We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the guides are top notch. Well run tour company”

Belize Nature Travel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the undiscovered with Belize Nature Travel and our team of experienced guides and reservationists . Lets not forget our amazing cook .We aim to give our guests the best experience of our Beautiful Country of Belize .Come and feel at home with Belize Nature Travel only the Best for you !
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All the guides are top notch. Well run tour company”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Luis and his team are the cream of the crop. We did multiple excursions with them in the Cayo District. They also drove us from Tikal to Cayo district and then on to Placencia. Luis provided us with an excellent guide for tikal (Billy) who taught us so many things about the Mayans and the Tikal site. The drivers and vehicles were excellent and we felt safe even on some tricky roads.

Luis obviously runs a tight ship. His services exceeded our expectations. Will definitely use them again for our next trip to central america.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you're going to be in the Cayo District of Belize, let Belize Nature Travel be your guide. While staying in San Ignacio, we went on4 tours with them, ATM caving, canoeing, tubing, and zip lining. They only use the best local providers and their tour guides are fabulous and will make sure you're needs are being met. They also inked us up at the airport in Belize City for the drive to San Ignacio, and then drove us to Placentia for our beach portion of the trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belize Nature Travel was fantastic”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Luis and his team were fantastic. When I initially contacted them they were quick to respond and to all my emails and answer all my questions. They kept us informed of the weather situation and helped us plan activities in case the weather didn't comply. We initially planned to go to Caracol and ATM but with the heavy rains we were unable to go. Instead we did Tikal, Cahal Pech/Chechem Ha, and Lamanai. Luis suggested new plans and made our daily excursions pain free. His guides were extremely professional and knowledgeable. They were always there on time and had nice clean cars. I would highly recommend using Belize Nature Travel. They really made our vacation special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Che Chem Ha and Cahal Pech”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Luis was one of the best guides we've ever had! My wife and I visited in December 2013 and signed up with Belize Nature Travel for some canoeing and other ruins. Unfortunately, the rain made that tour impossible so we had to change plans. Luis helped us with an new itinerary that was really amazing. He came and picked us up at our hotel and spent the whole day guiding just the two of us around.

Che Chem Ha caves were very secluded and much less "touristy" than I imagined. We had a personal tour from William, the rancher who found the caves in 1989. After a beautiful 45 minute hike through the jungle, we toured the cave which contained various Mayan artifacts. Afterwards, William's wife cooked us a delicious lunch we enjoyed on their patio overlooking the valley. Luis was one of the first to tour the caves with William in 1989, so he is quite an expert as well.

Cahal Pech is a very interesting Mayan ruin that is very near San Ignacio. Luis was an amazing guide...probably because he has been working archeology since the 1980s! He had so much background and information on tourism in Belize there didn't seem to be a question he couldn't answer. If you have an interest in these historic sites, I can't imagine anyone better than Luis to show you around.

In addition to being very informed, Luis is an entertaining storyteller. You won't be bored riding around in the car with him for several hours!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewLimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best way to explore Belize”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Luis is an extremely knowledgeable, friendly, person. He runs a great operation and everyone working with him (Hi Danny! Hi William! Hi Billy!) had a real depth of knowledge to share. He made such a difference in our visit to Belize and our amazing day trip to Guatemala. He was able to not only give us access to amazing places we would have never found otherwise, (Chechem Ha cave) but provided very articulate interpretation that led to a much greater appreciation for what we were viewing and experiencing. As a visitor I like to have a real understanding for the culture of a place and Luis not only provided this, but in a way that we all felt like we were getting some special window into the real world of real Belizians as well as the amazing understanding of ancient Mayan civilization and the nature surrounding all of this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belize Nature Travel also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Belize Nature Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing