We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highly entertaining trip to Tikal....”
Review of Maya Mystic Tours - CLOSED

Maya Mystic Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maya Mystic Tours offers tours all over the country of Belize. It is a locally owned tour operation with over 10 years of experience. We use only experienced and qualified tour guides. Based in San Ignacio, Cayo. You can find Maya Mystic Tours in downtown San Ignacio at the bus stop area.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highly entertaining trip to Tikal....”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I'm not usually one to write reviews but we opted for a tour of Tikal with Maya Mystic as recommended by Rumors hotel and we certainly weren't disappointed...

Omar and Derek were prompt in picking us up from the hotel in the morning - with their help we crossed the border with ease and met Christian and Mario on the other side. Within minutes of Mario clambering into the vehicle we were in stitches! He managed to correctly deduce our occupations (well 2 out of 3) before long and we had an animated conversation before arriving at Tikal whilst Derek & Christian told us interesting facts about the places we passed en route and selected a soundtrack.

When we arrived at Tikal and began the tour of the ruins itself we discovered - to our surprise- that Mario's knowledge knew no bounds! A walking encyclopedia, he regaled us with historical, geographical, medicinal, political anecdotes on any topic we enquired about. To say he knew what he was talking about would be an understatement. I doubt you could find a more informed tour guide. We trekked through the jungle in equal parts awe and amusement, Mario delighted in teaching us about the animal kingdom as he summoned the howler monkeys imitating their mating calls and uncovering various other critters.

Learning about the mystic Mayan's themselves as we walked around the grounds was fascinating and the site is an absolute MUST SEE. One of the most breath taking archaeological ruins you will see in your life time without a doubt. Mario even offered to give us all a Mayan reading afterwards and gave an alarmingly accurate description to our sceptics of some of our best and worst traits.

Another thing - during our trip, one of our party was ill with an ear infection but as soon as Mario heard this he was on hand to help and even managed to dull the pain with a hot clove of garlic - wonders never cease. He also very kindly stopped off at a pharmacy on the way home so that we could buy some antiseptic which was a thoughtful touch.

All of our male tour guides were polite and catered to our needs, but Mario was a knockout and always amusing company. we're just sorry we didn't give you a bigger tip. Bad organisation on our part.

Thanks Maya Mystic, you managed to tame the wolf - no mean feat.

With Fond Regards
Chocolate, Vanilla & Wolfy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We took a tour to Tikal with Maya Mystic Tours. They did a fantastic job. Derrick was our Belizean tour guide, Christian was our driver in Guatemala, and Mario was our tour guide at Tikal. All these young men were courteous, polite and so knowledgable. They took good care of us from the time they picked us up til they dropped us back off. They were on time both taking off and returning. They took care of us at the border crossings and made it a very simple procedure. I am an older traveler and Mario took very good care of me at Tikal. He had to help me with lots of steps, took us off the highly tourist traveled track and gave us a very good history lesson of the Maya but let us know that since all the records were destroyed a lot of it is supposition without recordings to base it on. He took his time with us and did not rush us at any time. There was only my husband and I are on the tour so it was very personalized for us. We were amazed that they would do the tour with just the two of us and was so glad they did. We will definitely use them again and will ask for Derrick on the Belize side and Mario on the Tikal side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected a good time but these guys were fantastic”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

After enjoying the market earlier in the morning, we stopped by this tour guide storefront to see what our options were for the rest of the day. We met Omar, who seemed very honest and ultimately (after checking around for options) got our business..... He guided us through Barton Creek Cave which was quite beautiful and Omar had all the history and answers to our questions. Trustworthy. Knowledgeable and fun. Well done!

Helpful?
Thank tylerjw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caracol site and ATM tour”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We took a caracol tour with guide Omar. He is really reliable ,has lots of knowledge,very sophysticated guide. The road to the site is actually really bad but his driving skill was excellent. We were really comfortable in the car. They provide us luch which is cooked by his wife. Local food! really delicious. He could answer all the questions we have. On the way back we droped by Rio on pool, Got fresh air,stretched out legs for another remained long drive. that was such a great tour.

Next day, we went to ATM cave adventure with guide Lenny. He is also knowledgable, adventurous, thoughtful guy. All the equipment is arranged by him.You don't really need to carry anything with you.It is an amazing cave! The first part, you start with swim to go into the cave.and inside of the cave, you will find many many artifacts and skeltons on the ground.Its shame that we are no longer allowed to bring camera in. But onther than that, everything was so amazing. good guide, good lunch, cool cave, refreshing jungle treking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kkaammaa0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour company”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We used Maya Mystic to go to ATM cave. We had a great guide, Martin. He was knowledgeable, polite, and altogether a good guide. They provided burritos for lunch and water as well. They have competitive prices and we got a great deal on this tour. Martin also took us to Caracol the next day and took us to some really cool spots on the way back. Two thumbs up for Maya Mystic!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Mystic Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing