We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Rumours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumors Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rumors Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
1 review
“Great Stay at Rumours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for one week at the end of April and it was perfect. It was a great jumping off point for all the sights in the area.
The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful, and got everything ready for us each day. The food was excellent. Always cooked when we were hungry despite our hectic schedule. Even remembering my friend doesn't like veggies in his breakfast burrito when we had for got to mention it.
For a peaceful relaxing place to stay after a day of adventuring this place is perfect.
We would especially like to thank Rosie for making us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
101
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Went over in November to stay at the resort. The place has great view. Other than the traffic passing by on the highway about 75 yards away (you don't really hear that), the place is really quiet.
There is wifi you can use in your rooms, which are very comfortable, air conditioning, clean beds, nice baths, and a little closet to put your stuff. Oh, almost forgot a little couch and table! Great place

Room Tip: Stayed in Room four (front), but maybe in the back rooms you won't hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asuncion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

San Ignacio and the surrounding area is HOT. You'll likely be spending a lot of time outdoors checking out caves and ruins. You'll be incredibly happy to have a room with A/C when you get back to Rumors each day.

The location is just west of San Ignacio on the Western Highway. Any bus heading west to Benque can drop you off here, just let the driver know you plan to stop here after leaving San Ignacio.

This place is rather new and is a great value for those wanting to stay in/near San Ignacio. Beautiful, minimal, landscaping surrounds this growing facility and you can count on waking up to the sounds of numerous beautiful native birds. There are around 10 rooms on site and a restaurant available to the public and guests. The rooms are charming and well maintained.

You can arrange for a cab ride into San Ignacio when needed, which only costs $10 BZ. Cabs coming back from town are plentiful.

Rosanna cooks up delicious food in the restaurant. Rosie and Frankie, the proprietors, were extremely accommodating and helpful.

We really enjoyed our peaceful stay here and would highly recommend others visiting.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Croix USVI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Rumors sits right on top of a hill just west of San Ignatio Belize. Mayan ruins, river tours, caves exploration, Guatemala, Tikal. All are within easy reach of this place and many others in the San Ignatio area. The thing that makes this one special is it's quiet! Air conditioning is included. Francisco and Rosy are as nice and helpful as you can ever imagine. They will find what you need and all they really want in return is a good review and for you to come again! Of course we always leave a tip when the service is good and we decided that this place deserved a bigger than usual one! We stayed in two places in the town of San Ignatio and they weren't that bad but the noise was terrible in both of them. It's a real party town! Lots of tourists. The only real reason to stay in town instead of at Rumors would be if you like that kind of loud atmosphere. On the other hand, Rumors has a great ballroom and live music and a wonderful restaurant! You can get a taxi from there to anywhere you want to go and it's often cheaper to take a taxi that to take a tour! The next time we go to San Ignatio, we will be staying at Rumors that's for sure!!

Room Tip: get the deluxe room. They are fantastic and worth the few extra dollars. The standard are a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bordazall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I agree with what has been said. The hotel is a great value. We were 3 and found the room to be lovely and very clean, with tiled bathroom and spacious shower. Francisco offered to put out a 3rd bed in the room so we could all sleep comfortably and it was set up when we arrived. It was great to have air-conditioning after a hot day of touring and lie back and watch something on the big screen TV. Francisco and Rosie were very caring and accommodating, calling for taxis for us and checking in about our day. We loved being just a $5 cab ride from town which made the decision to go in for dinner very easy when we wanted to. We also liked the breakfasts sitting out on the patio in the front of the hotel watching the Belizean life go by. Francisco arranged our tours and was extremely prompt in E-mail correspondance before we came.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a porch and enjoyed listening to and watching the birds in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have spent 2 nights at Rumors and were well taken care of by very attentive staff. We were upgraded from a premium single to a premium double in the new section of the hotel. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had a coffeemaker and refrigerator and they even provided the coffee for the pot. The view is beautiful from high on the hill. They arranged a tour to Tikal for us and since it left at 7:30 and their restaurant didn't open til 7,so they said they would have our breakfast prepared by 7 so we could eat before we left. We had the Belizean breakfast and it was very good. We also ate one dinner in the restaurant and was very pleased with it. It is a quiet place not far out of town. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

On my last trip to Belize in August 2012, we went straight to San Ignacio. After spending the first week in three different hotels, a local recommended Rumors. Since I was traveling with my daughter and a friend who was confined to a wheelchair, we drove out to see the hotel. As soon as I met Frankie and Rosie, I knew we found the right place. When we returned the next morning to check in, we found the fence had been opened to to accommodate the wheel chair and a ramp built in front of the room door. Rosie cooked most of our meals for us and each one was more delicious than the last. We even enjoyed our meals on the patio outside our rooms. From there you can see mountains in both directions and surf the internet on their free WI-FI while the breeze keeps you comfortable. Rumors tops the long list of why I love San Ignacio. Thank you folks for being there. On my next trip, I'll call ahead and make reservations and plan my trip according to Rumors' availability. Rumors is now my favorite place to start out each morning and wind down each night in Belize! It is the best value in San Ignacio with all the modern creature comforts and excellent ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Property: Rumors Resort
Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a relatively fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views.We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping keeping you well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're an ideal outpost for the adventure travelers seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing