We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and dined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent 3 nights at CC, the first at the lodge and the 2/3 nights at the casita camp. We were so pleased with the personalized care we received while there. We found ourselves often laughing about just how surreal everything was...from the tiki torch lit dinner for 2 by the pool to the flower petals strewn across our bedroom floor, CC staff made the experience one hard to forget.

Our time at the casitas traded the luxury and glitz of the resort for cozy campfire comfort. Docio and his family were very accommodating throughout our stay. We treasured our dinner time spent getting to know all the other guests and their travel stories.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I suspect that Chaa Creek in effort to become more upscale lost some ambience along the way. There is a very American resort feel to the place - not helped by (when we were there) a very demanding in some cases rude American contingent. That said
Location perfect and beautiful Cannot see vistas or river as they have let trees obscure views from rooms and they could definitely trim trees for better experience from rooms. Rooms great, clean and well maintained. We could never get any shower temperature other than scalding hot or icy cold. Food average and for an expensive resort needs upgrading. Pool area great but aggressive guests take up places early in day and leave little for people arriving from excursions. Decking at pool very dangerous as slippery - there will be accidents. Staff wonderful. Area central to great excursions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Lodge at Chaa Creek is an exceptional hotel in every way. It is beautiful, well maintained, and has many excellent activities to chose from. We took the canoe trip to San Ignacio and had a wonderful time. I loved riding horseback to the organic farm. The food is amazing, down to the homemade corn tortillas. What I liked most about Chaa Creek was the quality of the staff. Every single person we met was warm, gracious, and knowledgable. But more than that, when we asked how long they had been at Chaa Creek, they answered "ten years," "twelve years," "eighteen years." This kind of longevity signifies that the staff is happy at Chaa Creek - obviously the owners treat them well and they remain loyal. And happy staff make for happy clients!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goatlover1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This place is the best in the country, even for those on a budget. I stayed at the River Camp and enjoyed it thoroughly. Paradise for me is a nice, clean cabin in a jungle clearing. Evening campfires and reading by the light of oil lamps is perfect!

Room Tip: If you like waking up in the morning to the sounds of howler monkeys and tropical birds, stay at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BarHopper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I went to Chaa Creek for our 30th anniversary. Excellent accommodations and food, from lovely thatched cottages to fun adventures. The staff is very well versed about their environment, the guides are very helpful (thanks Selwyn) and the restaurant staff (especially Rosanna) made our staff very memorable. The intimacy of the resort and attentive staff along with the exciting environment were just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suma311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I can hardly begin to describe this amazing place. Our cottage was incredible - comfortable and tropical with a deck overlooking the Macal River. We woke up to the peaceful sounds of birds and the river. The food was good. There is an excellent pool. My husband, my 77-year old mother and I stayed here for 4 days - we went on 3 tours, all led by local guides. We walked on the trails and visited the butterfly hatchery and nature center. I can't say enough about the staff: Alexi (I'm probably spelling his name), who shared his knowledge and kindness with us when we visited Xunantunich. He helped my mother to the top of the Castillo! We also loved Robert and his uncle Lazero at the Martz Farm - ask about the pontoon boat tour and go hang out with these wonderful pirates who will guide you through their property to hike, visit waterfalls, see Morelet's crocodiles, and enjoy some stunning views. Miguel showed us amazing birds at Aguacate Lagoons and Alice, Martha, and Maria always greeted us like old friends when we sat down for a meal. Barnabe told us about some local folklore (histories) too. I know I've forgotten some names, so I do apologize! Just know that the staff here are worth the visit alone.

Room Tip: We were in Cottages 3 and 4 - both had great views - but if you can swing the treehouse, it looked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bugsymooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I celebrated my birthday in the rain forest at Chaa Creek Lodge, and it was heavenly! The cottage we stayed in was the one pictured above and was absolutely beautiful, decorated with local art. The grounds were beautiful as well, and the staff was outstanding. There were wonderful day excurstions-Mayan temples, canoeing in caves, cave tubing, and a rain forest zipline, and much more. The food was great, too! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
637 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £354 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing