We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belize Botanic Gardens”

Belize Botanic Gardens
Ranked #8 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belize Botanic Gardens is a great place to spend from a few hours to the whole day! Come and take one of our guided tours through the gardens and discover some of the secrets within the plants and trees. Do you know what perfumes Chanel No5? or what tree can colour your clothes? come and find the answers. Visit our Orchid house with over 120 orchids species of Belize.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Belize Botanic Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Visiting the Botanic Gardens was a terrific was to spend an hour or two. The naturalist explained the various trees/shrubs/flowers with particular emphasis on the historical medicinal purposes of these plants. One can be guided or self-guide (or both?). The plant material is well marked with common and Latin names. It is a lovely alternative to days of ruins-visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing if you love peace and nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The Belize Botanic Gardens are a great place to visit. At the office you can buy a self guided booklet (I believe that was 15 Belize dollars per booklet and then there is no extra entrance fee per person) which will take you on a very clear walk trough the gardens. There is a lot of very interessant information about the different trees that are clearly marked along the (easy to walk on) path.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkievdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Botanic Gardens was adjust to the DuPlooys Jungle Lodge where we stayed and so was so convenient to enjoy it more than once as we walked the property. Beautiful grounds and displays.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A learning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent walking map. Nicely labeled trees and some flowers. Sadly, not as much in bloom as we would have liked, and no orchids were blooming at the time.
This is an arduous walk on a hot day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JaH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I have not been much for these type o attractions but I was with a large group and visiting this attraction was included. The trip up the bumpy roads on the side of a mountain is not for the faint of heart. The gardens were nice and the guide was helpful. That are very proud of their native plants and happy to tell you about them. The climb to re top of the tower is worth the view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harbridgetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belize Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Belize Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing