We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Nefry's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nefry's Retreat
Ranked #25 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Nefry's Retreat over the New Year, found it to be very comfortable, and the owner very helpful on advice in the area and any other queries we had, even offering his personal phone when needing to call my bank from overseas regarding a stolen credit card which was lovely. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of town, rooms were big with adequate amenities and good value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent 7 nights at Nefry's this December and were happy with our stay. The rooms were a bit old, but very clean, and the owners were happy to help with advice about the area. They had begun renovations during our stay, so the rooms will likely be improved for the next travelers. The location was a short (5 min) walk from the main street and square in town, close enough to be convenient, but far enough to avoid the noise. Overall, a good choice if you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced, safe and friendly place to stay while in san ignacio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location is good, just a bit out of the way. It is secure and the room was very clean. We are returning customers. The room had a little kitchenette which turned out to be perfect. The staff was helpful and friendly and pretty laid back as we planned to stay for 1 night and ended up staying 3. I recommend it for sure.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZabAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My wife and I made a last-minute reservation at Nefry's intending to stay one night but ended up extending our stay to 3 nights. It is a small, intimate location and the owners live on site with their family. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds, an in-room hot and cold water dispenser with free instant coffee and plenty of hot shower water in the in-room bathroom. It was fun being in an actual neighborhood near downtown rather than right on the strip. We met the family's children and saw them getting ready for school all dressed up their uniforms. What really made our visit though, was the level of care and attention we recieved after my wife experienced a medical problem during our stay. The owner called his brother and got a recommendation for an excellent private doctor he had used in Belize City then called and made a reservation on our behalf and arranged a taxi ride for us to the doctor's office! The level of concern displayed made us feel like we were staying with friends. Highly recommended for an authentic friendly experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed at Nefry's Retreat for two nights and I must say the place was exceptional. When I arrived I was greeted by the manager with such a warm welcome. The room was very clean and spacious and I loved that it felt like my own home. The family are very nice people and within the 2 nights I was there I felt like they were my family too. The location is great as well; it's just a 3 mins walk from downtown which made my stay even more accessible. To add even more good news, the family has a tour company that can take you to the most fascinating places in Belize. My trip to San Ignacio was long overdued but my stay at Nefry's made everything worth the while.

So my advise to other travellers planning on visiting our beautiful country Belize, stay at Nefry's Retreat and I can guarantee a good time for a good price :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adripra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stay at nefrys was very much worth it. I loved the environment and the homey feeling it has. I love the fact that its attached to the owners house that to me showed concerned and felt very homey. The price was very much worth it for the rooms, I love how natural the place was..they have stones with paintings of fairies and butterflies on them that adds a very unique touch to the atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay at nefrys and will recommend them to any traveller or student on a budget!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Nefrys was a good choice for our trip - room 2 was clean and spacious, but dated furniture and A/C wasn't very good. Better than nothing though, and having such a big bottle of water was really helpful - more places should do this!! The courtyard was lovely, the location very quiet and the prices were reasonable. I'd like to see the cats and kittens looked after more, and the water feature etc finished.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diving_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.0 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lower Dover Field Station & Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefry's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefry's Retreat

Property: Nefry's Retreat
Address: # 2 Paslow Lane, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Nefry's Retreat, we offer a spacious yet intimate home away from home that will satisfy the needs of every kind of traveler. We take great pride in our accommodations and are pleased to be located just a quick 5 minute walk away from downtown San Ignacio. Owned operated by a local Belizean family who lives on site, we make sure you feel like one of the family when you stay with us at Nefry's Retreat. We offer you the privacy of your own room, as well as the opportunity to socialize with our family and our 4 young children if you choose to. A stay at Nefry's Retreat is like an authentic Belizean homestay! Nefry's Retreat is a great base for travelers looking for a leisurely escape or an adventure-filled vacation. We have many suggestions on local activities and connections with trusted tour operators. Please inquire with us directly about booking vacation tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nefry's Retreat Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing