We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and loved every minute of it. The treetop rooms 9 and 10 are gorgeous. In fact no. 10 is where Prince Harry stayed during his recent visit to Belize. It's the perfect combination of comfort and nature. The staff are wonderful, the setting is beautiful and there's loads of stuff to do while you're there. We went on the tours to the ATM cave and Tikal, both were really interesting and well worth the long drive to get to them.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10, the treetop rooms, are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

This resort has it all. Fabulous hosts - owners Mick & Lucy Fleming both of whom graciously introduced themselves to all the guests throughout our stay, tastefully done grounds complete with beautifully arranged plantings of both native and specialty trees, shrubs and flowering plants, friendly and helpful staff and unique and fun decor throughout both the accommodations themselves and around the resort particularly in the restaurant on bar areas. We stayed in two rooms - the Macal cottage for most of our stay which was a stunning room and then for our final night one of the two tree top cottages (yes the one Prince Harry slept in the night before). Each room is decorated differently with its own style and layout. The Macal Cottage had two balconies both of which had a view of the Macal River (although it was quite a distance away). It had a great bathroom, perfect for a couple with his and hers showers and sinks. The Treetop Cottage was different entirely, a bit bigger and multi-leveled. The bathroom was right at the top and the bedroom came next with a living room at the bottem surrounded by a walk-around deck overlooking the Macal River (much closer to the river in this room). Bonus in this room was the proximity to the animals - there was a tiny troop on Howler Monkeys hanging out in the trees by the room (troop of three - Belize's howlers were struck with yellow fever so there arn't many to see) and quite a few suntanning large iguanas. We very much enjoyed that. Our only complaint about the treetop Cottage (and its a tiny one) is that it didn't have enough room to put our clothing only two exposed closets with hangers, no drawers (but then we are not the lightest packers in the world - gotta work on that!). The Macal Cottage had a great armore with doors and drawers and a bench so all of our stuff was neatly hidden away. Michelle; who booked our tours was great. Definitely plan to sign up to go with others s all the tours are pricey. We went to ATM and Tikal from this resort. Both are must do's for sure! Other guests didn't speak highly of Mountain Pine Ridge. We wished we went to the Belize Zoo though from here as it is apparently worthwhile. The food was very good and the wine list was as well. The spa was worthwhile and had a very pretty view (it's a long walk up though so pair it with a tour of the butterfly farm to catch your breath :o)! Our stay was during the time of Prince Harry's visit to Belize. He stayed at this resort. The staff were very excited and it was fun to watch them all prepare. I think they even polished the palm trees. Despite such a big celebrity event, owners and staff alike made sure the "regular" guests were not overlooked during Harry's visit which made us like this resort even more. Harry spent most of his time - dinner and breakfast at the pool area which is stunning.

Room Tip: Macal Cottage or Treetop Cottage. Macal is situated closer to the restaurant and bar so you may hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

1. Chaa creek very nice but very expensive unless you take their rustic cabins (sans electricity etc). Food and service is excellent. If you can afford it, go for it, you will not be disappointed. Leave time to explore their huge property. Take the canoeing trip upstream but can be a wee bit challenging in couple of spots. There is no charge for the Canoe rental. Free guided bird walk right on the property is nice (binoculars are provided). Gravel road to property of about couple of miles, 4x4 preferable. Friendly staff, nice butterfly breeding center. Cell phone reception spotty, internet at “business center” and at restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. I liked where (if I were to believe them) that the profits are shared with the local people and workers. Featured in Best ECO lodges around the world. They try to be environmentally friendly and help the local economy

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supuvjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay, and used it as our hotel to get to Tikal. Great service, good food and fair pricing. The resort has a wide range of trips and a lot of trails internallys as well. Prince Harry stayed there the night before we arrived, which is a nice statement.

Everything is relative - we came from Blancenaux, which is more remote - but Chaa Creek is an excellent choice for those who want a more moderate level of adventure.

Room Tip: We probably had the worst room in the house, near the restaurant/bar, and it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoHawks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had lived in Belize some 25 years ago but never stayed at the Lodge. In a recent trip with friends, we made it a point to stay there. It was a wonderful experience - lovely setting in the middle of of nature, attentive staff, good food and charming little bungalows. One can choose many activities or just laze around the pool, reading books!!

Only other comment - you may be awoken at 3am by the howling monkeys!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I kicked off our Belizean honeymoon adventure with three nights at the Lodge at Chaa Creek and could not imagine having started off at any other place. Unfortunately we missed Prince Harry's visit to the lodge by a week! The lodge was awesome and definitely unique! The incredible rainforest atmosphere was equally matched with impeccable hospitality. Our stay included daily breakfast which to our surprise ended up being a very extensive and delicious menu! Every day the lodge offers a special meal (for breakfast and dinner) along with at least 5 additional meals - all complimentary!

The staff at Chaa Creek was simply amazing and helped make our jungle experience even more fulfilling- from setting up transfers and excursions to making local recommendations, they were on it! One of our most memorable excursions was free (believe it or not) - we canoed from the resort to the town of San Ignacio where we spent the afternoon hitting up the local bars (Mr. Greedy's, Flayvas) and ate at a local restaurant (Ko-ox Han-nah).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My first trip to Belize we stayed only in San Pedro. My second trip I wanted to experience the jungle also. Chaa Creek is expensive but you get your money's worth. The first morning I woke up with the mist over the Maya Mountains I was enthralled. The early morning bird walk is not to be missed. I felt satisfied when I saw the Keel -Billed Toucan and a green parrot. We canoed down the river and enjoyed ourselves so much. We wandered around San Ignacio, had a wonderful lunch and were transported back to the lodge. The second day we visited the butterfly farm and were very impressed. We went to Bartons Cave which was beautiful. The lodging was wonderful, the food great, but the real reason we enjoyed it so much, and will return are the people who work there. All of our guides and the drivers to and from the airport were wonderful genuine people. The manager Ben Awe could not have been more helpful. Thank-you Ben for making our trip so wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
640 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
142 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
405 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £372 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing