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for five nights and could not have been happier. It feels like a family home. Rodolfo could not have been nicer. He talked with us as we sat on the lovely porch swings upstairs about his life growing up in San Ignacio. He welcomed us as friends or family. They have a beautiful kitchen which guests use. it is all very clean with a lovely sitting area too, very comfortable. Our room had just been painted so Rodolfo offered to move us to another room. We loved the town too. It is a perfect place to explore the area from. We visited several caves and Mayan sites. It is easy and safe to walk into town and there are many women selling dinners at night. There is a great market with fresh fruits and vegetables. This was perhaps the nicest, friendliest place we stayed in our 2 months of travel. It is a great value, perfect for families, couples and those seeking quiet, clean, friendly lodging away from the traffic and noise of the center, yet in close walking distance.

Room Tip: We were in the front room, which people can sit outside of, but it has two windows, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very nice guest house with 8 rooms, some big some moderate. All with optional AC. I have stayed here no fewer than 8 times in last two years. Julia and Rodolfo always there to help and make coffee in morning. Ruth handles the room services with military precision.
Close to all the attractions in town, market, square, bars and mall. Be sure to check out river and Sergio at Destiny Tours.

Room Tip: Take a rear hallway room for quite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JResvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stayed in three and viewed four accommodations (3 in San Ignacio) and Western is by far the best. It is located at the end of a pedestrian-only street (Burns) so very convenient and quiet - barely a walk to the center of town, the Cayo welcoming center, the market, numerous tour operators, restaurants, bus stop, etc. Ea. room has a double and single bed; towels and soap, fan and bottled water (this is big) provided. Love the kitchen (toaster, fridge, stove, blender!, etc.), common area and swing seating on balcony; the feeling is clean and quiet. I purchased a papaya each day to cut up for breakfast and evening snack. It is an OASIS and nice respite when you return from your various ventures of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank luci-the-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This guesthouse is very warm and welcoming. Located near the center of town, it is exceptionally quiet and a very short walk to a number of restaurants and convenient stores. The rooms are clean, spacious and receive daily housekeeping. The communal kitchen and living area is an added plus, and the wifi is fast. My wife and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed three nights in San Ignacio in the Western Guest House. We stayed in Rm 2
Good:
1) What a great bargain! We paid just $38 (USD) per night to stay in a nice room with a double bed and a single bed. Apparently, for a few dollars more you can rent a room with air conditioning (we didn't know this was an option, but it was pleasant in the room with just the fan on)
2) There is a large kitchen and common room that can be used by all lodgers, so if you want to cook your own meals (we did not) you can use the stove, oven and sink. There is also a common refrigerator where you store your food.
3) Western Guest House is located within easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants and all the tour companies - just walk two blocks south on Burns Avenue and you will see more tour operators than you can shake a stick at. We used PACZ Tours to visit both Caracol and ATM - I recommend both of those excursions.
4) Plenty of hot water in a clean and modern bathroom. They provided us with fresh towels every day.
5) For $7 USD you can use the washing machine and dryer. This was quite convenient, it allowed us to bring fewer clothes on our trip because we knew we could wash them all at the halfway point of our vacation
Bad:
1) On Street Parking. We left our car parked in front of the guest house because there is no parking lot. This wasn't a problem, but
2) Saturday night in San Ignacio had a lot of late revelry. I am not sure if there was a festival going on. So there was some noise. Also, one early morning a loud trash truck went down the street and woke us up. But overall noise was not a problem. The other lodgers in the Guest House were quiet.
The positives far outweigh the negatives, this is a great choice for a budget traveler. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 32 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 32 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Guest House

Property: Western Guest House
Address: # 54 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Guest House is a nice little hotel located at the far end of Burns Ave. The Owners live on site, so security is never an issue. They offer free WiFi, a kitchen for guest use, and fully furnished room with private bath and A/C. If you are looking for somewhere to stay and feel like you are home - this is the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Western Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing