We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family run hotel”
Review of Rumors Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumors Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Clean rooms in a good location. Most importantly, friendly and helpful. All of our 'adventure tours' we're booked through them and we're great. Good guides and very fun. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed Jan 26 -29th 2014. Main purpose of our visit was to visit Tikkal, local caves, waterfalls, butterfly and hummingbird farm. Another of our party booked this hotel, and I'm very glad they did. It is about 4 Miles out of San Ignacio, which is a super busy and frenetic town, with lots of restaurants, bars, and tour operators. After booking to Tikkal with Maximum tours (which was fine) we discovered Rumors offers tours with their own guides, and we booked to go Rio Frio cave, and Rio An falls in the pine forest reserve.
Tikkal first - awesome Mayan ruins, lots to learn and see, and our guide Carlos was excellent. Maximum tours also helped with the border crossing (it's in Guatemala) and arranged breakfast and lunch for us on the way to and from.
Rio Frio and Rio An were also awesome experiences, as was the Barton Creek cave which we did the next day, all with the same guide - Diego Cruz. Diego is more than knowledgable, he knows the history pat, is an excellent story teller, and made the Mayan history come alive. I'm a nervous explorer (afraid of heights, closed spaces, the dark , you name it) but I did it all with Diego and our group. He was so confident, safety conscious, and made it all so interesting, I forgot to be scared! We saw stalagmites, stalagtites, columns, Mayan artifacts, bats, birds (Diego knows all the species and is an accomplished birder and rock climber), and travelled 2 Miles by canoe into Barton Creek cave (pitch black but we had headlamps). At the end of that day we stopped at the Malfunction Junction for a well deserved Belliken beer - literally on a deserted corner in the forest.
Back to Rumors - we got home everyday dirty, smelly, tired, and in need of a hot shower and food. They have both, or you can catch a cheap cab ride into San Ignacio for really good, cheap food. Cenaida's was the best - chicken, coconut rice and stew beans with a Belliken for less than $20 US each. Hana's was also vg - Kingfish and wine (not many places stock reasonably priced wine - it's mostly beer and rum drinks, like the "panty ripper" on every menu - coconut rum and pineapple juice! :)).
Rosie, Francisco, and Zorby are great at Rumors, and make sure you have the banan bread French toast if you can, it goes fast every morning!
The hotel is scrupulously clean, grounds beautiful, and the rooms well stocked. We will definitely be back as there are more caves, falls, and areas to explore. Btw - this area is popular with Hollywood royalty as Francis Ford Coppola has a lodge in the pine forest, with a private air strip. Many well known stars (Leo, Anne, Julia) have been to the caves, so you might get a surprise companion!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank malcolmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at Rumors for three nights recently and found the staff to be friendly, easygoing and very helpful. This is a great bargain -- lovely location, relaxing, clean rooms, full cable if you want it -- great experience! Rosy, Jessica and Yoby were all super nice, Rumors was just a $5 cab ride to town.

Room Tip: Go deluxe and get a mini fridge and coffee maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place is incredibly reasonable and a great jumping off point for trips into town and to Jungle excursions (did Caracol and Crystal Cave). Their tour guides are amazing (Diego is awesome!!). Had a great experience. A nice comfy room with three beds. Food is good, but don't miss taking a taxi into town for great Belizean bites! San Ignacio is a great town! Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Get a premium room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I just had another student group stay at Rumors, and they loved it yet again! Of course, with Frankie and Rosy there helming it, I knew they'd have a great stay, all 15 of them. I always like to make sure my student groups stay at a nice location, and that it's not right downtown at the same time. Mission accomplished with Rumors.

It's just a few miles from downtown, so it's easy to get to. The food there is great, and the students always mentioned that the breakfasts were phenomenal. I must say that Frankie and Rosy are very active with the local Rotaract club, and they work with students all the time, so they know exactly how to please them. They went out of their way to help a couple of students that had some bad street food, causing them to have to stay at the hotel all day instead of helping us with the community service projects. Thanks to them for that!

Will I be sending more groups there? For sure! You can't go wrong with Rumors.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My two visits to Rumors have both been excellent experiences. The owners live on-site and are superb hosts. Since there is a restaurant on the property, you can have breakfast, explore Belize all day and relax at the property when you return and have dinner at your room. The food is of high quality, with top-rate service. Making reservations is very easy, as your emails will be answered in a short time. The rooms are very clean and more than adequate furnishings. The views are spectacular in a countryside setting, but also very close to town. I highly recommend Rumors as the place to stay in the Cayo area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I found this to be a very pleasant place to stay. It's family run and management was very friendly and helpful. For example, they arranged to have breakfast ready for me each day before the restaurant was actually open for service. The accommodations are somewhat basic, but everything was clean and functioned. Plus, it's an easy 5 minute taxi ride to town. My only real complaint is that only some of the rooms have safes--management stored some of my items in the office safe, which was appreciated--and the beds are quite hard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cubicinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
857 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
649 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,263 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views. We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're the ideal outpost for the adventure traveler seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing