We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windy Hill Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
1,110
147
43
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
147
43
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysspa villabutterfly farmhorseback ridingmedicine trailthe riverorchard villatreetop suitenature centergarden jacuzziearly morning bird watchingon siteno electricitymain resortmayan ruinsnight walknatural history
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
896 - 901 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed a couple of days there and really enjoyed every second. The bar was just perfect, the pool, the service, horse-riding, everything was lovable. Not one thing to criticize. We'll be back one day. If you got the possibility to do so, you should experience the Macal River Camp for at least one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbo4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked our trip months in advance having read all of the wonderful reviews, and had high expectations. The trip not only met, but exceeded everything we had hoped for. The staff was absolutely amazing, talk about having the right people in the right places! Ricky was our tour guide taking us to the Belize Zoo, Xunantunich and Cahal Pech. He obviously loves what he does and it shows. We learned so much about the historical sites and the birds and animals of Belize. The restaurant staff was friendly and attentive, and the bartenders were amazing. We had one of the treetop suites and the room was wonderful. The spa was closed while we were there, so we had the tough time of having massages in the room (talk about being spoiled!). The food was also amazing, even the pack lunch we got on our full day excursions! Thank you to the staff, and to the Flemings for being such amazing hosts. We will be back!

-Scott and Nicole

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrumanThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Incredible! What a phenomenal way to experience beautiful Belize. Chaa Creek has it all, at this luxurious ecolodge in the middle of the rain forest. It was a long drive from the airport but the gracious a funny driver made stops along the way. We were so impressed with the knowledge and humor of all the guides. We arrived to the lodge after dark but were instantly enchanted by the romantic lighting and the gorgeous premises. We stayed in the Spa Villa. A gorgeous house at the top of the hill with three bedrooms and enough space for several couples or a large family. The view over the rainforest from the villa seemed to go on forever. Breathtaking. The walk to the main restaurant requires a series of steep stair but it is very easy to go up and down regardless of level of fitness. The food was fair during the evenings but the breakfasts were wonderful. The best part of Chaa Creek is the extensive educational activities on site that are deigned to inspire and educate! The Blue Morpho butterfly breeding center is exceptional and it sits next to a natural history museum. The blue Morpho butterflies are a fluorescent blue and are stunning in the backdrop of the green lush rainforest. Wake up early one morning for the am bird walk! The amount of birds on the grounds are immense. Mishca was the guide and he is so knowledgeable and passionate about the birds he spots high in the treetops. Also stay up late for the Night Crawler Hike. Those shiny sparkles in the grass at night look like glitter, but they are really spider eyes! We learned so much and Allen is exceptional. Much praise is extended to Allen. He was also our guide for the Xuantanich Tour which is a definite must. Beware of the howler monkeys in the trees greeting you as you enter the park. Be sure to climb to the top of the main Temple. The views from this vantage point leave you speechless. Allen was also our guide for the Medicinal Trail Walk. It teaches you that "for Every Ailment or Difficulty on Earth, the Spirits have provided a Cure, you just have to find it" in the rainforest. The cure frequently grows right next to the cause. Fascinating Tour. One of the most relaxing adventures of our stay was the self guided canoe trip down the Macal River. It was so peaceful and lovely. There was only one spot that there was a heavy current but overall a very easy canoe trip. The grounds at Chaa were beautiful. The accommodations were great, but the staff made our stay memorable. The other thatched roof jungle huts on the grounds were very authentic, but we were happy to have the Air conditioning of the spa villa that the other rooms did not have. Belize was very hot during late June when we traveled. Go to Chaa Creek and you will leave with treasured memories that will last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Spa Villa is an exceptional choice for families of several couples. The benefit is that air conditioning is available and you ave access to a full service kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wow! My husband and I wanted an adventurous yet luxurious experience for our honeymoon and wow, did this place deliver! Every time I think back to our time there I cannot believe how lucky we were to have experienced something so unique.
Our cottage looked out onto the mountains and sitting in our hammocks of an evening after a day of activities was so relaxing. To top it off with some of the delicious cocktails made for a perfect location. We had the most basic of cottages but it still had the largest bed I have ever stayed in, an amazing double bathroom and outdoor shower in our own private garden.
Lying by the pool reading after a long day was just idyllic. However even more special was the night we decided to make the most of the 24 hour opening and swam under the stars - peaceful, romantic, and breath-taking!
Staff were fantastic, especially the tour guides (we did Xunantunich and the ATM – separate reviews completed!) - we had booked private tours and it was well worth it. I highly recommend Ricky, who was so knowledgeable and passionate about Belize and its culture and history that it really ignited our interest even more!
The Coma Massage (a lovely gift from my husband) – at the Hilltop Spa, was exceptional.
The food was expensive but good quality and a nice variety. I have to say we enjoyed the pool side/day time meals as much, if not more, than some of the evening ones.
One of the most unbelievable things is how at home we felt here even during a three night stay. We were so sad to leave, though very lucky that we went on to enjoy yet another Belizean adventure at Matachica.
Do not visit Belize without experiencing this Lodge and the trips which you can go on from it!

Room Tip: We had the most basic room package and it was still a very good size!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katewillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile


Chaa creek review:

I stayed in the Chaa creek lodge with two girlfriends at the end of June. We wanted to have a more rustic but comfortable experience and we got just what we wanted!

Lodging: It was off season so we were often the only ones at our lodge site. Though it is a 'camp site' it is very clean! The showers and bathrooms are cleaned daily and we had no issues with amenities. Since you're surrounded by a rainforest it's not uncommon to see spiders, small reptiles, moths, and even bats (had a few scares in the bathroom). It's all part of the experience though and nothing we were not anticipating. Also, as female travellers, safety was important to us. We felt very safe and comfortable at Chaa. Mosquitos are not that bad but we did come away with 5 or so bites each.

Food: a-mazing. We feel very fortunate to have chosen the lodging option and have breakfast and dinner included with our lodging. In our opinion, the quality and quantity of our meals at the lodge were just as good as a $13 lunch you'd pay for at the resort!

Location: we were certainly in a rainforest! We woke up to sounds of birds and howler monkeys at around 630am every morning. FYI ear plugs and eye masks are handy to bring. The location is great for the ATM (cave excursion) but it is very far from snorkelling. We ended up trekking (by public transportation and cab) 4 hours to the other side of Belize to snorkel because it was something we couldn't pass up. Otherwise, snorkelling from Chaa would cost $300 US each!

Overall experience: fantastic. The staff are wonderful and kind. The manager is also amazing and will do what she can to make sure you enjoy your stay. It really is a getaway ideal for some down time and a chance to reconnect with the simple things. If you're looking for night life or any daytime programs you won't find it here (as you might with other resorts). My friends and I were satisfied with our excursions and spending our time in the infinity pool when we were back at the resort.
I personally think 3 days is an ideal time frame to stay here. Otherwise you may get bored unless you are able to afford many excursions (very pricey but worth every penny).

Finally, Dosio and his family made our experience at the lodge a memorable one. He is so kind and genuinely cares that you enjoy your stay here. He is also a great source of info, whether it be about excursions or Belizean culture. His wife and sister in law prepare the meals and they do a phenomenal job.
Without him and his family, I think it would be an entirely different experience. If you're reading this, management, we think he deserves a promotion :)

Ps. There is a list on their website for handy things to bring. It was a very helpful list- the orientation to excursions is limited or non existent. Just prepare well and use your instincts and you'll have a great time!



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taurustales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews