We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Mic and Lucy have turned this lodge, over the years, into an incredible oasis of luxury, perfectly located in the jungle. Peaceful and absolutely beautiful always!
Can never forget my first trip as a starving explorer, when the kitchen was opened especially for us and we were fed the best flour tortillas and an incredibly delicious peanut soup. Thanks Mic! That incredible gesture of hospitality has remained with me all these years.
Congratulations to you and Lucy for the dedication to perfection and that true spirit of hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

As 4 men travelling around, we stayed in 2 cottages for 2 nights in November. The Lodge is a first class experience with friendly staff and lovely thatched cottages dotted around, and right next to the Macal River in the rainforest. Unfortunately they had had 5 days of rain and it carried on so the river was swollen which meant no canoeing or caving, also no mountain biking or horse riding because everywhere was soaked. There's no mobile phone signals. The Lodge was very quiet and we were a tad bored so each afternoon we paid USD30 each way to the nearest town for drinks and eats, although what we spent on cabs we probably saved because it was a lot cheaper. We did manage to get on the bus which transports the staff back to the town once, they all squashed up to cram us in, great fun.

Room Tip: All the cottages are built in individual spots and are amazing. There are treetop Jacuzzi suites as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAIRDA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a lovely property! My mom and I stayed at Chaa Creek in early December and spent 2 nights at the Macal River Camp, and 2 nights at the Lodge. The camp was great - it was incredibly clean and well kept. Docio and his family are wonderful - they really take pride in the camp and make it a memorable experience for their guests. The food was delicious, and you can take advantage of all of the amenities at the Lodge, which is great. I was worried about the bugs, but there were no mosquitoes and the only spiders we saw were from a 'safe distance'. You have to realize that you are in the jungle, and you will see bugs, but I am an arachnophobe and I survived just fine!

The Lodge was beautiful and all of the staff were so very gracious and friendly - they really were the highlight of the trip! They work so hard and their dedication to the property is evident in everything that they do. The night creatures tour is a must, the butterfly farm was very informative and the guided canoe trip to San Ignacio on market day (with Mishek) was great - make sure to check out the Iguana Project at the San Ignacio Hotel if you are in town - so cool. It was extremely quiet at Chaa Creek when we were there, so it felt as though we had the entire place to ourselves, which was fantastic. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chaa Creek to family and friends, we had a wonderful time and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookie0393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My new husband and I had such a wonderful time at Chaa Creek! We did a Hiking Boots and Swim Suits package and stayed at Chaa Creek for the first three nights of our trip. We spent our first full day exploring the gorgeous resort's hiking trails and butterfly farm, staring in awe at the toucans, iguanas and foxes that roam the surrounding rain forest. The next day, I woke up feeling ill and we decided to cancel our planned full day trip to Tikal. I was very disappointed - seeing a Mayan ruin was going to be a highlight for us! However, the staff pampered me with fresh brewed ginger tea and I felt much better by mid-morning. We asked the staff if there was anything else we could do as it was our last full day at Chaa Creek. They recommended replacing Tikal with Xunantunich (free of charge) and we couldn't be happier. Climbing El Castillo is my favorite memory of Belize! The chef also prepared a simple meal for me that evening. The guides, who all work for Chaa Creek, are amazing. We spent time with five of them throughout the course of our trip and they were all kind and informative. Everyone on the staff seemed very happy to be there. The food was also great. All meals were included in our package and we looked forward to a different dinner menu every night. The one drawback is that a lot of insects (not the biting kind) would come out at night. However, we were in the rain forest during rainy season, so it's not very surprising.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

it's a very peaceful place right inside the rain forest. there is no air conditioning but you won't need it as long as the windows are open and ceiling fan kept on.
dinner menu is a set menu of 4 courses: soup, salad, entree and dessert. while the food tasted good, the meal comes out to USD45/BZD90 per person including tax and tip. for that kind of money, i would've had a gourmet meal at a top restaurant in a big city. one night, i only ordered the entree (the a la carte option) of fish. that came out to USD37/BZD75. again the food tasted good but on the pricey side and since you're far away from town, there isn't really much of a choice. i only wish they had more local food options instead of just the very western/American kind on their set menu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Chaa Creek epitomizes the perfect combination of luxury, service and unspoiled natural beauty.

The accommodations were beautifully designed and maintained. The amenities were everything one could want, unless you must have a TV or telephone in your room. The activities available on property allow you to enjoy the rainforest and the river. The off-property activities were exciting (don't miss ATM).

The restaurant has a limited menu, but the kitchen executes the dishes with great skill. The servers are the best trained I have ever come across outside of a fine restaurant in NYC.

The staff there is completely dedicated to meeting a guest's every need.

It deserves its five star reviews.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stephenddiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent four nights in a platform cabin treehouse and loved it. Dozio and his crew welcomed us and were very gracious and helpful. The cabins themselves are spacious and the beds comfortable. The bath house is exceptionally clean as are the bathrooms. The food was great and the staff was willing to accommodate our requests for vegetarian meals. Having access to all the amenities of the main property provided lots of activities and fun things to do. We were not troubled by bugs at the camp, though got bit by sand flies on the ground of the main lodge. We did three tours and all were high quality and utilized the spa quite happily, too. A great way to save some money but have a resort experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
637 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £349 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing