We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macal River Camp was wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Macal River Camp was wonderful!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our two week adventure in Belize. My first review is going to Macal River Camp at Chaa Creek.
From the time we arrived Friday until the time we left Sunday, Dosio and his family provided excellent service! The food was delicious, and the company was outstanding. At meal times Dosio sits and visits with the guests. He really treated us like members of his family.
He arranged a canoe trip for us as well.
The rest of the staff at the main lodge were nice as well. We enjoyed swimming at the pool and hanging out at the bar while using the free WiFi.
When we make our next trip to Belize, we will stay at Macal River Camp, but only if Dosio and his wife are still running it! They are truly wonderful camp hosts.
Also, I did not see one spider while staying there. :) And even though it was very hot, it cooled off at night and it was no big deal that we did not have a fan or AC. The rain at night was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    141
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
411
506
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chaa Creek is a beautiful - natural - report a couple of hours drive from Belize City and some 15 minutes away from San Ignacio.
Chaa Creek is located about 5 miles from the main highway next to the beautiful Macal River. The resort has about 16 cabañas in the middle of a vert well kept natural forest environment. Gardens are full of heliconias and many flowers as well as birds.
The cabin is a tall hot with Straw like roof and exposed wooden roof support,it is decorated very tastefully and it focuses on "ths natural" ... no tv, no intenet, no air conditions (fans and Windows with screens) ... our cabin was close to the Macal river and you could hear it at night ... along with other jungle sounds - great -
The restaurant and bar facilities have the same atmoshere as your cabin, the food and service is great, The staff is friendly and pleasant.
The refreshing pool and área are also sorrounded by beautiful nature, instalations are very nice ... as well as pool service.
We took some nice walk around ample Chaa Creek área ... had a early, calm and silent canoe trip .side.. paddling up the Macal river. Also took a side trip to Xunatunich Mayan ruins ... only a few minutes away from the resport ... impressive ruins and surroundings.
All in all a very recommended get away

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon cabañas with a deck and a hot bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we stayed in August of 2013 with a family of six. They put us in the Spa Suite, which had air conditioning and 3 separate bedrooms and a kitchen. Great space with a hot tub on the balcony and views out over the resort to the rain forest canopy. Meals were great in the communal hall and the bar staff were particularly friendly. They booked tours for us to Mayan sites, zip lining, cave tubing and into town. They assign each group a guide and you get to keep the guide each day if you like them. They have canoes for guest use up and down the river. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Last week my husband and i took our 7 & 9 yo children on a trip through Belize, Guatemala and Mexico. One of the places we chose to spend some time was The Lodge at Chaa Creek. We stayed at the Macal River Camp and it was awesome. From the wonderful hospitality of our host Dosio and his family to the staff at The Lodge at Chaa Creek, each encounter we had the staff were courteous and went above and beyond to help us out. The food was beyond delicious, i saw my kids eat things I had never imagined they would even try and loved every bit of it!!. The casita's were well maintained and very comfortable. We fell asleep each night to the sound of cicada's, birds and howling monkeys. And arose each morning to the smell of a delicious breakfast being carefully prepared and the sound of birds and various other wildlife on the property. We did the horseback riding expedition and it was great!! The guide was very knowledgeable and taught us a lot about the flora and fauna of Belize. This is definitely a place we hope to return to someday.

Room Tip: Staying at the Macal River Camp is more economical but allows you to participate in all the amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose to stay in the Chaa Creek Casitas. This trip was to celebrate my son's 40th birthday. We stayed in the translucent yellow canvass roofed sleeping accommodations. We loved the group breakfasts and dinners. We hiked the river view path the 12 minutes between the main lodge and pool to and from our casitas one to two times a day.. One of the joys of sleeping in the screened houses was the ability to hear the rainforest birds each morning and to hear the howler monkeys echo over the river valley each evening. We enjoyed talking to the family that cooked, cleaned and answered our questions about touring and Belize. We chose to visit the Belize Zoo, a Mayan temple site and the ATM Mayan ceremonial site. The Guides must be licensed by the state and they are very well trained and helpful. We feel fortunate that we chose to stay in the casitas on Chaa Creek.

Room Tip: Choose a casita near the path to the bathhouse. Our high output head lamps were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Macal River Camp in the middle of April. The tents were comfortable; the bathrooms were clean; the howler monkeys were LOUD. If you're looking for an outdoor jungle experience, I really can't recommend this place highly enough, Dosio and his family were great hosts. The food was excellent and Dosio was so helpful spotting birds right in the camp! There is not electricity in the tents, which means it can get hot. But, you can escape to the pool at the Lodge if it gets too hot. The tents have screen walls and twin beds.

We did not book our tours through Chaa Creek, we went through Belize Nature Travel, which I also highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the camp. When my husband needed to move to a cabin room, it was handled smoothly. We enjoyed both. Saw wonderful birds and espcially enjoyed seeing parrots in flight and toucans eating above our heads in the trees. We went horseback riding on the premises.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 24summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
279 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing