We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumors Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rumors Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights here in May, and were quite disappointed. Rosy was very helpful throughout but felt that she was pushing us to book tours and excursions with them - (we booked in town and got a really good deal!). Overall the hotel is sooooo outdated, the main restaurant look and feel is from the 80s, and it was a really quiet week that we were staying so barely anyone around. Room furniture was mis-matched. We had a lot of noise from the construction workers which was a shame. The little kitchenette was handy but overall the value for money was extremely poor. They also forgot to tell us things like the fact that rooms would only be cleaned every few days. Also - don't do your washing there...all our stuff discoloured badly....

Some good points - we arrived very early on check in day so they let us into our room early and provided us with a welcome dish, food portions were generous and it was cooked very well! Generally we were treated well, but the staff attitude changed the more days we stayed, I guess they were disappointed we didn't book tours with them, or eat breakfast and dinner each day.

We ate in town at Hanna's - fab food and would highly recommend it, Erva's was ok but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to eat at Cenaidas or Pops as it was labour day - I heard great reviews though!

Room Tip: Try and get one with a kitchenette in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumorsmanagement, Manager at Rumors Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks so much for your candid review.
We always look forward to your feedback, whether good or bad as a learning opportunity to improve our service and amenities wherever possible.

We are glad that these guests enjoyed our restaurant's food. I'm glad they also enjoyed our personnel's helpfulness throughout their stay and for acknowledging their flexibility in accommodating them despite having checked in way earlier than is permitted.

At Rumors Hotel, we make it a priority to keep consistency in our customer service, whether our guests book tours with us or not, or don't eat at our restaurant, or if they are locals or international guests, our staff has been trained to never discriminate. I regret to know that these guests felt otherwise during their stay.

Concerning our tours, it is customary for us to inquire via email to find out if we can help our guests sort out their tours. Upon arrival, we may inquire again with the intent to assist the guest wherever possible and if they need us to make any calls for them to preferred tour operators in town, we are always happy to do that as well. It surprises us that these guests would find this annoying rather than a genuine gesture of helpfulness. They could have simply sent an email reply from the first approach stating their disinterest and we would have understood.
The fact that we offer our own tours gives us that flexibility to offer you the best deals such as can be found in town as well. Our prices are not set in stone and are by default at par with those of tour operators in town.

These guests initially booked a standard room but opted for a premium room upon arrival. We offered them an upgrade to a spacious Premium Double Room for the price of a smaller Premium Single Room.
Upon arrival, it is our standard to inform our guests during our briefing that during slow season we do housekeeping every other day (while still taking out the trash daily) UNLESS they request it daily then we do not hesitate to comply. The first day, housekeeping was not provided (as had been mentioned to them), but when our guest requested it thereafter, houskeeping was done every day for the rest of their stay; something they are not giving us any credit for despite considering that they inexplicably broke our shower's shampoo/ conditioner dispenser (as if venting out their disappointment at it) and were not charged for it.

As for their laundry, we highly apologize for the housekeeper's let down and we are taking strict measures to ensure that this never happens again. Our guests also have the option of doing their laundry themselves.

As for the construction, we apologize if the noise was an issue (although their room was quite a distance from the construction and we can guarantee that there was no noise anywhere NEAR the room) but this is the only time (the slow season) we can actually take advantage of to carry out the construction of our new swimming pool which is expected to be completed by December if not till January.
The construction workers come in at 7:00am and leave at 5:00pm. On average, all guests doing tours either with us or otherwise, leave on their tour between 7:30am and 8:30pm then return between 4:00pm and 5:00pm. You can see how the window for noise inconvenience is very minimal.

We continue to stress the fact that we are a very young but rapidly growing hotel en rout to Resort category. We take your concerns seriously and strive to offer the best service possible. We hope that someday you'll give us the chance to show you first hand what an excellent experience we have to offer you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
102
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Walk, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I took a weekend getaway at Rumors and we truly enjoyed our stay there. The view from the balcony was so calming - lots of green with the backdrop of the Maya Mountains. The room was very clean, the attention to detail was nice and the kitchenette was useful. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephiecamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I just had a group of 13 volunteers stay at Rumors Hotel in The Cayo District of Belize and it was amazing thanks to the staff at Rumors Hotel! The rooms are fantastic, a great value for the price, very comfortable and have great air conditioning Cable TV and internet. The food from the restaurant was very good and they even packed our groups sack lunches that were nothing short of gourmet! I highly recommend Rumors Resort Hotel for volunteer groups.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Rumours Resort
The location is perfect if you are driving as it is quiet and scenic. In comparison to the other options the price seems fair; although high for what is offered.

Positives:
- the beds were comfortable (firm)
- balcony was a pleasant feature and had a nice view of the landscape (the back rooms have this view; whereas the front of the hotel faces the highway)
- wifi was quite strong (by Belizean standards)
- fair price for laundry service $8-9bzd for a bag
- family owned; and Belizean owned



Negatives:
- room cleaning was inconsistent and not cleaned at all on one of our days (we stayed 4 nights)
- ants in the kitchen area, from the moment we arrived
- hotel staff was not knowledgeable re directions to local tourist attractions/sights and were not helpful for driving directions; which was frustrating as there are only a few that would need clarification.

TIP:
If you have a car the fruit market in San Ignacio is very cheap and has a wide range of tropical fruit (in good condition). Only $2bzd for a large papaya and .25 for 5 bananas (although these prices may vary). The market is close to the river (small bridge) and across from theNew French Bakery.






Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumorsmanagement, Manager at Rumors Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your candid review.
We always look forward to your feedback, whether good or bad as an opportunity to learn from and improve the quality of our services and amenities.

We are glad to know that our valued guest found our location to be a perfect one. We believe that this is one of our strongest selling point indeed and we make it clear on our website and all other sites that we cater to travelers seeking a quiet, fresh, green, and relaxing getaway while keeping within easy access to the town's conveniences. This is what we sell, relaxation as opposed to the hustle and bustle of town.

We believe that our prices are fair as our guest has stated. You have the option of booking an economy room (which have been recently renovated) and a premium room. Our prices are designed to put us on the competitive edge with what you'll find in town.

As for our room cleaning, it is our standard to inform our guests upon arrival and during our briefing that in the slow season we offer housekeeping every other day (while still taking out their trash daily) UNLESS they request that it be done daily, then we comply. We have taken this matter very seriously and have taken strict measure to ensure that this never happens again.

Concerning our staff's knowledge of directions, etc. we have taken measure to ensure that all front desk personnel get familiarized with the necessary information to assist our guests. We have also created our own customized map of San Ignacio with detailed street names, one-ways & two-way streets, and have pinpointed all major attractions and popular restaurants, etc. on the map. This map is free of cost and can be requested at our front desk.

As for the ants, these are ants that live in the coconut threes but somehow one or two eventually stray into our rooms. We have honestly struggled to keep them out and are still testing out several methods to win this battle. We would need to completely eliminate the entire population in every single tree to completely overcome them. This is easier said than done but i can assure you we are working hard at it.

We must say that every guest's review offers us the ability to learn something new about ourselves. We take your concerns seriously and continually strive towards higher quality standards. We are a small but rapidly growing hotel. We hope that as a potential guest, you would give us the chance to show you first hand what a great experience we have to offer you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Judy booked Rumors online with the help of tripadvisor & lonely planet reviews. Good choice. Rosie, Jennifer & all the staff were so helpful & accommodating. They can book tours for you & while we had already booked our tours, I would not hesitate to use them. They are a short distancefrom town, however Pacz tours and probably most of them will pick you up & drop you off there. They are fairly new in the business & are still growing but very receptive to feedback. The first night we had dinner there, I preadvised we would be coming. Said I was dying to try the ?... .& would bethere around 6. We got there about 6:05 & my dinner was on the table before Judy ordered. Jennifer was totally receptive to my feedback. All good. They also offered to get anything from town we needed & thier bar prices are the same as town or cheaper than some. I would recommend Rumors to fellow travellers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinH104284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from Belize yesterday. We spent our first three nights at Rumors and we had the best time. The room was clean, spacious and affordable. The restaurant was delicious for dinner and breakfast. The entire staff was friendly and helpful.

The resort was cozy and just a few minutes from the town and some of the ruins.

We also booked two tour through the resort and loved them both. The ATM cave tour with Emil was unbelievable. He really knew the cave and the history. I would recommend him to anyone for the caves.

The trip to Caracol with Amin was also great. It was a long drive to the ruins, but Amin was so much fun, it seemed much shorter. Once we got to Caracol, he knew a lot about the Mayans and the ruins.

I would recommend Rumors to anyone looking to stay in San Ignacio.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

All I wanted was AC, hot running water, and beautiful views when I traveled to Belize but Rumors offered so much more. The staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great. Spaces to take in the views and either have private conversations or hang out as a large group. We took a team of 12 volunteers from the U.S. and this place was perfect. Right price and good location. Close to Maya ruins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shea_4theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Property: Rumors Resort
Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a relatively fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views.We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping keeping you well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're an ideal outpost for the adventure travelers seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing