We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consider the Casitas at the Macal River Camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consider the Casitas at the Macal River Camp!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent four nights in a platform cabin treehouse and loved it. Dozio and his crew welcomed us and were very gracious and helpful. The cabins themselves are spacious and the beds comfortable. The bath house is exceptionally clean as are the bathrooms. The food was great and the staff was willing to accommodate our requests for vegetarian meals. Having access to all the amenities of the main property provided lots of activities and fun things to do. We were not troubled by bugs at the camp, though got bit by sand flies on the ground of the main lodge. We did three tours and all were high quality and utilized the spa quite happily, too. A great way to save some money but have a resort experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    139
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
404
497
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Trip to Belize with family and we did 4 nights at Chaa Creek before heading to beach. The grounds and staff are great. Food overall was very good had choices for all members of the family. The on-site activities were very nice, horse back riding with Robert was great- kids had to go twice in same day. I really enjoyed early morning bird watching. Rain prevented us from doing night walk, but not resort fault. Overall great time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Macal River Camp in early November. We loved the peace and quiet of the resort. I was a bit freaked out about the bugs, but it was definitely worth it to stay here. Dozio and his family were wonderful! We loved the meals that were prepared! We were the only ones at the camp for the majority of our stay and he would sit with us while we ate. He is a wealth of information and we enjoyed talking to him. I personally loved hearing the howler monkeys at night and would look forward to it every night. My boyfriend saw an armadillo and a toucan around the campsite. We did a night hike and saw tarantulas, frogs, kikanju (sp?), and lots of weird insects. It's completely safe. It does get dark at night so flashlights are absolutely mandatory. I would not walk back to the camp once it gets dark though via the trail. It is a 10-15 minute hike back to the camp, but there is the option of getting a ride back to the camp by Dozio or the guards. The food is a bit pricey at the resort so we had brought some snacks with us. There is a water station to fill your water at the camp. We wanted to do the ATM tour and see Xunantunich, but it had rained too much so we were unable to. It actually turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we were able to explore the resort more and relax before we trekked around the country.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenjenmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Chaa Creek Lodge and found our experience to be outstanding. It is a beautiful setting with wonderful thatched roof accommodations. The food was delicious. The staff was very friendly, happy, respectful and accommodating. The entire property was impeccably maintained... The grounds, rooms, restaurant, pool, and trails. For a tropical rainforest getaway, it is the best. We highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dalednet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Because heavy rains flooded the rivers, bridges and some roads, we were property-bound the duration of our stay. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure there are worse places to be stuck, but the outside activities were something to which we were looked forward.

The property is tranquil and well-groomed. Our room was okay despite the absence of air conditioning. We didn't like the bugs that fell from the thatch roof onto our bed at dusk, and the option of a bed net would have been nice.

Food was good, but dinner (which was not included in the price of our stay) was pricey, as were the drinks in the bar. However, when there's no competition, this is usually the case. My traveling companion loved the facial at the spa.

One suggestion for the owners/management of the Lodge would be to offer flashlights to guests for the evening hours. Darkness falls about 6pm, and the outside pathway lighting is totally insufficient for safe walking, especially when it's wet. They offer US$10 flashlights in the gift shop, but that felt gouging. BRING A FLASHLIGHT!

Room Tip: Staff loved telling us that we were in a bungalow room attached to the room that Prince Harry allege...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoisheBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our 6 person family stayed @ Chaa. We had a package which included our meals & the meals were yummy! I strongly advise you purchase the meal package as the restaurant is a bit pricey. The grounds @ Chaa are gorgeous! The pool area is beautiful & sparkling clean. My birthday was during our stay & my thoughtful daughter arranged a birthday cake. The resort took extra steps to serve us a private, candlelight dinner under the palapa by the pool w/fresh flowers. It was such a special surprise! The staff is top notch, Maria in the restaurant was so friendly & accommodating. The Bartenders were great. Saul was such fun & so personable. We visited Tikal which was incredible. Samuel (our guide) was so knowledgeable & had such pride of his heritage & Roberto (our driver) were great. Tikal is a must see! Overall, the Lodge @ Chaa Creek was a great place. On the down side...there were 4 (2 singles & 1 couple) of us (60-80 years old) who shared Spa Villa since it had 3 BRs & A/C. It was beautiful, comfortable & had good views BUT (and this is a big ole but)...it had 160 steep steps (one way) to get to the main resort area. This meant for each meal or a trip to the pool or anything you had to trek up & down those steep, wide steps thru the jungle. It was dark @ night climbing up to the Villa. Also, the A/C in the master BR did not work. We reported it each day & each day someone came to look @ it & stated it needed Freon. It was never fixed which made the whole villa very warm as 2 units could not cool the common areas & the 3 BRs. It made sleeping difficult. The main reason we rented it was because of the A/C. Upon check out the office said they were unaware there was a problem w/the A/C (well who was sending the repairmen?) so they would comp a bar tab. I would not recommend Spa Villa for people w/young children or for older people. For young couples or families w/teens it would not be much of a issue. But up & down those 160 steps each way 3 times a day...wow! My daughter & S-I-L had a beautiful unit by the pool so they were central to everything. I wish they had mentioned the stairs & isolation of Spa Villa when we were booking as we most definitely would not have booked it. That being said, would I visit The lodge @ Chaa again, most assuredly. It is a beautiful place & a shining star of Belize.

Room Tip: Spa Villa is isolated & has 160 very steep, wide stairs(each way) to get to the main area of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I was at Chaa Creek Lodge for my two day's internship dated November 28,29th,2013. it was a wonderful experience been there. So friendly staff and a beautiful place to be. I was able to be in most of the departments and it was good experience.

Thanks

Mr. Eber Chan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Texas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing