We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J & R Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
J & R Guest House
Ranked #12 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely little place. It's run by a family out of their house, so it feels completely safe and comfortable. Clean, pretty rooms; a clean shared bathroom, very spacious; and a clean shared kitchen. Kids are always playing in the yard and the family's grandmother is there at all times -- they don't have a safe, but they offered to have her watch our valuables when we went out! Very close to downtown, just a couple of minutes walk from the city center, but on a quiet residential street. Very very reasonably priced -- we were cheap backpacking girls and could afford our stay easily.

I absolutely recommend this guesthouse. We felt so at home and at ease here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here in July 2014. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly, and the kitchen was kept clean and ordered. Great for travellers who want a quiet place and want to keep costs down.

Room Tip: Private and shared bathrooms are available, lower rooms may be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

J&R's Guesthouse is a small, family style home with private or shared restrooms and a communal kitchen. My boyfriend and I stayed in a small room with a shared bathroom for $27 BZ. It was perfect for us, as we were traveling on a backpackers budget. The owners and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Unfortunately, the owner's husband who used to be a tour guide had passed away in February, but that didn't take away from our visit. The home is very conveniently located about a five minutes walk from the town center.

I would highly recommend staying here if you're a budget travel looking for some comfort and a clean, safe place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Cute little place run by lovely couple. Helpful and informative. Hummingbirds in the gardens. Rooms are clean and a little basic but, if like me, you travel to see the places *outside* your room then this is all you need (the negative review on here needs to re-assess their travel priorities in my opinion).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great place to stay. Very friendly girl working there, lovely clean rooms and 2 minute walk to town centre. They have WIFI and use of the kitchen with fridge until 7pm, but you can't cook after that. Cheaper rooms have clean, shared bathroom. We paid $22.50USD (45 Belize) for a double room with very nice bathroom and cable TV. The smaller rooms with shared bathroom are $15 USD.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The staff are all very sweet and helpfull and the fan cooled rooms are clean. Miss Rose, the owner boiles water every morning for your cup of thee or coffee and thoughout the day she and an other lady are around to help you with anything. Besides some braking dogs that are all around town it is also quiet at night and still a less than 5 min walk to the center.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkievdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The accommodations at J & R are simple, but very clean and comfortable. There are two shared bathrooms in the main part of the house, and the room that is separated from the others, on the other side of the patio, has it's own full bathroom. There is also a shared kitchen which is well stocked with utensils and pans, etc. The beds are comfortable enough, which for me is saying a lot. I am a finicky sleeper, and I was able to sleep on these beds just fine. We also liked this place because it is far enough away from the center of town that it is relatively quiet. San Ignacio has a very active and noisy nightlife. Any closer to downtown and I would not have gotten any sleep.

The owners, John and Rosa, are also another reason for staying there. We felt very safe and well taken care of during our stay. John is an open and friendly man, who is known and loved by everyone in town. He was fun to talk with and readily shared information and advice about San Ignacio, the surrounding area, and how to cross the border in to Guatemala. We stayed here on two separate occasions on our trip, and both times we needed somewhere safe to leave our packs either before we checked in, or after we checked out. John let us leave them there, piled up in the living room, and we felt completely safe in doing so. If you are looking for someplace inexpensive to stay, and you are not looking for luxury, I recommend J & R.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#5 of 19 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#9 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & R Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & R Guest House

Property: J & R Guest House
Address: 20 Far West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your J & R Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J & R Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing