We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Rumors Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumors Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here last June with my father and daughter on a family trip. We thought this place was awesome, but even more so once we explored San Ignacio further. The rooms are incredibly clean, seem fairly new/updated, and were equipped with a refrigerator and coffee maker. Quiet location and not a lot of rooms.

Pro #1 It's located just right off the PAVED highway/road and super close to downtown. Originally we wanted to stay in one of the posh jungle lodges located about 5 miles away from here. After exploring the area, we were so thankful and happy that we decided to stay at Rumors. The roads to these jungle lodges are unpaved and it takes about 30 minutes just to go 5 miles. After seeing how difficult it was to get to these locations, I determined the only way I would stay at one of them is if I had no plans of leaving the resort, which is very unlikely.

Pro#2 The people that run/own this place are so nice and overly willing to go out of their way for you. Every evening they would stop by our room to see if we were going to be dining with them for dinner/ breakfast the next morning. They also set up a guided and escorted tour to Tikal for us. We ordered breakfast to go since this started early in the morning and they hand delivered it to our room all wrapped up and ready to go.

Pro#3 Probably one of the most delicious breakfasts in the entire country.

The only negative thing I noticed about this place was the first night we stayed here. We were tired from driving all day and didn't feel like looking for a place to eat dinner, so we decided to eat at their onsite restaurant. When we arrived for dinner we were the only ones there and it seemed as if we caught them off guard. I believe they were out of multiple items on the menu. It may have just been because we were there during rainy season, not sure.

Overall, I would absolutely, most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Cleanest rooms and quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makeupyourmind82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

From start to finish Rumors treated us with great care. We were greeted at Goldson Airport by Francisco himself who drove us back to San Ignacio complete with a local history lesson which was fantastic! We stayed for two nights. The staff were all professional, kind, and attentive from start to finish. The location was very convenient to get to Tikal and other Mayan sites and was just enough out of San Ignacio to provide an escape from the hustle and bustle. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and well supplied. We wanted for nothing at Rumors and would absolutely recommend it to anyone staying in the San Ignacio area!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon. Francisco and the staff made our stay extra special. The rooms all looked new, modern and clean but the staff is really what makes this hotel so great. The food we ate at the hotel was delicious. The hotel is also a quick cab ride (less than 5 minutes) to town if you decide to explore or eat outside of the hotel. I can't say enough pleasant things about our stay. My wife and I will be staying here next time we go back to San Ignacio!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had booked another hotel for our time in San Ignacio but canceled once we found Rumors. From the get go Francisco and his staff is unbelievably kind, and accommodating. We were always amazed at their gracious hospitality. The premium rooms are very clean, modern, and have all of the amenities that we are accustomed to when traveling. Don't let the fact that this location is a little out of town deter you, we found this to actually be a plus. We visited towards the end of the slow season and found the city of San Ignacio to be a great place to go to, but we did not see any place in town that compared. Rumors sets on the top of a hill, with great views, and is only a $5 (10$ BZ) cab ride out of town. Francisco and Rosie are both on site 24/7 to respond to your every need and Rumors has great plans for improvements and explanation. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment my wife, and I arrived in Belize, we knew that Rumors was the right choice. Francisco, Rosie, Mirna, Mark, and the rest of the staff(family) were unbelievably kind, and accommodating. The rooms are spotless and modern, as is the rest of the property. It really shows how much love/labor is put into Rumors daily! The night we arrived was our anniversary, so I inquired about a dinner arrangement. I can't begin to explain how fantastic that night was. So much effort went into making it an unforgettable evening. From the amazing food(Rosie is extremely talented), to decorating our room/dinner table, we felt pampered. We set up several tours through their connections, and every one was wonderful. We found the location to be absolutely prefect. The resort sits at the top of a hill just outside of San Ignacio. Birds, and a gentle breezes were a treat every day! This place is beautiful, and peaceful, and the bustle of town is barely five minutes away. Don't hesitate at all, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobertslobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently took a group of US doctors to stay for a week at Rumors Hotel and I must say that our stay was fantastic. First of all the staff at Rumors are so nice and friendly and eager to help with whatever you need. The rooms at the hotel are really nice, super clean and so comfortable. Our team of doctors were doing medical missions in several villages in the Cayo District and it was so nice to return to the hotel to the smiling faces, great food and fun atmosphere that abounds at the Rumors Hotel! As far as a group's staying at Rumors, the breakfast's and dinners were just amazing but the sack lunches were gourmet and we could not wait to see what was next for lunch! I am planning to take more groups to Rumors Hotel and and am looking forward to all the wonderful amenities available at Rumors Hotel. Thank you Rosy, Francisco and all the wonderful staff for everything to make our stay in Belize amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had only planned to spend 4 days here, and then move on to another resort NE of Belize City that was "pre-paid" with no refund. However we loved it so much here that we blew that one off, and stayed here for 8 days.

As best I could determine, this facility was originally built as an event center for weddings and other parties, and would be great for that. It was only recently that they started to add rooms, and started to open these about a year ago. All of the rooms are quite modern and clean. Hector senior is the father, and a building contractor. All of the work has been done to standards much higher than I found in most of Belize.

This is a family run business. Francisco and Rosie manage the operation, and are both on site 24/7 to respond to your every need. Mark is always around working on some improvement project. Rumors is constantly being improved and expanded. There is even plans for a pool in the future.

Even during the slow time, they were more than willing to open the kitchen, and fix us a meal any time we were not in town.

Don't let the fact that this location is a little out of town deter you, as this is actually a "plus". We visited during the "slow time", and still found the city of San Ignacio to be a great place to "go to", but did not see any place I would want to stay. Most of the places we would want to stay at were slightly out of town. Rumors sets on the top of a hill, with great views, and is only a $5 (10$ BZ) cab ride out of town.

About cabs - Due to high import tariffs, cars don't get replaced often in Belize. Autos as a general rule get driven until they are totally dead. Not just wounded, but dead. Many of these "wounded" cars spend their final years as cabs. We were in many that were scary. We recommend that you call Abilio @ 501-662-8407. His car is not the newest, but it is safe, and he is very responsive to your needs. We called him many times, and often set appointments with him. He is always on time and gracious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Homer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,246 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views. We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're the ideal outpost for the adventure traveler seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing