We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella's Backpackers
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bxl
1 review
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay, clean, cheap and relaxing. The rooftop terrace just rocks, perfect place to watch the moon rise while meeting others backpackers.
Thanks Céline and Leslie for everything.

E&R from Belgium.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vanhoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    33
    10
    13
    16
See reviews for
2
30
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Love this place. The rooftop lounge- complete with hammocks, a canopy, and a great view- is a great place to chill out with other travelers and worth the trip alone. Quintessential backpackers haven; has everything you need, nothing you don't. Great location, walking distance to everything.

Leslie knows everyone and everything in San Ignacio, and was a phenomenal host who took care of any requests. Having him as a resource was a huge help, and I couldn't have been happier.

If I get the chance to travel through Belize again, I will definitely be stopping by. One of my favorite hostels worldwide for the ambiance and friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Bella's is only a couple of minutes walking from the bus station so there is no need in taking a taxi. The house itself is also quite nice with a really cool rooftop terrace. The staff is very nice and they even gave us their blender for making our own pina coladas. There are, however, a couple of but's:
- The downstairs dorm has only 3 lockers for 9 beds and there is a window to the kitchen area. You would need to take all your valuables with you if the lockers are taken. Also they are tiny and normal sized padlocks don't fit.
- There is one bathroom / shower for the dorm downstairs so I have no idea what it is like if it's crowded.
- Check very carefully for bedbugs. I know this is not necessarily the staff's fault as you never know who brought them in the first place. BUT the downstairs dorm was full of them when we were there and we moved upstairs (where it was fine then). Just be sure to check carefully.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie-and-Celinie, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks for your kind compliment and yes these bugs can be a nuisance but there is no need for exageration my friend we do our best to avoid situation like this and do beds inspection twice a week but as you know its a continous work because these creatures come and go with travelers...we appreciate your stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels...peace and love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you so much Leslie and Celiny! You guys were great! We were greeted by Leslie at the bus terminal and he walked us up to Bella's. We were pretty tired from the bus ride so Leslie went to get us some real Belizian food and brought it back to the hostel. We had a nice clean private room. Nice and quiet cause not directly on the Main Street. Leslie organized a tour for us to the ATM caves. It was awesome! Well worth the cost! When we go back to the hostel Leslie and Celiny cooked everyone dinner! It was awesome and even came with a couple glasses of rum punch! The common area is a nice hang out for everyone and has a hammock and comfortable couch. Games and books available for use. Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpaulssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie-and-Celinie, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks guys for the great review! It was wonderful to meet you and have you come stay with us. Hope all your travels go well and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We chose Bella's because the two proprietors seemed really friendly and the upstairs loft space was airy and looked like a cabin. There were plenty of books, paintings, a big upstairs patio space, a kitchen downstairs, and our private off the loft dorm had a balcony and lots of windows. Unfortunately, the next morning my friend found a bed bug on her pillow and it was laying eggs. The proprietor was super concerned but we had to go. From what he said, I gather they have been fighting a bed bug problem for some time. It may just be in the upstairs dorm, which is wood, and not downtowns. Too bad because we found the hosts super accommodating, the price is good ($10 usd for a dorm bed or $20 for a private), and the location close to the centre of town. If you stay here, check the bed thoroughly!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie-and-Celinie, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
You're 100% right, however: Being so close to the jungle, you can never keep out every creature that lives out there. We're doing all we can to keep cleanliness as close to 100% as possible, knowing that we will never fully succeed at it. We treat the beds two times a week, and inspect them every time they're made and a new guest comes in. Still, every now and then they slip through the cracks. Still, thanks for your kind compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the private room. The place is really nice, built out of wood with a cozy feeling, spacious and simple rooms. When we stayed there were no other guests since the whole town is pretty empty during low season, so the room was really private (you need to go into the dorm to get in the private).
Only place in town with a hostel feeling to it - nice kitchen, nice staff, books to trade, and affordable prices.
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ittaitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights in a private room. Its not luxury but for a budget travel it was perfect. It's eclectic, friendly and perfect for budget travellers wanting to meet some friends. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebakerintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Lower Dover Field Station & Jungle Lodge
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Property: Bella's Backpackers
Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella's Backpackers hostel has both private w/private bath and semi private with shared bath. The dorms are a mix of semi-private connecting rooms with three to five beds per room. We have a centralized kitchen and social areas with comfy chill-out couch, hammocks, chairs, and a BBQ grill for your use. High speed wifi, nice people, communal dinners sometimes, hostel outings sometimes are offered. We have tour recommendations and courtesy bookings are possible. We are your base for your adventures while in San Ignacio with information about the rest of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bella's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing